Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,706 ratings
5,542 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU
Dec 9, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filter by:

3951 - 3975 of 5,487 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Juntao G

Nov 16, 2017

Mostly good. However the question quality of homework 4 should be improved. The way how questions are expressed is ambiguous and confusing.

By Seyyed M A D

Jul 19, 2021

Educational materials are more than great. Lectures and notebook resources are A+++.

However, programming assignments are not interesting.

By Matteo C

Jun 7, 2021

G​ood but I personally found the time required for the assignments a bit unrealistic, having some basics in programming but not in Python.

By Sirajalam S

Aug 20, 2020

The course is very interesting and quite informative. I got a lot of information about Data Science and its application in various fields.

By Germano R

May 23, 2019

Great course for beginners, as well as for those with previous data science experience with other programming languages (i.e. R Computing)

By Manas A

Dec 25, 2018

Overall a really great course with a great deal of skills and information, but i wish the coursework assignments were a little bit easier.

By ALISON J D

Jan 3, 2018

The course was challenging but fun. To complete the assignments you need to research python on the Internet and consult the course forums.

By Eduardo S J d P

Nov 26, 2016

Autograder is hard to understand and has no feedback. Could improve the feedback mechanism, maybe with peer review. Thanks for the course!

By Md. N K S

Jul 23, 2020

Assignment 3 and 4 was much difficult then others, I have to submit 3 times and have spent more then 7 hrs. Ultimately i have learn good.

By devansh v

Jun 21, 2020

The course is really good but a little more insight to pandas would have made it even better and also the auto-graders is a little buggy.

By MUSTAFA Ö

Apr 23, 2020

Assignments of the course are more educative than video contents . Because videos include short and insufficent information about topics.

By Indranil B

Jul 8, 2017

A good course overall.The assignments are challenging and promote a lot of self learning.The Jupyter Notebook integration is also a plus.

By Martin D

Oct 19, 2020

Very good explanations of course material, interesting assignements, but some instructions in graded assignements were not always clear.

By Misa

Sep 28, 2018

Overall very good. Like the lecture styles. Some of the questions in the assignments aren't clear, but the discussion forum helps a lot.

By Cosmin P

Jan 19, 2018

Good training for beginner. The last assignment seems to be quite challenging but once delivered helps a lot to increase the confidence.

By Paula V

May 15, 2021

This course is was very challenging since I have to pretty much learn python on the fly and then understand the data science part of it

By kartik m

May 28, 2020

It provides you with very good learning experience , though i felt for introduction to data science , the assignments are little tough.

By GRACE B

Jul 17, 2018

Course videos provide good examples of using methods, but prepare to teach yourself from StackOverflow when completing the assignments.

By Soham S

Dec 7, 2017

Good course to start learning python and some of it's application.

Week 1 and 2 videos are very fast forwarding on python for beginners.

By Khushal K

Dec 4, 2017

The demo speed is too fast for the new average learner, but we can always stop and rewind. Assignments are lengthy yet too informative.

By Leon V

Feb 8, 2017

Don't think this should be classified as "Beginner Specialization. No prior experience required." Need at least some coding experience.

By Qinzhe Z

Nov 4, 2016

To be honest, I think the course is very good, however, it may be need to more clear on the description of the questions in assignment.

By Houssam B

Jul 21, 2021

T​hank you for this amazing Course, I really learned a lot during the entire 4 weeks. everything was easy to learn and well organised.

By Andrii M

Sep 5, 2020

The course is good, but the autograder is absolutely horrible, spend hours figuring out how to force autograder to accept my solution.

By Huseyn G

Jun 14, 2020

Generally, it is very useful course, and provides lots of resources. However, I believe that they are areas to make the course better.