Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,803 ratings
1,150 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AM
Feb 7, 2021

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

AA
Feb 24, 2021

I always wanted to learn statistics from scratch, but I never had a good university teacher. Here I found a good teacher and also the opportunity to learn whenever I want ( and skipping parts I knew!)

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,125 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Gunjari B

Nov 29, 2018

The course was taught in a very illustrative manner with enough repititions over the concepts! A very deep dive from absolute basics to how's and why's. The assignments related to coding can come with some clearer explanations and the project is a little beyond the scope of the coding taught, however it will be an intensive and incredibly helpful venture if completed.

By Damon R

Oct 7, 2016

A nice blend of statistics, applied labs using R, and a final exploratory data analysis project that the course prepares you for very well. The instructor is informative, easy to understand, and brings enjoyment to the video lectures. The open textbook is well aligned and easy to read. The quizzes and labs are challenging. The mentors are responsive and helpful.

By Chuwen Z

Nov 24, 2019

Very useful, especially in R. I really like the final project since it really gave me the opportunity to explore the dataset on myself. it was a little bit challenging for me since I had to integrate all of knowledge I learned here. But I have to say it is really useful. The narrator is brilliant too. Each concept and statistic method is clear and acceptable.

By Christopher W C

Jun 29, 2020

This course did an excellent job of challenging at an appropriate level. Full disclosure, I have never done any programming in R and have been playing catch-up on that part the whole time but the materials are set up in a very helpful but not too hand-holding way. I particularly enjoyed the final assignment. It really served to drive home the material covered!

By Nicolas M

Jun 18, 2019

Excellent guidance, videos and a free ebook to guide you through the process. I managed to learn alot and do well on the final project finishing the course with 95% even though I had 0 programming experience. If you are willing to spend the time studying, and reviewing the very helpful material, there is no reason whatsoever you will not be able to do well.

By Beili L

Dec 13, 2020

This course was very well taught. The concepts are interesting and the presentation is well-organized. The examples and projects are very helpful in helping us practice what we were taught. The final project is challenging, and is indeed a stretch assignment. However, all the concepts and coding taught in the lectures should prepare us for the challenge.

By Jose M P C

Jul 12, 2020

It has been a very interesting course for me, I have expanded my knowledge of probability and descriptive and inferential statistics, I have learned to use R to perform these calculations, and finally, I learned the incredible possibilities of making professional and useful documents with RMarkdown. Thank you very much to all the teachers of the course!

By Omar M

Apr 20, 2020

If you need a statistics refresher or an introductory class to probability, this course is definitely the best one you will find, don't think it twice, just sign up. Professor Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel is hands down one of the best teachers I've seen, she does a great job at explaining complex concepts without diluting the important theoretical information.

By romen a

Apr 9, 2020

El curso es excelente, la profesora lo imparte muy bien, de forma concisa, clara y fácil de entender. Además, el aprendizaje de R es también sencillo y muy muy útil. Igual que el proyecto final.

Si tuviera que poner una pega, sería que es una pena que sea tan básico. Hubiera estado genial que durara una cuantas horas más. ¡Muy contento de haberlo hecho!

By Lou B V

Sep 3, 2020

Great course. Even if I already call myself a Statistics enthusiast, I learned that there were still grey parts in what I have already learned before and it was all clearly stipulated and discussed in this course. On top of that, I have learned R programming from zero base knowledge in programming. I just hope I can complete the whole specialization.

By Krishnendu S

Apr 15, 2019

Excellent! mind-blowing! I am immensely impressed by the way the coursed is designed. Very well balanced introductory course with an wonderful introduction of R (which is very needed for modern day statistical problem with huge data)! So extremely recommended for those who wants to kink start their understanding with statistics (in any field!!)!

