Chevron Left
Back to Python for Data Science, AI & Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Data Science, AI & Development by IBM

4.6
stars
21,359 ratings
3,437 reviews

About the Course

Kickstart your learning of Python for data science, as well as programming in general, with this beginner-friendly introduction to Python. Python is one of the world’s most popular programming languages, and there has never been greater demand for professionals with the ability to apply Python fundamentals to drive business solutions across industries. This course will take you from zero to programming in Python in a matter of hours—no prior programming experience necessary! You will learn Python fundamentals, including data structures and data analysis, complete hands-on exercises throughout the course modules, and create a final project to demonstrate your new skills. By the end of this course, you’ll feel comfortable creating basic programs, working with data, and solving real-world problems in Python. You’ll gain a strong foundation for more advanced learning in the field, and develop skills to help advance your career. This course can be applied to multiple Specialization or Professional Certificate programs. Completing this course will count towards your learning in any of the following programs: IBM Applied AI Professional Certificate Applied Data Science Specialization IBM Data Science Professional Certificate Upon completion of any of the above programs, in addition to earning a Specialization completion certificate from Coursera, you’ll also receive a digital badge from IBM recognizing your expertise in the field....

Top reviews

HM
Nov 17, 2019

it becomes easier wand clearer when one gets to complete the assignments as to how to utilize what has been learned. Practical work is a great way to learn, which was a fundamental part of the course.

MA
May 16, 2020

The syllabus of the course takes you in a roller-coaster ride.\n\nFrom basic level to advance level and you won't feel any trouble nor hesitate a bit.\n\nIt's easy, it's vast, and it's really usefull.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 3,403 Reviews for Python for Data Science, AI & Development

By John C

May 29, 2019

I like the project, practical orientation of the course compared to more academic approaches. The slides on

usage of the Watson Studio features and sharing could be improved. Spent more time messing with that than the programming. Seemed excessive

By Jennifer E

May 31, 2019

The cloud storage question on the final is just a ploy to get us to use IBM products and shouldn't be part of the grade. The course was a good pace and nice, slow introduction for new Python users.

By Matthew N

May 23, 2019

Everything for this was great, up to the last part of the project. The instructions to load to the IBM cloud were some of the most confusing and overtly difficult exercises.

By Thanh C D

May 31, 2019

I was going to give it a 5, however, there are some mistakes and inconsistencies in the powerpoint slides. But overall, great courses, and I'm so glad I decided to take it.

By Tram V

Apr 4, 2021

W4 and W5 syllabus is too much to comprehend for non-computer science people. Me personally find it difficult to link previous lessons with the next ones

By Tianhan L

May 12, 2019

I don't like the system for the final project. It took me a long time to figure out things not directly related to python.

By Ashirwad S

May 14, 2019

A few more hands-on for using IBM Watson studio efficiently would have been helpful. Still it was an amazing course.

By Gaurav D

Jun 21, 2019

The videos are good. The level of assignments can be improved.They are quite easy and straight forward.

By Vivian R

May 25, 2019

The IBM section at the end is depending on the cloud services that sometimes have connectivity issues.

By Steven S

May 27, 2019

The final assignment needs some editing. The instructions were vague and grammar needs some work.

By pooja s

Apr 2, 2021

Python basics are taught well but at the end sessions got too hard all of a sudden.

By Anushil G D

Jun 5, 2019

well structured courses and assignments the quizzes could be more challenging

By ANIRUDDHA B

May 21, 2019

Peer to Peer assignment was confusing and misleading.

By Sharath S

Nov 11, 2020

Explanations too cumbersome around APIs

By Vikash R

Feb 27, 2021

This course was of intermediate level.

By Maximilian M

Apr 9, 2021

I wanna be completely honest with this course:

To me prerequisites:

I'm a coding beginner. Had some classes in University about programming with C and Java but just learned basic concepts like what are functions.

The course first gave me some really interesting insights. The Videos are super helpful and also the first two weeks of exercises were really helpful.

But as I moved further, the exercises got super hard. At least for coding beginners. Personally from week 3 on it just felt like that they don'T really wanna teach you coding but just showing you how it's done. For example they show you how you can Webscrape or convert dictonairies to lists but you can't really code them by yourself. The most frequend command I executed was running the code already in the cells.

When you are a beginner: Try to learn python with another course or source. You will get super frustrated with this course. If you are familar with other langauges or python it will be easy I think.

By Ryan W

Mar 2, 2020

I found the premise of this course effective and the introduction to python and everything it encompasses was great. However, the section on numpy the labs didn't work, it wasn't explained why numpy is so useful in terms of matrix multiplications (am sure we will find out but even just a quick blurb / insight to link understanding), there were no case studies in the latter half which made it just information dumping. And the final section on API also didn't clearly explain why they were so useful. There was a lot that this course could have done - fingers crossed the content improves in terms of explaining larger picture too.

By Jess M

Feb 5, 2019

A lot of passive exposure to basic structures of Python , but desperately needs more practice examples and more explicit exercises using code. The instructions for the final activity make a leap several steps past what is presented in the videos and asks that you figure out how to do multiple steps of code without any actual practice coding prior to that. Says its for beginners, but does not teach for beginners. Coursera needs something between Python for Everybody, which is super slow, and something like this, that assumes you intuitively get it.

By Luis D R S

Dec 5, 2020

Although I think the material is really good, I think the content of the quizzes in the videos and the quizzes in Coursera does not prepare you enough for the Lab works in the course. Those quizzes seem too simplistic and then the jump in difficulty in the labs can be frustrating for many. I suggest that the quizzes provide a little more comprehensive detail in a way that tests your understanding but also guides you to doing better jobs at the labs

By Andres F

Feb 15, 2021

Some exercises in the Labs are definitely not for beginners, especially during week 3 and 4. The course does not give you enough resources to be able to resolve those exercises and only gives you the answer, which is rather advanced and involves knowledge from outside this course.

Apart from that, the course is fine, but that experience might be a bit disappointing for someone who is just starting with Python.

By Maria P

May 9, 2019

Weeks one to four are good. Week 5 is full of mistakes. You lose a lot of time for correcting stuff instead of actually learning them. The assignment takes double time just because of the corrections in the given instructions. The data that you have to load in order to complete the assignment are in the wrong address! More examples and coding should be included in week 5.

By Carl-Michael E

Mar 4, 2021

This course wasn't bad exactly. The videos are very good, but the tutorials are a waste of time. One doesn't practice any of the skills learnt so it isn't reinforced.

It would be FAR more effective to have it as a semi-interactive course, where you learn something, then apply it immediately.

By Sivachandra V

Mar 9, 2019

The assignment is so bad that I had to waste at least 1 hour of time just to figure out why the picture was not changing despite me saving it correctly. I restarted the machine after an hour of research and then it got resolved. THe notebook also behaves weird.

By Olivia V

Dec 3, 2020

Content is very uneven. Courses range from way too shallow to way too complicated, mistakes in the labs, quizzes questions about subjects that are part of the next chapter... A bit surprising coming from IBM.

By Brett O

Feb 18, 2021

Feel like this is beyond an intro course. A little disappointed, but some material was very helpful in learning about Python, but still thought it was at least a mid-level course.