Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
21,795 ratings
3,510 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

2976 - 3000 of 3,478 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Derrick J

Oct 19, 2020

The hands on lab notebooks for python were not all that great. Some of them even having syntax errors without any input from me. As someone who is learning the skill it was at times frustrating that the lessons that were given to me in that state wasn’t a one time thing, and I was expected to learn from it when it was in itself not right at times.

By Mar G A

Jan 30, 2019

The course content is great but the peer review exam is confusing. You really have to bring a lot of patience and determination in answering the final quiz. The resources are not in the content, and you need to research outside. Which I think was the intention (?). So bring a lot patience and just focus on breaking down the steps and instructions.

By Marilyn C

Dec 1, 2019

You learn how to do a lot of functional stuff in Python, but without the context as to "why" you would want to do these things in this language, I often found myself a bit confused. The lectures were a bit fast paced sometimes. It was not well explained how to actually do the work in the labs, and it was often the same material as in the lecture.

By Kit B

Jul 28, 2020

Thorough course covering all the basics of Python. The labs were a great way to practice skills i had learnt in the videos, however I found the quizzes very short and of low difficulty. I also had to constantly stop and start the learning videos as they would often race through certain slides. I'd like to see a more challenging course.

By Fayja H

Dec 6, 2020

The course videos were pretty easy to follow along until I reached weeks 3 and 4...some of those videos (loops, functions, API) were hard to follow and the correlating lab exercise questions were nearly impossible to answer with beginner level knowledge while the lesson quizzes were too easy. Please make this more beginner friendly.

By Mathijs d G

Jul 1, 2020

Good course if you already have some experience with Python. If you're a complete beginner, this will go way too fast and you won't understand the fundamentals.

It would be better to split this course up and go through it slower, for beginners. Or mention this is a course for students with an intermediate knowledge level of Python.

By Aaron S

Jun 15, 2020

Very much the sort of class where you get out as much as you put in. The labs are alright if you experiment beyond what's requested, but just doing the required questions doesn't teach much. The videos are often vague or misleading and sometimes outright wrong. Only bother if you're willing to do extra research on your own.

By pranav v

Jun 1, 2019

please give proper directions on how to use watson studio.

give proper directions on how to display he dashboard and URL in the assignment

give proper directions on how to get the url

explain the steps for the same

ps: there are people with no prior coding knowledge do consider them and do provide proper directions for the same

By Michael

Nov 6, 2018

The project at the end is super confusing and is a huge leap from the hand holding tutorials. I would rather have more exercises building up my skills than one big project where 99% of the code is already done and I am just inserting 5 lines of code that I have to scour the internet to find what they are asking for.

By Markus K

Sep 15, 2019

For non native speaker the videos were a bit too fast. it would be great if the interface allows to place the translation on the left or right hand side of the video. Also for my self the introduction of the week 5 exercise where not quite clear. much more self coding in the weeks 1 - 4 where also very welcome

By Antonio M

Mar 15, 2020

Several spelling errors that get in the way of code and even the final project.

Directions not always clear, could use a little more refinement.

Overall not terrible, just did not feel to par with the prior courses in the certificate (granted, they are less technical.)

Hope this feedback helps improve the course!

By Kean T K

Mar 17, 2019

The content is well organised and presented in simple manner. The lab helps to enhance the understanding. However, the final peer review assignment is a disconnect from the course content, which requires students to google and look for the solution which is totally not related to the content of the course.

By Belachew A

Mar 22, 2020

While the course is not bad. I had a frustrating time.

Notes are too old, links are not working, Instruction are not clear and are not up to date. There were even times I was tempted to terminate my subscription. Please please make the notes up to date and improve the instruction, else shut the program.

By Corrado R C

Jun 14, 2020

The process for learning in this course is throwing pieces of python at you with little context in how they would actually be used in the real world and leaving most of the practical labs to the very end. Doesn't seem this will actually help people retain more than 15% of what they've gone through.

By Manar M

Aug 18, 2020

The course generally explains concepts in a good and illustrative manner. The only thing I found hard to understand and wasn't demonstrated with examples is API. Furthermore, I suggest the quizzes and the lab exercises become more competitive and more advanced. The questions posed are very basic.

By Marie G

Mar 17, 2021

The exercices from week 3 to week 5 are too difficult. It would be really useful to have more exercices with a progression in it instead of one big exercises mixing everything.

The weeks 4 and 5 are really difficult to understand because there are a lot of new things explained really quickly.

By François J

Sep 24, 2019

Interesting introduction into Python, tools and some libraries. It's pretty easy though and i feel like once we reach the files management, Pandas and Numpy we should get some real exercice to practice and get confortable with those since they are super important for what are you aiming for.

By Jenna H

Apr 6, 2021

Ok course for understanding the basics of python. Some exercises (week 3-5) didn't always seem to match the basic nature of the videos and were a bit frustrating. Because it's pretty surface level and the exercises didn't reinforce my learning, I felt like I walked away not learning much.

By Mirjan A S

May 11, 2020

All Content of this course is Very Good, But one things is irritated which is the project submission using 'IBM Watson Studio', this platform can't loading easily it is time consuming and Slow platform for data processing. For this course we need a lite platform which is loading fast.

By Chris L

Oct 15, 2019

it is a baby class for coding while it is not very challenging and practical. the code is sometimes outdated and is done in a time-wasting manner. one of the biggest problems is that the course refrains itself from using other libraries which are frequently used or common in practice.

By Myles A S

Aug 9, 2020

This course was frustrating because there were some issues with using the IBM cloud and they could not be solved quickly. As a result I comlpleted the course without completing all the practical exercises, so I missed out and did not get all the value I should have from this course.

By Florian P

Dec 6, 2018

This course does a good job of introducing the basics of python. However, the slides in the lecture videos are so atrociously formatted (and riddled with typos), that they have an annoying and distracting effect. Even in a high school presentation these slides would be embarrassing.

By Mykola K

Jun 19, 2020

Good structure, learning progressively helps. Labs are interesting and allow to learn to code. Two drawbacks: 1) very unequal distribution of work, Week 4 was too long, while Weeks 1 and 2 were light; 2) a lot of mistakes in the course, up to the point of sometimes being confusing.

By Marcus P

Dec 21, 2019

OK overall, but many links to external resources were not working and how-to screenshots often out-of-date for those services. The analysis side was a little light as too much time was spent on the intro to Python. It would have been better with Python knowledge as a prerequisite.

By Crystal W

May 20, 2020

Good course but there were large gaps in information, plentiful typos, and confusing explanations. As someone who educates for a living, I'd say this should likely be broken down into more than one course and the materials should be reviewed for grammar, errors, and readability.