Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
14,379 ratings
3,609 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG
Feb 9, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

IT
Oct 12, 2020

this opened my mind towards intervention needs in a catastrophic event. something like this is required more than ever now. the content of the course was very good and thorough. very nicely explained.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 3,583 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Kristine M D

Nov 4, 2020

a very good and comprehensive introductory course, even for people who are not in the field of psychology, psychiatry, and other related fields. i learned a lot from the lessons, thank you very much.

By Nancy P

Aug 26, 2020

This was another wonderful learning experience, and I am very grateful.

PROBLEM is, I paid for the certificate and cannot find it anywhere, I am a bit discouraged. I hope somebody can help. Thank you.

By Shella M V

Aug 17, 2020

I am a teacher in Psychology and have undergone training in PFA but this model will be very useful because it is relatively easy to follow. I can make use of this as part of my practice. Thank you.

By Sarah A

Aug 15, 2020

Found the course really informational and useful on both personal and professional levels. The techniques and skills were easily implementable and highly transferable to various real-life situations.

By Simone C

May 31, 2020

Excellent introduction to Psychological First Aid. Highly recommend it to everyone as the information within is relevant to everyone as we all may someday be in a position of assisting after a crisis

By Elena S

May 20, 2020

Even if English is not my first language, the course was so clear and well-organised that I was able to follow the lectures and to learn a lot. It was a very productive experience. Thank you so much!

By Mohamed J

May 3, 2020

I preferred the RAPID approach. It is like a guide and step by step approach to supporting people in crises. I especially appreciated the simulation videos. It helped with reframing and paraphrasing.

By Pierre-Olivier B

Mar 6, 2020

It's made for front line first contact with distressed and dysfunctional persons after a crisis, not for in-depth psychological evaluation. Nonetheless very useful depending on what field you are in.

By KATHERINE G M G

Oct 27, 2020

Course was easy to digest but very engaging! Dr. George Everly is a remarkable instructor with many years of experience. As a first responder, I look forward to applyinh my learnings in the field :)

By Luisa M

Sep 14, 2020

Me gusto mucho este curso. Creo que todo el mundo debería tomarlo, más en estos días donde todo es caos. Puede ayudar a calmar un poco a quienes te rodean o a ti mismo, en lo momentos más díficiles.

By SHAHNAZ Y P

Jul 15, 2020

I thank you for organizing this super course! I loved the way you demonstrated compassion and being supportive. you have made a difference to me. Thank you. May the Almighty bless you with goodness.

By Richard N B M R

Jun 13, 2020

I had a wonderful learning experience. Kudos to Dr. George! Lectures are brief but very substantial, simulation videos are very helpful to how to do it and how not to do the psychological first aid.

By ELENA D C

May 18, 2020

Very well done PFA course. I feel personally really enriched and also feel to have gained important operative skills in order to operate in this field. Thank you to Dr. Everly and his collaborators!

By MUHAMMAD A B

May 8, 2020

This was a great and engaging course to bring someone up to speed with how to handle PFA in the wake of a disaster. I look forward to utilizing these new skills in the field to help other around me.

By Praveena

Dec 10, 2019

It was very helpful in terms of gaining knowledge. The experience was interactive, the simulation videos made the course even more interesting and compelling. It was a wonderful learning experience.

By Ramola T

Jul 22, 2020

A course par Excellence!!! Would recommend it to many and would want to come back and take the course again not for the certificate but because there is so much to learn from it. Thank you so much.

By PRISCAH W

May 7, 2020

i loved the videos they helped a lot in understanding the whole course.Discussion forums are good,you get to hear views from different people..i just love the whole course and how it was outlined..

By rafael e

Feb 12, 2017

very interesting course !!

you learn alot of new things the course and the as someone that dosen't speak English as my mother languish it was very easy to understand and it was explained very good !

By Vũ N T P

Dec 17, 2020

I'm studying to become a counsellor, this course helped me a lot about active listening and how I can reframe, how I can paraphrase with the client. This course is so helpful. Thank you Dr George.

By Geordine C A

Sep 11, 2020

It was definitely easy to follow through. It was delivered well and all parts of the course were significant. These may also be applied to how one deals with their own family's mental health care.

By Jeffrey B

Aug 30, 2020

Great informative course. It provides enough information or the basic concept- every and anyone can help or assist others. In a time of need or crisis. Just listen to your neighbor it can help.

By Lee-Boey J W S

May 30, 2020

Course structured in a way that was easy to understand with explanations. The professor is experienced and well versed in his material. Simple to follow techniques for the self help section too.

By Melisa Ü

Oct 25, 2020

It really helped me to understand the people who had been in the crisis and who has post-trauma stress. I learned so many important skills to communicate with people who needs psychological help.

By Robert J O

Sep 28, 2020

The resource materials provided in the lessons are incredibly useful. I will highly suggest this to my colleagues as the lessons provided are practical and can be used throughout your whole life.