Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
26,551 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

CB

Feb 6, 2023

The assessments, quizzes, and course coverage are quite good. The main points are covered, although it does not cover everything. Additionally, it provides opportunities to learn and conduct research.

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3801 - 3825 of 5,821 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By houchangxi@hotmail.com

Aug 29, 2019

Very good courses for me. Really understanding data science and how to operating python to clean data. And how to have a hypothesis test for our model. But this course is a little simple for me, and not to include some algorithms for data clean and some knowledges for machine learning.

By Edward J

Jan 23, 2017

Good at setting up the framework for the assignments. Google/stackoverflow is your friend. The course materials presents the information but you will have to go and actively learn a good amount of material. I enjoyed this approach but some may be looking for a more contained course.

By Alexander B M

Nov 20, 2016

It is useful, but there are some notable flaws. My biggest problems were with the clarity of the assignment questions (some were unacceptably vague) and the feedback that the autograder gives. Fortunately, fellow classmates on the forums are extremely helpful in figuring this all out.

By Sandeep S R

Jan 3, 2021

its a bit Challenging Course as the Assignment given covered more areas than what we have taught.

also its Dicussion forums is so awsome. you can solve the given problem by just reading 2 or 3 froums.

after completing this course you can feel the gradual increase in your python skills.

By Alex Z

Mar 31, 2019

The homework of the course is very practical. For last assignment make me feel like a real work problem. The course gave you a quick overview of how these Python library works, but To complete the homework you need be self-reliant and be able to find the pieces you need from google.

By Adebayo A A

Nov 14, 2018

This course is absolutely fantastic in understanding data science by applying python programming language. Although it is quite demanding as one must be ready to be fully committed in the learning process as the lecture videos may not be enough to solve the assignments in the course.

By J S

May 10, 2017

Good through introduction to using Pandas. Instruction needs to go into more examples and explanations. I needed to use stackoverflow to get through 60% of the assignments. Few assignment questions are ambiguous and I never found out why my answer is incorrect. Where's the solutions?

By Andrew K

Nov 27, 2016

The course was really great. Thank you!

Sometimes precisely what the questions were asking weren't clear (This may have been resolved by a notebook upgrade but I did not realise this until it was too late) and I did have some issues with the autograder. Otherwise would be five stars.

By Preston H

Sep 28, 2022

I have a few years of Python experience. I am entirely self-taught and then utilize Python for data analytics and some process automation throughout my office. This class was incredibly valuable to reframing some topics I was familiar with as well as bringing in several new topics!

By Omar H G

Jun 16, 2020

I think the course is great, a little bit too much learning on your own. The autograder is not really that clear, it would be nice to have an expected output to see if what we are doing is accurate or not, sometimes we dont have the time to wait for the staff to reply back on the DF

By Alex T

Dec 23, 2016

Very challenging course yet very informative. I am looking forward to the rest of the courses in this series.

A word of warning: if you are not familiar with statistics, parts will be very difficult. If you are not familiar with Python the whole course may be very very difficult.

By peyman s

Dec 11, 2019

The course is well structured, but the videos are not really easy to use. The camera is on the instructor most of the time rather than the code page.

However the Notebooks and the assignments are excellent and you should spend most of the time on those to really learn the material.

By Manuel A M E

Nov 17, 2019

É um curso mais voltado para pessoas autodidatas pois os vídeos são pouco explicativos, curtos e com um conteúdo geral. A fortaleza do curso está nos exercícios que são desafiadores que obrigam ao aluno a ir a entender e aprender por sua conta para aprofundar nos tópicos tocados.

By Ethan K

Sep 1, 2019

The video is simple, but the assignment is hard, I spend a lot time in discuss to understand what it want and external document reading, how to use pandas or python and hypothesis. in the time pressure.

BTW, I think the value of assignment is 90%, and video is 10% in this class.

By 金纯

Mar 4, 2017

the knowledge touch here is really good. however, the speed is a little bit quick. I paused and go back and forth usually.

the last introduction of assignment 4 is not clear. I took quite a long time to figure what to use to calculate the price ratio and what to use to run ttest.

By Gaurav R S

May 25, 2020

This course has given me the confidence to work on data science. The instructor of the course has helped me to earn this course certificate smoothly, the clarity of teaching is way much better than any other instructor that I have gone through and it will help anyone definitely.

By Santiago C

May 14, 2021

The Course is pretty good, but it's not for someone who never studied programming, or never seen a database, or statistics knowledge. But as an Engineer, with some programming skills, and some probability and statistics background I found this course a very good starting point.

By Gabriel M U

Aug 9, 2020

For a introduction course it was very nice! I could learn and practice the basics of pandas and now I know how to find solution for dataframe handling. The only reason for don't give 5 starts is because in the last week I missed a better explanation about the inferential test.

By Andrew V P

Sep 27, 2019

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it in a short amount of time. I wish the lectures where a bit longer and went at a slower pace when working through examples. The problem sets were well thought out but the auto grader was occasionally very frustrating and unclear.

By Tianran D

Feb 12, 2017

The course is great and learned a lot from the assignment! I just feel some of the content is a little beyond me since it took a lot of time to finish.

After finishing the assignment, I feel myself haven't done enough! So if possible, I hope more exercise can be posted here :)

By Vincent v O

May 25, 2018

Pretty good content, instructor is clear. Assignments are a little disappointing. The grading system is dated and thus if you're using the latest versions of pandas/numpy expect to get many exceptions (without the specific error message) when submitting assignment solutions.

By Alisha G

Jan 12, 2017

The course is challenging, and designed to encourage learners to be independent and make full use of the discussion forum. As long as learners do not lose sight of the fact that help is available, they will enjoy this course. But if they lose faith, this would be a disaster.

By Carola P

May 29, 2020

It' s a really interesting class, well organized and with very many useful tips.

Only down side is that the autograder evaluating the excercises is sometimes not perfect and this may be time consuming. Anyway, everything is solved with a very active community and its forums.

By Feng L

Jan 27, 2020

The course is well structured with slightly challenging assignments. It also included some literature and other forms of media that provoking discussion about the philosophy and the future of data science. However, the auto-grader is such a pain... and thus, one minus star.

By Daniel O

Apr 8, 2020

The assignments questions need some polish. And some examples with a small datasets wouldn't hurt before jumping to large amount of data in order to understand some pandas functions. The provided examples are great tho. Overall it's fantastic introduction to Data Science.