Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,879 ratings
5,564 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY
Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3851 - 3875 of 5,509 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Vinay P d L R

Sep 18, 2017

Doesn't explain alot of important variation of the sintax, and says some wrong stuff as well. These two problems actually happen quite rarely, though. Pretty good course!

By Колесова Д М

Aug 1, 2017

I hope that such difficult "introduction" leads to the easy path in working.

All in all - VERY HELPFUL COURSE. Morethanthat, tutors always ready to help you!

Thank a lot.

By Sudheer a

Jul 9, 2020

Course content is good. The Assignments were great. It was comfortable in reviewing the concepts in the Jupyter notebooks provided. Overall the course seemed good to me.

By UMAMANIKANTA D

Jun 19, 2020

the instructer was explaining very fast. i couldn't catch up with him. and the learning information was too less when compared to the questions asked by the assignments.

By Jaydeep J

Jun 3, 2020

It was great course. The only thing I disliked is that it just gave overview of things that can be done, it was not in detail and also pace of the videos was a bit fast.

By SophieLi

Mar 24, 2020

I appreciate this course very much! Course notes and the assignments are of great importance for my deeper understanding of python. And the forum really helped me a lot!

By Ping-Liang C

Jul 15, 2017

It will be better to understand the whole coding if they explain more about the codes they are using. Some times they will directly using codes without explain it first.

By Jason L

May 14, 2021

Get ready to load and cleanse data with Pandas. Also, great for experience with NumPy and a bit into SciPy at the end. Make sure to keep up with the assignments work!

By Benjamin C

Oct 13, 2020

Solid introduction to basic data manipulation in python. I thought the course was a bit lengthy and the quizzes unnecessary, but overall I am satisfied with the course.

By Rishi s

Mar 30, 2020

This course was awesome, but the Assignments were difficult as compared to the teaching lecture.

I think there should be a bit more about the topic discussion in videos.

By matan l

May 29, 2018

Course is great and very teaching. That being said, some of the excersizes are not clear enough, and since the autograder is auto, it creates problems from time to time

By Mauricio

Dec 7, 2018

Great Course, very useful basic python course. Although I had lots of experience with python it is always good to go back to basics and reinforce good coding practices

By Deleted A

Aug 12, 2017

Very practical assignment to hone skill in data frame and regex operations. However I don't like the monthly subscription payments, which is inflexible to my schedule.

By Stefan

Jan 27, 2017

Good course, if a bit fast paced, expect a great deal of searching through documentation and stackoverflow, but it is to be expected from an intermediate level course.

By Muhammad E

Jul 29, 2020

as advertised this is not an introductory course , you need to know a little about python pandas and numpy before taking this but overall it's nice challenging course

By Marina L

Feb 28, 2017

A bit short, but good info. I wish you got access to an optimal code for each of the assignments once you submit yours and pass, so you could see how you can improve.

By Muhammad A

Jun 19, 2020

Too much content covered in a video at very fast pace. I am comfortable with little long videos with more details on the topic and I think that can enhance learning.

By Haijian H

May 8, 2020

The assignments are challenging and thus rewarding after hard work.

More explanation effort can be invested during the lecture would make the course perfect, I think.

By Robin K

Apr 27, 2020

A very useful course for getting to know Pandas and its application in data science. Bit of advice: use the online version of the notepad to avoid autograder issues!

By Christian L

Oct 18, 2018

I dont put the biggest mark because sometimes you have spend a lot of time trying to resolver a problem with and csv file and it is something related with format....

By Braza

Jan 6, 2020

This was a great course. But I would advice programming newbies to really be comfortable with problem solving and Python programming before going through it.

Cheers

By N. K

Oct 26, 2019

The data could be made available. That available in the links have been updated and the code does not apply to the dimension of dataframe mentioned in the notebook.

By Sanjay V

Nov 1, 2020

Good course. makes you work, but the learning was worth it , especially for someone like me who has ben struggling to pick up python though I am fairly good at R.

By Siddique Z A

Sep 15, 2020

Nice and very much informative session on Data science using python where we learns a lot and also completed assignments which is really a tough level assignments.

By Chimobi O

Dec 10, 2019

it's a nice course, more project based than theoretical, challenging assignments and good instructors. it spurs you to do a lot of research and individual learning