Chevron Left
Back to Using Databases with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Databases with Python by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
20,779 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality course material

(143 Reviews)

Top rated instructor

(176 Reviews)

Top reviews

MM

Mar 12, 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

JL

Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful course! I learnt many useful SQL statements and know how to combine database operations into python program. Dr. Chuck's lectures are always comprehensible and clear. Thank you, professor.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 3,108 Reviews for Using Databases with Python

By DEBASATWA D

Oct 25, 2016

Thanks Dr. Chuck for making me learn how to handle DBs with python scripts.Thanks for your time.Highly recommended.

By Ian G

Oct 16, 2016

Fantastic introduction to the world of databases. Engaging video tutor and interesting examples of database usage.

By Athreya V S

Aug 24, 2020

Nice course, here we get to know about SQL and databases. Inclusion of python to use SQLite is done in a good way.

By kalenshi k

Nov 30, 2017

my review here will be biased because i just looove databases and having this skill with python was so interesting

By David D

Nov 21, 2016

A well thought out course with material progressively advancing at a pace that challenges but does not discourage.

By Munesh C

Apr 27, 2021

A great learning experience. The course is equally relevant for novices as it is for seasoned Python programmers.

By Mihir A

Feb 14, 2020

Got a really nice overview of databases in general and how they store data. I liked learning SQL during this time

By Joanthan S

Apr 2, 2019

This is going to be extremely useful going forward. Well laid out and the fundamentals all start coming together!

By Sashi B

Jul 25, 2017

Great introduction to using python to create, edit and query data from SQL (SQLite used in the course) databases.

By LI H G (

Feb 25, 2016

It is great course because it doesn't only teach you Python, it leads you to write real application using Python.

By Dan C

Feb 15, 2016

Such a great class for those beginning to user Python in a database environment. Lots of good, solid information.

By Denis K

May 22, 2022

Це дуже цікавий та корисний курс. Методика викладання дозволяє шукати рішення на базі горно поданого матеріалу!

By Louis d B

Jan 6, 2020

Great course, get to learn SQL too, and interesting ways to present data. Dr Chuck keeps in fun and interesting!

By Dirk C

May 3, 2017

If you are looking for an entry into combination of Databases and Development this course is a great first step.

By Stefan B

May 5, 2016

Very nice. Some of the theoretical quizes were too detailed - the coding could have a little bit more challenges

By Manoj K

Feb 8, 2016

This course was really nice one. I am expecting more courses on "Using Databases with Python and data analytics"

By zhang m

May 19, 2022

amazing course I used to think database and python are two separate things but they are combined in this class!

By Rachel C

May 24, 2021

This was a great class for a beginner in SQL and Python/SQLite Databases. Easy to understand and follow along.

By Willem N

Jul 20, 2019

Being able to work with databases makes you realize how potent these tools are. I absolutely adored this course

By liu n

May 12, 2018

this part I'm familiar because it's relates to my daily work. Dr. Chuck's explanation is as wonderful as usual!

By James E W

Oct 2, 2016

Great course! This is a very good introduction to the value of databases and database management using SQLite.

By Robert S

Mar 20, 2016

Excellent class. Dr. Chuck is a phenomenal teacher. If Charles Severance teaches it, then you should take it.

By Murali D

Jan 14, 2016

Well organized, well presented and has adequate information to introduce you to the capabilities of the sqlite.

By Budhaditya D

Apr 13, 2021

Nice Course. But requesting you to add more details to the course and teach about Pandas, Numpy and Matplotlib

By Alberto C

May 18, 2020

Great and clear introduction to the use of databases. A good starting point to develop the database knowledge.