Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
5,646 ratings

About the Course

Problem-solving and effective decision-making are essential skills in today’s fast-paced and ever-changing workplace. Both require a systematic yet creative approach to address today’s business concerns. This course will teach an overarching process of how to identify problems to generate potential solutions and how to apply decision-making styles in order to implement and assess those solutions. Through this process, you will gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, selecting the appropriate decision-making approaches for the situation at hand, making team decisions, and measuring the success of the solution’s implementation. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, you will explore proven, successful problem-solving and decision-making models and methods that can be readily transferred to workplace projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify key terms, styles, and approaches to effective problem-solving and decision-making 2. Explain both the affordances and limitations associated with problem-solving and decision-making 3. Reflect on how mindset and personal bias influence your ability to solve problems and make decisions 4. Explain and discuss how organizational decisions or non-decisions impact personal development, team dynamics, and company-wide performance 5. Articulate how both good and bad team decisions can benefit your professional growth...

Top reviews

KG

Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S

Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 920 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Helen W

Jun 13, 2016

Mostly common sense, but it is a good reinforcement. I like listening to the stories/examples but they could have been shorter and the course would have felt like a more efficient use of time.

By John M

Jun 7, 2019

Decent course with a personable instructor. Thank you for the opportunity to acquire knowledge through a course that flows well with a relatively simple interface/interaction.

By Jennifer F

Jun 20, 2019

Rob has some strange ideas and opinions. I'm not sure he likes his family (brother in law or parents), or slow runners. He tells stories but they are hard to follow.

By Britta N

Aug 20, 2015

Nice course, but a little "light" at times.

What's great though is that there are no deadlines, which really enabled learning at my own pace whenever I had free time :)

By PANAGIOTIS S

Mar 11, 2016

Many points are just a presentation of bulletins with a very brief description. Could use a little more depth or at least some pointers for further study.

By Mahesh G

May 23, 2020

This course must include some project case studies of corporate to understand usability of each concept included in this course.

Rest everything is good.

By Farid F

Jul 9, 2021

I know it's a bit of a dry subject, but it could have been a bit more dynamic. Still I learned new aspects of the subject. I especially liked Module 3.

By Hasan M K

Nov 12, 2017

Course was basic. Structure was not robust. Video editing was poor, in some areas the sound was out of sync and the video zoom was out of proportion.

By Jorge V D

Jan 22, 2020

I think that is a usefuk course, however it could be better for the students including homeworks of problem sollving using the different methods.

By Arvil d V

Aug 18, 2015

It could be better if there were more working/practice examples, but it lays down a good overview of the techniques and decision making process.

By Lisa R

Feb 18, 2020

Material covered seemed far too simplistic to warrant a full course - could easily have been included in another course as a single module.

By Yasemin I

Aug 18, 2022

The course was easy to understand and thought clear. I wish there were more stories and real life experiences in the lectures.

By Paolo C

Jan 26, 2021

I like the choice of the topics and the organization of the course. The course content should be more rich and articulated.

By Jason M

Oct 9, 2015

This lecture just gave some fundamental ideals rather than details. Luckly I have not enrolled the certification.

By Pelit M

Jun 4, 2022

An okay course, has some useful ideas. However, it doesn't reach very high in terms of creativity or complexity.

By gai a

Sep 11, 2015

Helpful and clear.

I would like it more if it had more elaboration and practice on the presented tools.

Thanks!

By Maria B

Nov 5, 2019

The whole course is an introduction to the topic. Some easy things are explained too much.

By Lauren R G

Mar 27, 2020

While he delivered good content, the manner in which it was presented could be improved.

By N T P

Jun 7, 2020

It's general theory, but not so many applied exercises to solve problem individually.

By Carine R L

Jul 19, 2020

Nice way of learning a lot of concepts quickly. Missing exercises and more examples

By Reyes A J B

Aug 15, 2020

I would like to go deeper into the problem solving tools described in the lectures.

By Loise B

Feb 6, 2023

Since a scenario was offered, I think the course could have been more intertwined.

By lifecoachkulveer

Jul 9, 2020

Not very well structured and moreover instructor's speaking style was very boring.

By Jolanta K

Aug 19, 2015

It's a good course but not great. Something is missing and I can't pinpoint what.

By Darryl P B

Nov 8, 2021

Suggest to adjust waiting time for retake exam/quiz from 8hrs to 4hrs. Thank you