Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
21,416 ratings
3,444 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 3,411 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By Julia B

Feb 10, 2019

Not the best course imo: almost no relevant exercises, there are visible small mistakes and formatting errors present. It seems, that authors didn't put too much effort to make the course to be of really high standard. It's good if you need to get a certificate in this field quickly but don't expect to obtain much of knowledge.

By sasikanth i

Feb 5, 2020

It might give you all the things that you need for programming in AI and data science but dosent give enough practice to make you feel comfortable with what they teach. They could give few assignments to better the course instead of rushing which overloads the information to be understood and remembered

By Jarrod W

May 11, 2019

Honestly I found the course great but found the last assignment really hard. I legit had to use the Discussion board to help me do this assignment an even then i have no clue what I am doing. The instructions were really vague and wasn't pointed to being a complete beginner.

By Shawn G

May 11, 2020

The content was good, but as with most online programming courses, there simply are not enough coding exercises to effectively retain the knowledge long term.

By Jeffrey G D

Apr 9, 2019

There were some errors in the notebook code and some of the video quizes asked questions about things that hadn't been covered yet.

By Samir S

Feb 15, 2019

Final exam poorly designed and written. Frustrating experience trying to find solutions. Needs a rethink and more structure.

By Ahmed H

Apr 18, 2019

the questions given in the final project are not covered by the course materials

By Emily N

Oct 28, 2020

The course is super frustrating, the robot voice for the videos makes it so difficult to digest the information, the cadence and focus on certain words is completely wrong, so it makes it so hard to understand, especially when introducing new terms. Given that a lot of the information is presented on slides its really tricky to read at your own pace with the correct intonations and also see the code on the video. It seems really lazy to not have a person with subject knowledge read the video material in a much more engaging way (as with all other Coursera courses I've tried) - this would make the material much easier to engage with and less like I've just installed a text to voice reader on a wikipedia page.

I also think some more real life application based would make it much easier to engage with the material - when I've looked at other courses (e.g. Khan academy, codeacademy, they at least explain 'for loops can be applied for example in XXX'. The labs are good, but the videos have to be some of the least engaging videos on programming that I have ever come across!!

Also, Also, a lot of terms are introduced without any explanation as to their function. In the videos sometimes terms are just introduced on the screen e.g. '_init_ ' but with no explanation whatsoever as to what this means or when it's used. This is meant to be a beginner course and provide knowledge to apply in a workplace setting going forward, but I find myself constantly googling to get background information on Python code. As an example, I messaged my friend (who is teaches python in a university) who gave a brief explanation to 'init: "Short for initialise. When you create an object of any type, you either create a real one or a default one. So for the circle example, a default circle could be the unit circle, but you (as a programmer) may want a 5 inch circle so you would use the class constructor to initialise / override the default values" .

This kind of simple background explanations would go a long way to actually teaching people how to understand what the code is doing, and the background of it and why you use it, so that you are actually more capable of applying this in a future setting. It also helps make the course a lot more human, rather than trying to teach it in a way where you can only remember the code but not actually understand what any of it means or does!

I'm really disappointed with this course, I hope the other IBM python courses are better!!

By Abhishek G

Oct 30, 2020

As the name says, "Python For Data Science and AI", but to be honest, it covers very little learning materials related to data science and even lesser for AI. Every week it makes you sign up for IBM Watson Studio. The worst part is in the final assignment, you are not judged for your ability to write python codes, it judges you on sharing your IBM Watson studio link. The level of the final assignment was quite low as it should have been.

I don't understand why can't we do the same assignment somewhere else. How this low-level assignment be a part of a specialization course? And the slides demonstrating the procedures of IBM Watson Studio is outdated. This must be improved.

By Alvaro F V

Nov 12, 2018

The course covers the content taught in a very superficial manner.

I do not think that after completing this course anyone is able to use python for anything really. The course does do a decent job of introducing you to the very basic principles. It simply was not what I expected.

The time estimates are way inflated. This course can be completed in 1 week.

The final assignment is not at all challenging. The course makers provide the code that does the hard part.

The final assignment's instructions are outdated (screenshots are), unclear and could defenitely be polished for clarity. It's evident that the course makers have not QAed their course recently at all.

