Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
4,629 ratings
770 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG
Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S
Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 771 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Farid F

Jul 9, 2021

I know it's a bit of a dry subject, but it could have been a bit more dynamic. Still I learned new aspects of the subject. I especially liked Module 3.

By Hasan M K

Nov 12, 2017

Course was basic. Structure was not robust. Video editing was poor, in some areas the sound was out of sync and the video zoom was out of proportion.

By Jorge V D

Jan 22, 2020

I think that is a usefuk course, however it could be better for the students including homeworks of problem sollving using the different methods.

By Arvil d V

Aug 18, 2015

It could be better if there were more working/practice examples, but it lays down a good overview of the techniques and decision making process.

By Lisa R

Feb 18, 2020

Material covered seemed far too simplistic to warrant a full course - could easily have been included in another course as a single module.

By Paolo C

Jan 26, 2021

I like the choice of the topics and the organization of the course. The course content should be more rich and articulated.

By Jason M

Oct 9, 2015

This lecture just gave some fundamental ideals rather than details. Luckly I have not enrolled the certification.

By gai a

Sep 11, 2015

Helpful and clear.

I would like it more if it had more elaboration and practice on the presented tools.

Thanks!

By Maria B

Nov 5, 2019

The whole course is an introduction to the topic. Some easy things are explained too much.

By Lauren R G

Mar 27, 2020

While he delivered good content, the manner in which it was presented could be improved.

By N T P

Jun 7, 2020

It's general theory, but not so many applied exercises to solve problem individually.

By Carine R L

Jul 19, 2020

Nice way of learning a lot of concepts quickly. Missing exercises and more examples

By Reyes A J B

Aug 15, 2020

I would like to go deeper into the problem solving tools described in the lectures.

By Kulveer S

Jul 9, 2020

Not very well structured and moreover instructor's speaking style was very boring.

By Jolanta K

Aug 19, 2015

It's a good course but not great. Something is missing and I can't pinpoint what.

By Tasneem

Sep 17, 2020

This course will provide a framework of the 21st century in practical ways.

By Laila A

Mar 14, 2016

The content is quite interesting ,but the professor was lacking luster .

By Lê H L

Sep 20, 2015

Quite useful and interesting. But not fully live up to my expectations !

By Aya S

Jan 24, 2016

It should show more how to implement the skills learned in real life.

By Agnelo D S

Jul 30, 2020

Could be made more interesting with real life cases in manufacturing

By Niall G

Dec 16, 2015

Presenter seemed a little unsure of what he was presenting by times

By Suja H

Feb 4, 2020

Interesting examples, simplified version of the content explained.

By Ahmed F S A ( D - H A

Jun 24, 2020

Some question in Week 4, has many possible answer and confusing

By Anukul C

Jun 9, 2020

It's good but a little bit boring because of tone and voice

By Francesca

Oct 14, 2016

Interesting but didn't explain in depth many of the topics.