Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,167 ratings
5,619 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3801 - 3825 of 5,564 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Edwin A A

Sep 14, 2017

Very good course.

This is somewhat complex, prior knowledge of python is a must. There is an interesting gap between lessons and practical exercises but with some reading is possible to solve everything

By Ayesha N

Aug 15, 2020

I found this course appealing because it was more practical based.it helped me alot in getting hands on experience and most of all I have learned how to solve real world problem with python libraries

By PRUDHIVI R K S

Aug 12, 2020

Assignments are way tougher than what is taught in the class, but they are challenging and the help in discussion forums is speechless. Without that, completion of assignments will take too much time.

By Martin F

Apr 12, 2018

Good course but at times very tedious assignments that require a lot of independent trouble shooting and stamina that someone with little programming experience may not have. Anyway, very interesting!

By benabbou f z

May 18, 2020

super hard course I enjoyed it but the thing that I didn't like specially when this is supposed to be the learning phase the assignments were hard and it sometimes pushes you to look for the solution

By Saurabh S

Jun 3, 2019

Christopher Brooks was exceptional but the other guy was going too fast.

Overall it was a good course. The assignments weren't too tough but the assignment's language made it unnecessarily look tough.

By Daniel d P F R

Aug 25, 2017

The course is good but the oral explanations are at times very tiresome. A more constructive approach in which the explanations are followed by step-by-step examples whould be far better.

Best regards

By Mohamed E

Jul 27, 2020

Quizzes were very challenging and interesting. I learned alot. The main drawback in this course is that the materials are insufficient to answer the assignments.And some questions were not so clear.

By Patricia B

Jan 4, 2019

Excellent content and up-to-date material. Dont get 5th star because despite very well crafted Exams, there are evidently some problems with explanations and the "grader" ends up being too restrict.

By Vikrant T

Jul 2, 2020

Assignments are tough compared to the course lecture material. Therefore, alot of self learning is required other than the lectures. There should be more study material covered in the course videos

By Syed I S

Jan 22, 2020

The speaker is so dull, And the way he speaks doesn't motivate one to learn the things with interested. The speaker of the videos should be the one who speaks passionately about what he is saying..

By Kyle L

Mar 12, 2018

A very nice introduction to libraries/skills used by data scientists. The auto-grader was extremely annoying though. Also, I felt that some of the questions on the assignments were a bit ambiguous.

By Kirk H

Jan 23, 2018

Massive learning curve. I was going to recommend this course as an intro to Python/Pandas to my colleagues but the content ramps up too fast for those with only introductory programming knowledge.

By Fernando B

Mar 26, 2018

Loved it! Exercises were really interesting. A bit too dense at some points till the point i had to go back several times on some videos. The jupyter notebooks to follow the lessons are brilliant!

By Richard N B A

Nov 19, 2016

Although the tests can be a bit fiddly, this is a great course if you already have a bit of background with Python and/or data cleaning. Lecture and tutorial videos are lean and information-dense.

By Wasim I

Feb 8, 2021

The videos provided by this course is very good for learning the basics of data science and we really do not need prior knowledge of python just need to be familiar with any programming language.

By Pratheeksha M

Jul 31, 2020

The course content was good. But the assignments demanded more. Some information was incomplete in the assignments that is, info about datasets were not sufficient to solve the entire assignment.

By Sandesh P

Jan 16, 2021

Course is easy to understand but when it comes to solving assignments it's not that easy with the introductory level knowledge of python.I am expecting hints at each step at solving assignment.

By Ayushya J

Jun 4, 2020

Overall Course is too good and helps us to know how to deal with large sets of data but being a beginner the course contents are not tough but the assignments are tougher than our expectations

By Fanfan Y

Feb 5, 2017

Nice course! there is only one suggestion I want to send you, the video is so short that we can not learn the pandas more in the course. So I hope you can provide more detailed videos thanks.

By Albert W R

Sep 5, 2018

Good course. I enrolled having used Pandas and Jupyter for the last 6 months and it still showed me a few tricks. I especially liked the sections on evaluation the efficiency of operations.

By Lujia F

Sep 21, 2017

Great introduction course on Python. It needs a lot of time on self-learning, and the Discussion Forums are very helpful in solving the assignment problems and boost your learning experience.

By Leandro B

Jun 21, 2020

This is a challenging and engaging course. The only feedback I have is that the assignments could have better description on what it is expected and the module notebooks need to be improved.

By scarlet d

Feb 21, 2020

Still involves outside research to complete assignments. A little more explanation of new commands would be a good addition. Otherwise, the course was challenging and covered several topics.

By Ian M

Apr 16, 2019

Really excellent lecture materials. Programming assignments are challenging, but have too many quirky aspects, and require time to debug (without additional learning). Would highly recommend