Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
3,189 ratings
565 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

NJ

Jun 25, 2020

The Training course was very attractive and valuable for implementation of the knowledge gain for solving of different problem faced in official works as well as personal responsibilities.

NB

Apr 09, 2020

An amazing course to look at the problem and making decisions. A must for all managers and above. Gave a deep insight into how to look at issues and approaches to resolve them. Thanks

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 566 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Rishabh k

Jul 05, 2020

good

By Priya C

Jul 04, 2020

GOOD

By UMASHANKAR K

Jun 14, 2020

Nice

By Sharika N

Jun 12, 2020

nice

By V D

May 29, 2020

good

By G. S

May 24, 2020

Good

By Muhammad H B H

Sep 27, 2019

GOOD

By Ankur R

Jul 01, 2019

good

By Muhammed A

Apr 01, 2019

good

By Prashant T

Jan 19, 2017

Done

By Amit Y

Jul 30, 2019

NA

By Zayed A A K ( D - P

Jul 12, 2020

U

By Srirama K

Jun 26, 2020

W

By Daniel B A

Jan 31, 2020

I

By Nevalina R

Oct 07, 2019

g

By Manal J S A A

May 14, 2019

T

By prashantha S

Jun 27, 2017

e

By Karen D

Nov 23, 2015

c

By Ante K

Jun 11, 2016

The course is very interesting and challenging. Prof. Stone is detail-oriented and open-minded. The only thing that can be even better is the course content. For example: we learned about decision making styles. We mentioned majority, minority, expect, authority with input, etc. But prof. Stone didn't mention which of these is the most effective one. I think the course content can go into more details and more explanations. Overall, I really enjoyed studying with prof. Stone.

By Sadaf T

Sep 26, 2015

The course s outstanding; well designed and well presented but it should be with statement of accomplishments. Because in third world countries, the concept of online open courses will take time to gain acceptance. So in order to prove the "Worth" of these course, they demand documentary proof. 49$ is big amount ( 1$ =104 PKR) in 3rd world countries, so its not possible to pay for one course.

By Mark J D

Oct 28, 2019

Generally, a good overview of problem-solving and decision-making concepts. A little bland on the visuals, and the information could be refined and polished more. The content is easy enough to see past those minor problems and get to practical information and readily apply the resulting knowledge.

By A K M M I

Apr 12, 2020

This course is really nice. However, I was expecting more from the course. This is why I want to give it 4 out of 5 star. Adding some real-life assignments to this course will be great. Thanks Coursera for giving me the opportunity to complete this course, I am really greatful to you. Thanks again.

By AMITAVA D

Oct 08, 2015

This is an excellent course. It covers how data helps in taking decisions. It also talks about group decision making and gives the pros and cons of each of the methods and finally it explains how to manage change in an organization. All in all a great course.

By Abhimanyu k

Jul 05, 2020

This course was really crucial for who wanted to be effective leader because it has too many real life examples and situations and problems and tools to address them effectively .on completing this one coluld take decision and solve any problem easily.

By Fernando V

Sep 16, 2015

From the title It could look like it's something very basic and that's common knowledge, but it gives a good foundation to what we normally do in a regular basis and it also shows different ways of thinking and approaching problems and solutions.