Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,787 ratings
5,739 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3726 - 3750 of 5,690 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Manuel M

Nov 17, 2019

É um curso mais voltado para pessoas autodidatas pois os vídeos são pouco explicativos, curtos e com um conteúdo geral. A fortaleza do curso está nos exercícios que são desafiadores que obrigam ao aluno a ir a entender e aprender por sua conta para aprofundar nos tópicos tocados.

By Ethan K

Sep 1, 2019

The video is simple, but the assignment is hard, I spend a lot time in discuss to understand what it want and external document reading, how to use pandas or python and hypothesis. in the time pressure.

BTW, I think the value of assignment is 90%, and video is 10% in this class.

By 金纯

Mar 4, 2017

the knowledge touch here is really good. however, the speed is a little bit quick. I paused and go back and forth usually.

the last introduction of assignment 4 is not clear. I took quite a long time to figure what to use to calculate the price ratio and what to use to run ttest.

By Gaurav R S

May 25, 2020

This course has given me the confidence to work on data science. The instructor of the course has helped me to earn this course certificate smoothly, the clarity of teaching is way much better than any other instructor that I have gone through and it will help anyone definitely.

By Santiago C

May 14, 2021

The Course is pretty good, but it's not for someone who never studied programming, or never seen a database, or statistics knowledge. But as an Engineer, with some programming skills, and some probability and statistics background I found this course a very good starting point.

By Gabriel M U

Aug 9, 2020

For a introduction course it was very nice! I could learn and practice the basics of pandas and now I know how to find solution for dataframe handling. The only reason for don't give 5 starts is because in the last week I missed a better explanation about the inferential test.

By Andrew V P

Sep 27, 2019

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it in a short amount of time. I wish the lectures where a bit longer and went at a slower pace when working through examples. The problem sets were well thought out but the auto grader was occasionally very frustrating and unclear.

By Tianran D

Feb 12, 2017

The course is great and learned a lot from the assignment! I just feel some of the content is a little beyond me since it took a lot of time to finish.

After finishing the assignment, I feel myself haven't done enough! So if possible, I hope more exercise can be posted here :)

By Vincent v O

May 25, 2018

Pretty good content, instructor is clear. Assignments are a little disappointing. The grading system is dated and thus if you're using the latest versions of pandas/numpy expect to get many exceptions (without the specific error message) when submitting assignment solutions.

By Alisha G

Jan 12, 2017

The course is challenging, and designed to encourage learners to be independent and make full use of the discussion forum. As long as learners do not lose sight of the fact that help is available, they will enjoy this course. But if they lose faith, this would be a disaster.

By Carola P

May 29, 2020

It' s a really interesting class, well organized and with very many useful tips.

Only down side is that the autograder evaluating the excercises is sometimes not perfect and this may be time consuming. Anyway, everything is solved with a very active community and its forums.

By Feng L

Jan 27, 2020

The course is well structured with slightly challenging assignments. It also included some literature and other forms of media that provoking discussion about the philosophy and the future of data science. However, the auto-grader is such a pain... and thus, one minus star.

By Daniel O

Apr 8, 2020

The assignments questions need some polish. And some examples with a small datasets wouldn't hurt before jumping to large amount of data in order to understand some pandas functions. The provided examples are great tho. Overall it's fantastic introduction to Data Science.

By Niccolo L

Jun 17, 2020

A strong introduction to python and pandas. Be aware that the version of pandas used by the grader is slightly outdated, so periodically check your work using the online notebook to make sure that the functions and methods you're calling are compatible with that version.

By Carina G J

Mar 7, 2018

Very good course.

Some of the question seemed a bit diffuse and made answers hard to find, which made the estimated time rather far off, hence only four stars. Other than that I enjoyed the lectures and especially the articels that made me think deeper about some topics.

By Eric N C

Nov 27, 2016

Contents are very good and assignments are challenging. Perhaps I struggled most trying to understand what the questions actually ask, they should be rephrased or be more clear. But it was a nice course and I would to it again. I am waiting for the next courses to begin.

By Santhosh K

Sep 27, 2018

I would highly recommend this course for beginners who wants to get into core Data Science field. The course familiarizes participants on how to handle data including wrangling, cleaning and manipulation using pandas and numpy modules. The contents are well organized.

By Kamil K

Sep 9, 2017

It deserves five stars for assignments (they are pretty difficult - I think it's actually good), but lecture videos are very shallow and you have to learn material on your own, so I would give it at most three stars. Averaging over these two aspects gives four stars :)

By Sergio A M D

May 16, 2021

I like the structure of the course and its content. I would like the assignments to show the values that we must achieve (or at least the beginning of the value), so that we can have idea and find our mistakes faster, I took double or triple time to do the assignments

By Omkar G

Jul 1, 2020

The material in the videos can be more elaborate, as a lot is left to self studying for the students in order to complete the assignments. The assignments are challenging, which is good, but the video tutorials don't give you sufficient skills too tackle them head on.

By Dominik M

Feb 23, 2019

Quite good course, but the principle of noninformative autograder is devateting.. A tipo in one part caused I've been working on the last assignment for hours... It'd be better to include some more information/checkpoints or to split the tasks to several smaller ones.

By Michal P

Jul 31, 2018

The course is great but the assignments are a real pain in the $#&@.. You can get the right answer but still spend another hour getting it in the very specific format that the evaluation algorithm wants it in even if it's not mentioned anywhere. Otherwise recommended!

By Shan J

Jan 25, 2019

Good course design for mediate level programmer who is interested in Data Science with Python. Reading materials is lacking references. All of them off site study you have to do are relied on yourselves. Without off site study, you wouldn't complete the course.

By Hadrien H

Nov 17, 2016

Excellent course, I learned a lot especially through the assignments. Missing a fifth star because of a lot of issues with the notebooks autograding, and sometimes imprecise instructions in the assignments. Still I look forward to working on the next pandas courses!

By Andrés S R

Apr 27, 2021

Although this course covers the very basics (and does not really teach you about how things work), you can learn the most with the assignments, since it is very likely you will need to go through the docs/ forums to get it done. Very good intro to regex and pandas.