Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
4,919 ratings
808 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG
Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S
Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 817 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Bhushan N D

Jul 26, 2020

Good course

By HARINDRA K S

Jun 27, 2019

GOOD COURSE

By Amit K B

Nov 2, 2015

Good course

By Amol G T

Oct 1, 2020

Nice Exp.

By Mohammed M S

Feb 14, 2020

Very good

By Jasim A H A S

Sep 21, 2021

Thanks

By Fatima S A S

Sep 21, 2021

Thanks

By Saif M H M A S

Aug 16, 2021

thanks

By Venkatesh S R

Nov 12, 2020

Nice!!

By Porush S

Oct 3, 2020

Good

By Usha G

Oct 1, 2020

Good

By Hien B L

Jun 7, 2020

Good

By RISHI B S

May 13, 2020

good

By Rachit N

Jan 16, 2020

cool

By Prathamesh S

Dec 15, 2019

best

By Manjunath C K

Jul 22, 2019

Nice

By Christian v B

Dec 4, 2016

Mint

By 1808230

Feb 11, 2020

شكر

By Pradeep K K

Nov 9, 2020

G

By Joris D

Dec 22, 2019

J

By bala

Jul 3, 2017

g

By Ramachandran S

Feb 6, 2019

First 3 weeks content were really light and can be completed in a day. Last 2 weeks some of the assessment questions were out of the video and left for the candidate's assumption. It would have been great, if some other books or Videos from Youtube are referred to provide more insights on the concept. Each of the charts and usages could have been explained much better. Also we can see some editing issues in week 2 video. Also the continuity for the data collection, analysis through charts and change management could have been little more comprehensive. Overall the course content is valuable and if the above points are considered, it would become amazing for the learners

By Heidi K

Jul 2, 2021

It is a good course but not a fantastic course. It covers the decision making types, group decision making types and pros/cons of each, and also problem solving. Some examples are helpful, some are weak. It would be great to be given an assignment with a group of online people where we had to make some decisions and then described how w made those decisions. Also one of the lessons was on Change management, which while that was a good lesson, that wasn't what I signed up for. Change Management is a course on its own. I would have liked more lessons on decision making or problem solving.

By Aarya D

Mar 27, 2021

The material was great, the lectures were to the point and well explained although not fun but i don't mind that so long as i learn. the test on the other hand was heavily rote and memory based rather than application based so despite having understood how to apply it i had difficulty passing the quizzes.

Overall it was satisfactory and the lecturer was absolutely amazing at giving examples. It was also short and sweet and i enjoyed learning this new set of skills.

By Quinn R

Dec 6, 2020

There is no discussion forum and an 8 hour wait between quiz attempts. The first modules contained a helpful mix of audio, visual (text and image) content in lectures and slides. The last modules did not, forcing students to decipher what needed to be learned and applied. Quizzes applied directly to lectures, so nothing tricky there. Overall, this course could have been much better but for the most part it's content was clear and applicable.