Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
24,702 ratings
4,095 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 4,129 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Urs H

Mar 4, 2019

Content OK, some errors on the video slides.

By Maximilian M M

Apr 9, 2021

I wanna be completely honest with this course:

To me prerequisites:

I'm a coding beginner. Had some classes in University about programming with C and Java but just learned basic concepts like what are functions.

The course first gave me some really interesting insights. The Videos are super helpful and also the first two weeks of exercises were really helpful.

But as I moved further, the exercises got super hard. At least for coding beginners. Personally from week 3 on it just felt like that they don'T really wanna teach you coding but just showing you how it's done. For example they show you how you can Webscrape or convert dictonairies to lists but you can't really code them by yourself. The most frequend command I executed was running the code already in the cells.

When you are a beginner: Try to learn python with another course or source. You will get super frustrated with this course. If you are familar with other langauges or python it will be easy I think.

By Lena N

Sep 9, 2018

I had some programming knowledge (C++, matlab) when I begun this course. It was easy to complete but I tried to make it more challenging by paying extra attention to the details. The questions that popped up while watching the videos were good at making it somewhat interactive. The quizzes were maybe too easy (most of them had only three questions per quiz). I found the labs very helpful, could use some more practice exercises. It felt like a self-paced course, I would like it if the instructors were more involved in the forums and the grading. Basically, the questions at the forums were answered by fellow students (if someone could help) and also the grading was exclusively by peer-grading. All in all you can gain from the course by putting some personal effort..it also makes it easy to just browse through the questions and get a completed mark nonetheless.

By Syed I B S A

May 22, 2021

There were a few things I really struggled with on this course. Firstly I am a reader, not so good with the videos. So it would have been much easier for me to follow if there were clearer reference material rather than mainly videos. I learnt nearly exclusively off the pynb, but I noticed quite a few of the questions specifically asked about the videos. Secondly, more explanations as to why we are doing something, maybe make it more task oriented. i.e., We are looking for this, this is how you would go about finding it, etc. I didn't understand most of the time why I was performing a task or why this was shown to me. Lastly, it would have been much easier to follow if it would explain what every step, code, function etc was explained. I really struggled with week 5 because I could not understand what each step was meant to produce.

By Abigail J

Sep 21, 2019

Not a beginner's class but a sufficient survey/review of Python for people who have seen it before. Much like some language classes will prepare you to read French but not to speak French, this course will probably prepare you to read Python programs but you won't be sufficiently prepared to write your own. Does not provide opportunities for meaningful practice.

The instructions in the videos are often vague or misleading (especially with naming of variables) and there were several instances where I (an "advanced beginner", generously) had to de-bug the examples and instructions in the Labs to get them to work.

IBM was clearly sloppy when they put together this course, and that is reflected in the quality of the learning you'll obtain. Again, a fine generalist's overview but will not prepare you to use Python in a meaningful way.

By Brenda B M

Mar 13, 2019

The illustrations were excellent, the pauses for quizzes were abrupt and disturbing, the Fake album cover was not relevant to any business use I would have, and the materials were out of order in the listing. I eventually and painfully figured out a solution using a function I created from the clues I had at hand.

The 2D NumPy quiz was a mystery to me. Too much material was presented all at once and I probably confused some concepts in 2D. I have never used matrix math before...

By Andres F

Feb 15, 2021

Some exercises in the Labs are definitely not for beginners, especially during week 3 and 4. The course does not give you enough resources to be able to resolve those exercises and only gives you the answer, which is rather advanced and involves knowledge from outside this course.

Apart from that, the course is fine, but that experience might be a bit disappointing for someone who is just starting with Python.

By Samantha R

Mar 14, 2019

The course was informative with useful elements to use

However the final assignment had nothing to do with the whole course. the labs were just touching on the code and I expected the final assignment to put everything into practice. The instructions also not clear in the assignment - I got more help off the discussion forums else I would have never completed the final tasks

By Julia B

Feb 10, 2019

Not the best course imo: almost no relevant exercises, there are visible small mistakes and formatting errors present. It seems, that authors didn't put too much effort to make the course to be of really high standard. It's good if you need to get a certificate in this field quickly but don't expect to obtain much of knowledge.

By Sasikanth I

Feb 5, 2020

It might give you all the things that you need for programming in AI and data science but dosent give enough practice to make you feel comfortable with what they teach. They could give few assignments to better the course instead of rushing which overloads the information to be understood and remembered

By Jarrod W

May 11, 2019

Honestly I found the course great but found the last assignment really hard. I legit had to use the Discussion board to help me do this assignment an even then i have no clue what I am doing. The instructions were really vague and wasn't pointed to being a complete beginner.

By Shawn G

May 11, 2020

The content was good, but as with most online programming courses, there simply are not enough coding exercises to effectively retain the knowledge long term.

By Jeffrey G D

Apr 9, 2019

There were some errors in the notebook code and some of the video quizes asked questions about things that hadn't been covered yet.

By Samir S

Feb 15, 2019

Final exam poorly designed and written. Frustrating experience trying to find solutions. Needs a rethink and more structure.

