Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
4,275 ratings
723 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG
Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

NJ
Jun 24, 2020

The Training course was very attractive and valuable for implementation of the knowledge gain for solving of different problem faced in official works as well as personal responsibilities.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 717 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Remon M

Jun 29, 2017

the professor is boring and too much academic materials

By Aleksandra W

Oct 20, 2015

It was good insight into problem-solving in companies.

By Suprateek M

Sep 24, 2015

The instructor is sub par,. Questions are a bit vague

By Nadège S

Jun 3, 2016

Simple and clear explanations to solve problems.

By Ahmed S

Aug 2, 2019

I'd have preferred having more life and practi

By Mina S F D

May 30, 2016

Too abstract with too much general information

By David T B R

Mar 7, 2019

Very lengthy explanations of simple tools.

By ANURAG S Y

May 4, 2020

Program is quick and very brief, it's ok.

By Garima M

Oct 12, 2015

Good course with well explained topics.

By Tassyo D P

Feb 23, 2017

O curso é meio sem foco e muito básico

By Abdelmohimen H

Nov 2, 2018

the material of course is so amazin

By Marc A B

Sep 17, 2016

This is good for new born managers

By Davide M

Feb 23, 2016

Interesting overview on the topic.

By Supreet T

May 1, 2020

nice ppt to understanding easy

By Srinivas K

Jun 9, 2017

Good content - dry presenter

By Ms. F K

Jul 30, 2020

It was of very basic level

By Khaled J A

Dec 27, 2017

good course for beginners

By Ahsan R

Aug 23, 2020

A good course overall.

By Doris W

Feb 28, 2017

Very b

By Rayhanul H R

Jul 2, 2020

Great

By Francis X

Jul 19, 2017

G

By Dominik B

Jul 27, 2018

This course is only an overview into the topic. I was looking forward to boosting my decision-making skills but learning about some basic techniques and types of graphs is not enough for me. This course is scratching only the surface of the topic.

What I appreciate are the real-life situation examples and their solutions. These were the most positive aspects of the course.

Professor isn't as boring as the most reviewers state, but occasionally I had an impression that he hadn't had the speech prepared and made examples or statements by his own. Or he was just reading the slides sometimes, which seems like a waste of time to me.

The assignments were too easy, only theoretical stuff. It would be really great if any real life situations were stated in the assignment and the task of the student would be to select the best action to take.

As someone already mentioned, this course probably didn't affect my skills much, but it will look fine in any resumé.

By Alan

Aug 24, 2015

Doesn't go much further then common sense. Introduces terms for concepts you probably know, just didn't know it's a concept. The lecturer is terrible. His stories, or i guess metaphors that are supposed to help you understand and remember things are aweful. He takes way too long to get the point across.

Some helpful things are mentioned. Gives you the ability to distiguish problem solving methods, so you may use them as required.

Nonetheless, mostly wasted my time watching this.

By Paulo J M d S

Aug 28, 2015

In my point of view the course overall is a bit superficial (even though the decision-making part was very interesting indeed). More importantly, the course lacks one of the richest tools in MOOCS: peer interactions - people voicing their opinions and sharing experiences.

Besides that: some of the questions in the quiz looked very ambiguous and there are some editing mistakes in the videos.

By Stephen R

Oct 14, 2015

The course really isn't that useful for day to day management decision making. It might be more useful for those who look solely at long term data and make choices "at a distance" so to speak. Very heavy focus on charts and graphs....so there's a lot to it but very little you can sink your teeth into unless you have a very specific type of management in mind.