Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
16,100 ratings
3,946 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

KG
Apr 15, 2020

A wonderful course with clear explanations and case scenarios to help reinforce learning. I was truly engaged throughout the course and felt like I learned a lot more than I anticipated when going in.

ED
May 22, 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 3,956 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By DR O H Z

May 29, 2020

why expensive certificate since i am working in primary mental health care in p h c c and i am working

in confrontation of covid 19 and iam trying to establish psychological first aid (P F A force)in my p h cc and it is very important to help for certificate to be free in this time

sincerely

DR OMAR HAMOUDY ZARZAR

By Kay S

Jul 28, 2019

Highly recomanded even if you are known to trauma care. Psychological First Aid were unknown to me, but I work and study part time within mental health (psychiatry and psychosomatics) as a physical therapist. There is always talks about active and reflective, but never showen/told or goten to experience it - until now!

By John N

Sep 13, 2017

This is a highly accessible and immensely valuable course for anyone who may be intervening in a crisis or natural disaster. It is geared toward first responders and public health workers, and it has the simple, noble aim of enlarging the body of people able to help in their community after a disaster. Excellent stuff.

By Maša P

Dec 1, 2020

I must add a comment, from this perspective and point of time. I have finished this course just in time. I had a hunch I will need it. I just couldn't predict how much. I have used things I l have earned here every single day since the pandemic started,

This should be thought in elementary schools.

Thank you so much!

By prerna

Jul 19, 2020

The course evaluates your understanding on levels of care for others and self too. Also, implies how different first aid is to the therapy with the help of their model. Over-all, the course is totally worthy. thanks for making this valuable course, Johns Hopkins university and main gratitude to Dr. George Everly Jr. .

By Melanie H

Jan 7, 2021

This course shows you admirable skills that anyone can use in unexpected situations. I feel that I am prepared to volunteer for triage in any situation, now that I have taken this course. Also, you can use these skills for day to day communications and learn how not to "fix" individuals, but be their support and ear.

By NIKITA B

Aug 18, 2020

I really liked this course a lot and will recommend it to all the people, no matter what their major is. Through this course I am able to learn techniques and interventions that could be very much useful in daily lives as well. Thank you Professor George and Johns Hopkins University for bringing this knowledge to us.

By Raechelle D l

Aug 2, 2020

This course will equip you with knowledge very much essential for helping others in times of crisis or distress. With the pandemic we're facing right now, being "present" for distressed people goes a long way, and it will be much better if one has the appropriate knowledge on how to deal with such kinds of situation.

By Sofía G

May 21, 2020

Es un buen curso que revisa los conceptos básicos para la intervención en crisis y primeros auxilios psicológicos. Como estudiante de psicología a ratos sentí que el curso era un poco básico, pero esto es debido a que está dirigido a trabajadores de salud y personas que no necesariamente se dedican a la salud mental.

By Tyler C

Mar 13, 2019

Amazing presentation. This course is full of great information for first responders willing to learn how to talk to their patients. As a paramedic and EMT instructor, I am going to start recommending Psychological First Aid to my students as supplementary training to their psychological emergencies didactic learning.

By Saskia B

May 28, 2020

Absolutely loved the entire course! I had no clue what PFA was really about and finished the course feeling accomplished and confident that I also have the ability to help someone in need and how to approach the situation at hand and how to not get affected personally. Great course for beginners! Thank you Dr Everly

By Eva A

Oct 7, 2017

Useful, informative, interesting, plenty of videos. I loved that every time an "incorrect" as well as correct version if interaction was showed. I am sure that offering PFA is good to know not just for cases of big disasters, but also for hard everyday situations (bad illness, sudden death of a close person), etc.

By Priscille G

Apr 12, 2021

Very pleased with the content and methodology of this course. The vignettes and simulation videos help in getting a more practical insight of what PFA is about and/or what it should look like or not. I believe any layperson e=and even professional and benefit from following this course. Very humbling in many ways!

By Roberto A

Jun 28, 2020

The content of this course was exceptional in its ability to convey in a detailed yet effective manner as to the importance of Psychological First Aid and its uses in the field. I would definitely advise others to look into this type of resource within my own university studies, colleagues and acquaintances alike.

By Lee Z J D

Jun 19, 2020

Excellent course with great explanations and examples on psychological first aid techniques. I am glad that I've learnt something new in this course that will be useful in a future career in healthcare or life in general. Thanks so much! Will keep in mind the RAPID framework and hope to put it to good use someday.

By Julia P R

Mar 10, 2021

I enjoyed the course very much - I think I learned a lot of valuable things that will certainly help me as a human being and as a Psychology student. The classes are really good and interesting. Thanks to all that made this course possible - I promise I will make good use of all the information that I've learned!

By Aigerim K

Aug 13, 2020

This course helped me to understand how to prevent crisis on situations where I tried to help others. Sometimes I tried to argue and persuade that only my point is right instead of listening and supporting. I'll practive all techniques in my everyday life and actually I already started. Thank you for this course!

By Chelsea J M G

Aug 10, 2020

I feel more confident about giving psychological first aid to anyone that might need it especially during this pandemic. It also greatly helped me become more aware of myself in the process. This is a very timely and relevant course to take in this pandemic, so I hope more people will get to learn more from this!

By Carl L G C

Jul 4, 2020

A very practical course that gives a humanistic overview of what to do in crisis situations. It can also be applied to general situations, when people close to you experience loss or some kind of traumatic experience. It is helpful to have this framework in mind, as a tool for better, empathic social interaction.

By Jayme, C S

Dec 16, 2020

I enjoyed watching the situational videos because I have learned a lot from it especially on how to apply RAPID model in any kind of the situations that were given. it also have helped us on where to focus when it comes to psychological first aid. thank you so much for this wonderful teachings and opportunities.

By K. N

Dec 6, 2020

Though the course is mainly targeted at disaster relief workers, the useful techniques (such as reflective listening) taught here may come in handy at any emotionally challenging situation. This course is a must take for anybody who wishes to augment their emotional intelligence. My sincere thanks to Dr. Everly.

By Heidi W

Dec 20, 2017

This was a great introduction to psychological first aid. I think I have a very good understanding of what it is and a basic knowledge of what needs to be done. I don't feel confident that I can adequately do what the course has taught, but I also dont have a natural skill in this area. I'll need more practice.

By Judith

Dec 27, 2020

I recommend this course for anyone interested in supporting others through crises or traumatic events. Although I took this course for personal growth I do feel prepared to help people with this Psychological First Aid model. The instructor is knowledgeable, experienced, compassionate, and communicates clearly.

By Cassandre

Oct 13, 2020

Le cours est accessible aux personnes qui n'ont aucune formation en psychologie/psychiatrie/psychothérapie ou en santé publique Le cours apporte des informations précises, concises et claires. La durée du cours et des différents modules est idéale. Si vous maitrisez l'anglais, il sera facile de suivre ce cours.

By Sajjad H S

Jun 1, 2020

This is the first course I have completed on COURSERA. I am generally interested in the subject and registered out of curiosity, However, i watched the first video and George is so engaging and explained things in such calm manner that I couldn't wait to complete. I would love to do another course with George.