By Ahmed H

Apr 18, 2019

the questions given in the final project are not covered by the course materials

By Emily N

Oct 28, 2020

The course is super frustrating, the robot voice for the videos makes it so difficult to digest the information, the cadence and focus on certain words is completely wrong, so it makes it so hard to understand, especially when introducing new terms. Given that a lot of the information is presented on slides its really tricky to read at your own pace with the correct intonations and also see the code on the video. It seems really lazy to not have a person with subject knowledge read the video material in a much more engaging way (as with all other Coursera courses I've tried) - this would make the material much easier to engage with and less like I've just installed a text to voice reader on a wikipedia page.

I also think some more real life application based would make it much easier to engage with the material - when I've looked at other courses (e.g. Khan academy, codeacademy, they at least explain 'for loops can be applied for example in XXX'. The labs are good, but the videos have to be some of the least engaging videos on programming that I have ever come across!!

Also, Also, a lot of terms are introduced without any explanation as to their function. In the videos sometimes terms are just introduced on the screen e.g. '_init_ ' but with no explanation whatsoever as to what this means or when it's used. This is meant to be a beginner course and provide knowledge to apply in a workplace setting going forward, but I find myself constantly googling to get background information on Python code. As an example, I messaged my friend (who is teaches python in a university) who gave a brief explanation to 'init: "Short for initialise. When you create an object of any type, you either create a real one or a default one. So for the circle example, a default circle could be the unit circle, but you (as a programmer) may want a 5 inch circle so you would use the class constructor to initialise / override the default values" .

This kind of simple background explanations would go a long way to actually teaching people how to understand what the code is doing, and the background of it and why you use it, so that you are actually more capable of applying this in a future setting. It also helps make the course a lot more human, rather than trying to teach it in a way where you can only remember the code but not actually understand what any of it means or does!

I'm really disappointed with this course, I hope the other IBM python courses are better!!

By Abhishek G

Oct 30, 2020

As the name says, "Python For Data Science and AI", but to be honest, it covers very little learning materials related to data science and even lesser for AI. Every week it makes you sign up for IBM Watson Studio. The worst part is in the final assignment, you are not judged for your ability to write python codes, it judges you on sharing your IBM Watson studio link. The level of the final assignment was quite low as it should have been.

I don't understand why can't we do the same assignment somewhere else. How this low-level assignment be a part of a specialization course? And the slides demonstrating the procedures of IBM Watson Studio is outdated. This must be improved.

By Jake S

May 28, 2021

Not for beginners. Difficulty ramps up extremely quickly, and instructors offer little to no support. I requested help on lab exercises more than once and received responses like "just use logic." I find it hard to believe that anyone without a programming background can succeed in this course. Sure, they can pass--the exams and quizzes are not challenging, but the lab exercises are far too complex given the content of the instructional videos.

By Adekunle A

Jul 8, 2019

Python Course was informative and actually ok, finished in 4 days.

HOWEVER, it then took 2 weeks to sort out "IBM issues" before I could submit coursework!!

By Sebastian S

May 9, 2019

Really dry, and the external tool they want to use gave me a "502 Bad Gateway" response. So I guess I'm not completing this course.

By Mark B

Apr 15, 2019

Too many cloud issues...

By Saumitra K V

Jun 7, 2019

I would not recommend this course for someone who is completely new to python or programming in general, even though this is a beginner level course. Not only is the course content riddled with typos, but the text following the videos do not match at times making it hard for someone like me (a complete novice to programming) to understand the flow. There are other courses on python and data science out there that one could start with and get familiarised with the terminology first, and then sign up for this one.

Working with Jupyter workspace and IBM Cloud was also not very user friendly. There were constant errors on bucket names and endpoints while running the code, which left me confused on what was happening (I believe this was the case with other users in the course as well, as seen from the discussion threads for Week 5).

For instance, the tutorial IBM Object Storage does not clearly state which endpoint to use. For my project I ended up using an endpoint that was created in my credentials inside the JSON object. Due to this my code always gave an error. As it turns out, the correct endpoint to be used was listed elsewhere under IBM Cloud, but this was not clearly explained. I had to check with the course instructors to resolve the issue. I must say that the course instructors were very helpful in answering my questions and clarifying all my doubts promptly. I appreciated that.

In conclusion, this course is not for someone who does not have any background on programming. Get some basic experience first before coming to this one.

By Thinh N

Oct 3, 2018

The course is kinda helpful. But please, stop using peer-review assignment. I always get deducted by some stupid or careless guys for NO SINGLE REASON! When you ask some naive students to grade another, they never give the full marks even there is no flaw in the assignment, just because they are not sure at all about any thing! Tbh, I'm kinda perfectionist. I tried my best to target 100% on every thing then finally got stuck because of others' stupidity. That made me pissed off about the whole thing that I am working on. :(

By Himanshu K

May 24, 2021

That escalated quickly

The course starts off easy and slow and you understand what you are doing. Then from 'Classes and Objects' it very hard to grasp and because I was using pycharm alongside and wanted to practice everything simultaneously, I had to google/ youtube everything taking thrice the time suggested. Also, last 5th week portion is incomprehensible when you want to actually do it practically.

This course feels like it had lots of missing links.

By MICHAEL A W T

Apr 22, 2019

Course is poorly organised, even the lines of code input by default in the final assignment have issues running, not to mention that the whole project needs IBM cloud/platform support, something students do not agree to before hand.

On forums, you may see the amount of problems and difficulties of this "course", none from the IBM team replies.

Sorry, I will not be recommending this to anyone.