By Chin J L

Feb 8, 2018

This course gives a nice introduction to fundamental concepts of Probability and Data. It also gives a glimpse on scientific studies. The topics are very well presented and the study material is excellent.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who does not have a background on the subject and wishes to have a better understanding of Statistics

By Yize H

Oct 4, 2016

This is a great course, very helpful for people who are interested in statistics and R. I learned a lot from the lecture. Apart from the compact lecture, I also learned a lot from the peer review process, the work I reviewed and feedback I got were very helpful, I was also shocked by the efforts present in the work and feedback. Great community.

By Ben G

Aug 29, 2016

Excellent introduction to Statistics and Probability. The course progresses at a nice pace - not too much too fast. The textbook is a great resource, and it's written in a very easy to digest way, making the concepts clear and approachable. The videos further reinforce the textbook and help clarify the material.

This class is highly recommended.

By PUNEET K

Jun 1, 2017

I doubt there are many professors around the globe who can match Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel's clarity of thought, her structured thinking and most importantly the the way info was packed into this course. Love the Openintro book, I still refer to it in my day to day work. Great going folks from Duke. Will see you in the Inferential Stats Module !

By RAGAVAN N

Jun 14, 2016

It took less than 3 days overall for me to finish this course, but I did this just because I wanted to refresh the basics and see if I am missing something. At the end I learnt quite an amount. Prof. Rundel's explanation is clear and concise. I would take all the courses in this specialization just because of the way she explains things.

By Stella L X T

Jun 6, 2020

The learning curve is steep - the difference between the lab exercises in the first four weeks and the project to be completed in the last week is huge. But I think it teaches a critical component of programming, which is to develop a self-reliant attitude and learn how to seek answers on the web. Great course, looking forward to more.

By Amruta G

Apr 7, 2019

The course has been handled really well! I learnt a lot. I took this course to revisit the basics and get them conceptually clarified. And I am completely satisfied with what I have achieved.

The R programming part need instructions on how to work with an R Markdown File, I feel, as I myself spent too much time trying to figure it out.

By Robert S

Dec 6, 2017

Great, diversed material presented in a lively fashion. Inspiring and well explained. The supplementary coursebook with exercises gives the opportunity to study the subject deeper. A lot of real-life examples and a convenient way to practice using R. If the Statistics is for you, this will increase your motivation to study it.

By James G

May 23, 2016

Course covers a lot of material very efficiently. Instruction is concise, and provides a free online textbook for deeper learning on topics in case you don't fully understand them from the lecture. Be aware that the final project is a serious chunk of work, maybe 1/3 to 1/2 of the total time it took me to complete this course!

By Clinton B

Apr 29, 2018

Excellent introduction to Statistics, Probability, and Data Visualization! The professor explains it extremely well and supports her instruction with helpful examples. The associated textbook is both free and high quality. The instructor of the course was a co-author of the textbook which ties the course together very nicely.

By Sankalp S

Jul 24, 2020

One of the best online courses I have come across. No wonder it is so popular among data science enthusiasts. The programming assignments and quizzes were very interesting and challenging. Practice questions were available in plenty and I feel very confident of my R Programming and Statistical Analysis skills now. Thank you!

By Serapion P

Dec 5, 2016

All the concepts are very clearly presented and the instructor is really a great teacher!

What I liked the most is that special attention is given to the fine distinction between statistical concepts that students easily confuse, myself included.

The mentors are also very helpful and very prompt to respond to any questions.

By Shao Y ( H

Feb 7, 2017

I love how concise the lectures are, and also the quizzes provide explanations to questions I've done wrong. That's very helpful indeed. This is my first Coursera course with peer-review assignments - I'm impressed that classmates give useful and encouraging feedbacks. I also learnt a lot from reading other people's work.

By Chanuwas A

Nov 21, 2018

The course is rather easy to understand and covers most fundamental knowledge of probability that we need to know for data analysis purposes. However, the coding exercises are not enough to provide us an extensive technical skills for performing exploratory data analysis. But overall, it's a fun and awesome course! :)