By Damir G

Nov 28, 2020

It was very hard for me to follow as I have near to zero programming experience. It's a problem with all Python courses for beginners, on all platforms, it's not for complete beginners really, you need to have the basics of programming prior to that as the instructors in the videos and training materials operate with the terms and concepts that are very hard to understand for non-programmers. The weeks 3 and 4 are especially hard to understand as the complexity of the new terms gets sharply a lot harder to understand, and a lot of spelling and grammar mistakes also give an impression that the authors didn't really review the material before posting it.

By Andrew O

Dec 30, 2018

Honestly this course isnt very good. Lightning quick wizz through Python and the final test was barely related to the learning materials. The process of test submission is very poor.

I think this course overall reflects badly on IBM.

By Adekunle A

Jul 8, 2019

Python Course was informative and actually ok, finished in 4 days.

HOWEVER, it then took 2 weeks to sort out "IBM issues" before I could submit coursework!!

By Sebastian S

May 9, 2019

Really dry, and the external tool they want to use gave me a "502 Bad Gateway" response. So I guess I'm not completing this course.

By Mark B

Apr 15, 2019

Too many cloud issues...

By Saumitra K V

Jun 7, 2019

I would not recommend this course for someone who is completely new to python or programming in general, even though this is a beginner level course. Not only is the course content riddled with typos, but the text following the videos do not match at times making it hard for someone like me (a complete novice to programming) to understand the flow. There are other courses on python and data science out there that one could start with and get familiarised with the terminology first, and then sign up for this one.

Working with Jupyter workspace and IBM Cloud was also not very user friendly. There were constant errors on bucket names and endpoints while running the code, which left me confused on what was happening (I believe this was the case with other users in the course as well, as seen from the discussion threads for Week 5).

For instance, the tutorial IBM Object Storage does not clearly state which endpoint to use. For my project I ended up using an endpoint that was created in my credentials inside the JSON object. Due to this my code always gave an error. As it turns out, the correct endpoint to be used was listed elsewhere under IBM Cloud, but this was not clearly explained. I had to check with the course instructors to resolve the issue. I must say that the course instructors were very helpful in answering my questions and clarifying all my doubts promptly. I appreciated that.

In conclusion, this course is not for someone who does not have any background on programming. Get some basic experience first before coming to this one.

By Thinh N

Oct 3, 2018

The course is kinda helpful. But please, stop using peer-review assignment. I always get deducted by some stupid or careless guys for NO SINGLE REASON! When you ask some naive students to grade another, they never give the full marks even there is no flaw in the assignment, just because they are not sure at all about any thing! Tbh, I'm kinda perfectionist. I tried my best to target 100% on every thing then finally got stuck because of others' stupidity. That made me pissed off about the whole thing that I am working on. :(

By MICHAEL A W T

Apr 22, 2019

Course is poorly organised, even the lines of code input by default in the final assignment have issues running, not to mention that the whole project needs IBM cloud/platform support, something students do not agree to before hand.

On forums, you may see the amount of problems and difficulties of this "course", none from the IBM team replies.

Sorry, I will not be recommending this to anyone.

By Jonathon M

Apr 24, 2019

The instructions for the last assignment are absolute garbage and the last project as a whole is mostly a waste of time when it comes to learning Python and data science. Despite errors and use of depreciated functions, the course was otherwise great but the last project's instructions and overall design is awful enough to undo the rest.

By Derek A

Apr 23, 2019

Horrible. Forced to use IBM Cloud and IBM Watson for assignments. Typos in instructions and not enough information in Week 5 material. Very poorly organized and i would not recommend this course because of how much time I had to spend trouble-shooting IBM Watson/Cloud which I have no intention on using.

By Ahmed N

May 19, 2019

The course content is very good until you get to the final peer graded assignment which is very unclear what to do and how to tackle and you're left alone to tackle a ton of errors that are mostly irrelevant to what you're learning

By mike g

Apr 25, 2019

Super fast and the examples don't help for the final lab. The final lab is extremely difficult and there is almost no support or guidance to help you with it. Waste of time. I could have paid for a better python course.

By Mikhael R

Mar 3, 2019

Do not waste you money. There is no even a place to ask question if you are not sure. They create a forum which is totally useless as nobody answers your questions when you stuck!

By Rishi R

May 22, 2019

I have wasted a lot of time in learning how to save and upload the data on ibm platform rather than actually learning python. There should be other methods to submit our work.

By Jose M S

Apr 26, 2019

You take more time trying to get to work the IBM products than actually learning python. This is specially salient in the peer-graded assingment