Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
5,924 ratings
1,400 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

TP
Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

WO
Jul 14, 2019

The content of the course is really helpful and touches on the very important subjects in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The delivery by the Professor Stefano Caseli is also fantastic. Thank you!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,402 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Shine A

Sep 17, 2020

One of the best courses in finance. I didn't have much idea about the world of PE & VC , but Mr. Stefano Caselli can do wonders. The course structure and style is perfect to gain an interesting perspective towards AIF. Thank you Universita Bocconi and Thank you Mr. Stefano.

By David J

Apr 1, 2020

I would hear terms such as PE and VC but never really was able to comprehend what they meant. This course improved my understanding of a field that I was not completely aware of. There is huge potential in this industry and this course will definitely improve one's prospects.

By Robert D

Dec 20, 2020

An excellent grounding in Private Equity and Venture Capital. Some of the calculations for management fees for example could be more thorough in the slides. Nonetheless, this course will provide a comprehensive background for entry-level private equity candidates. Well done.

By Goran S

Nov 20, 2019

Great overview and introduction to global PE & VC activities! Shows the general mechanics and different flavors of how it is done, giving good grounds for further studies. The added script and Excel examples are great for later reference and really increase the course value!

By Tarandeep S

Jul 23, 2017

Indeed very useful course in terms of video lectures and reading material for one to understand in introductory manner the nuances of private equity and venture capital financing aspects. The course also includes excel decks to have greater extent of the course practically.

By Sergio P G

Oct 19, 2019

Very interesting and balanced course, where I could learn how Private funds are built, the different procedures private investors follow through venture capital to invest in small businesses/Startups, and much more regarding the world of private equity and venture capital.

By Dario B

Mar 29, 2019

The course covers all the fundamental aspects of PE/VC, providing not only the theoretical foundations but also an overview of the main issues concerning company valuation. I loved particularly the part comparing the Anglosaxon framework to the European ones. Recommended!

By Rahul H

May 19, 2020

Firstly, thank you very much Professor.

This course covers the journey of PE and VCs in a holistic approach. Details about their functioning, their structure, their constitution, investment strategy, timing of investment etc.

Lastly, its been a great learning experience.

By Silea P

Sep 1, 2020

I find it the course to be very insightful and very well explained, especially for someone like me with no Business and financial background. Would be even betterif more exercises of calculation would be included. But overall, I am satisfied with the course. Thank you!

By Harshad F

Nov 21, 2020

The course was really good. It gives you an overview of the European and the Anglo Saxon PE market.

The Quizzes are very well designed and tests your conceptual understanding of the topic. Weekly PPTs of the content are very helpful for revision and can be downloaded.

By Mohamed A G

Oct 15, 2020

Grazie all'Università Bocconi, For education in Private Equity & Venture Capital. Nuova esperienza di apprendimento e avanzamento nel endevour del business. Grazie a Stefano Caselli del mio istruttore, un professore di livello mondiale.

Sono Mohamed A. Gobana, choa...

By Vittorio F

Nov 2, 2016

Un corso ottimo, interessante e ricco. Una overview dell'argomento trasmessa in maniera leggera, interessante e con il giusto grado di dettaglio. Vengono forniti inoltre utilissimi strumenti per seguire il corso e utili poi nelle attività quotidiane (es- file Excel)

By Eric

Apr 20, 2020

Very well-presented course for anyone who wants a basic to intermediate glimpse into the VC and PE world with interesting comparisons between the European and Anglo-Saxon methods of investing. The course material is well presented with good supporting Excel files.

By Uri B

Nov 17, 2019

Highly recommended! Prof. Caselli is an EXCELLENT instructor, and the course serves as a great introduction to the world of PE & VC. I definitely feel it gave me the right tools and knowledge base to keep advancing on my own while exploring this fascinating world.

By Jace L

Oct 28, 2020

Good introduction to understanding the fundamental and basics of private equity. However, the content has a huge emphasis on European regulations and markets. It would be interesting to learn more about private equity and venture capital in the emerging markets.

By Maxim P

Jul 21, 2020

Very informative course supplemented with with challenging discussions, practical exercises, and interesting interviews. Definitely, within Top-5 in this particular discipline of Corporate Finance and M&A. Many thanks to Professor Stefano Caselli and his team.

By Tippawan P

Sep 1, 2020

I enjoy learning this course.

Valuation methods I have learn is very useful for my work.

It would be great if more information about investment strategy used by VC/PE in each part of the global PE market in covered by this course or other course by this Prof.

By matteo b

Aug 3, 2020

I have enjoyed both the videos and the teaching material provided. The Professor has excellent communication skills, as well as the writers were in writing the script.

The topics discussed are extremely interesting and also either theoretical and practical.

By Mauricio r

Mar 11, 2017

This is a great course full of useful resources, content materials (from core concepts to regulation and valuations), recognised industry guest speakers, not to mention Stefano's passion for teaching. I can only recommend this course. Many thanks U.Bocconi!

By Başar K

Jan 12, 2020

If you are working in startup ecosystem or you are willing to start you career in entrepreneurship sector, you should take this course to learn the fundamentals of investment and the terms which are related with all of process in investment operations.

By Hung-Ching H

May 28, 2021

Glad to join this course. It gave me an overall understanding of PE/VC operations and fundamental skills of evaluation. I would also recommend people who want launch a career in PE/VC industry spend some on following the lectures. Definitely pays off.

By Zhu L

May 12, 2018

A nice introductiory course on VC and PE.

It's good to know something about this.

The quizzes are really good, I had to try many times before getting all the right answers.

If you want to learn more about corporate finance, this is a good starting point.

By Luigi C

Apr 28, 2017

Professor Stefano Casella is very clear and schematic. It is able to transform the complexity of the subject in a simple way: ability to have great knowledge of the subject and experience in contact with the students. Totally satisfied with my choice.

By Javier L M

Aug 19, 2020

Excellent course to learn the basics of private equity investing, going also through the DCF, multiples and VC method to valuate companies. In my opinion is a good start to establish concepts for those who want to enter the sector in any perspective.

By Patrick

Aug 3, 2021

Good structure and framework. Enjoyed the speaker. Wish the contents was more US based PE. Still, very useful on the overall process besides European and Anglo Saxon format difference.

Thank you for all the hard work in putting this course together.