Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,558 ratings
802 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 779 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data

By Felipe O G C B

Feb 19, 2018

Las explicaciones son claras, pero los talleres finales no me convencen. Algunos videos son muy largos también.

By Preeti S

Jul 24, 2017

Theoretical part was very well explained. But there should have been a little more details of R programming.

By Mark C

Mar 10, 2017

We used DPLYR package without any requisite introduction, but it was nonetheless very informative, thanks!

By Gijs v d V

Jul 28, 2016

Lectures and material we're really good. Haven't done the practical part, so can't say anything about it.

By Aaron M

Aug 30, 2019

Solid foundations learnt, however needed to seek help elsewhere to get a better understanding of using R

By Subodh C A

Sep 18, 2017

The statistics and probablity part is very good, but something more needed to be done about basics of R.

By Amine F

Mar 13, 2020

Very good introduction to data

a pre requisite of R programming would have made this course easier

By Mohammad S S

Mar 12, 2018

interesting course, would be better if it offers more practice when it comes to programming with R

By Andres U

Feb 24, 2017

I enjoyed watching the course videos. Really nice practice material to get you going!!! Koodos!

By Antônio A T F

Aug 05, 2017

Excellent course, but I think that the introduction to R is not sufficient to the final work.

By SHUANGSHUANG L

Dec 15, 2019

Overall i found the R programming really useful and i would love to learn more about it.

By Tseliso I M

Jul 25, 2017

Very involving. The balance between learning probability concepts and R is great.

By Javier

Jul 12, 2016

should be open to anyone. But is ok, you can still ger knowledge without paying

By Shalabh S

Jun 01, 2017

Very nice coarse for someone looking for a working knowledge of the subject.

By James F

Jul 06, 2018

Solid start. The final project was more R-intensive than the course taught.

By Koen L

May 04, 2017

Thorough course with a decent starters' course for people who are new to R.

By Putcha L N R

Jun 10, 2018

Great course!! A good way to brush up Statistics and Probability! Kudos!

By Daniel C

Sep 11, 2017

Great course for learning the foundations of probability and statistics

By YongHyun K

Dec 18, 2018

It was a good course that helped to build basic statistical knowledge

By Nuno d S

Jan 13, 2017

A smooth introduction to statistics. Interesting and well organized.

By Daniel J

Apr 09, 2018

Instructions could be clearer, but the course overall is very good!

By David O

Dec 09, 2017

I learned a lot from this course. I look forward to the others!

By Ryan M

Jun 09, 2016

I am hoping for some more R specific programming and reference.

By HM F R

Sep 04, 2019

4 star for now. Will give a complete review after completion

By Peter K

Aug 29, 2017

Best course in programming I have taken so far on Coursera.