Chevron Left
Back to Data Visualization with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Visualization with Python by IBM

4.5
stars
9,223 ratings
1,368 reviews

About the Course

"A picture is worth a thousand words". We are all familiar with this expression. It especially applies when trying to explain the insight obtained from the analysis of increasingly large datasets. Data visualization plays an essential role in the representation of both small and large-scale data. One of the key skills of a data scientist is the ability to tell a compelling story, visualizing data and findings in an approachable and stimulating way. Learning how to leverage a software tool to visualize data will also enable you to extract information, better understand the data, and make more effective decisions. The main goal of this Data Visualization with Python course is to teach you how to take data that at first glance has little meaning and present that data in a form that makes sense to people. Various techniques have been developed for presenting data visually but in this course, we will be using several data visualization libraries in Python, namely Matplotlib, Seaborn, and Folium. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

AM
Aug 13, 2020

Great course, one of the best course to get hands-on learning for Data Visualization with Python. Particularly the lap exercise, it will make you think on every line of code you write. Excellent!!!

SS
Nov 20, 2019

It's a really great course with proper hands on time and the assignments are great too. i got enough opportunity to explore the things which were taught in the course. Really Satisfied. Thanks :)

Filter by:

1301 - 1325 of 1,351 Reviews for Data Visualization with Python

By Logesh K

Mar 9, 2021

The final assignment was not straightforward. It doesn't check the visualization capabilities.

By Deepak N

Apr 19, 2019

Needs better and more elaborate explanation. It's too tough to understand and execute.Thanks!

By Thais C C M

Jul 24, 2019

Some of the questions on the final assignment questions were not covered on this course.

By Anna K

Mar 4, 2019

There was no course material teaching us how to do one of the tasks for final assignment

By Richard L

Mar 13, 2020

A lot of material is not explained verbally, videos are half-useless and repeating.

By Divya S

Jan 4, 2021

The tutorial videos needed to have more content and explanation and not the labs.

By Sumit A

Nov 30, 2019

Please have more explanation in Videos. The content is not covered enough in labs

By Nicholas A M

May 10, 2021

Solid lectures, but final project and labs had errors. Fix these problems soon.

By Armen M

Nov 26, 2019

Not Fully explained. The final agriment tasks not match with course content

By Jan D

Oct 6, 2018

No Instructors helping out. Little is learned... Not worth taking.

By Catalina M C

Mar 23, 2020

The lab stopped working and we didn't get any support.

By Mehul S

Jan 4, 2020

Questions in the peer graded are little out of scope.

By Osama H

Dec 11, 2020

need to adjust material very bad labs and tutorials

By David H

Mar 23, 2020

Poor examples / labs! Labs very often not working.

By Dylan S

Jan 5, 2021

lack of adequate instruction for some assignments

By Dony G

Feb 6, 2020

Poor study material compared to the assignment

By Joshua T

Aug 3, 2019

Need to be clearer

By Bryce M

Jan 5, 2021

not very clear

By Jayne J P

Apr 28, 2021

Coursera:

The hands-on lab portion of the Coursera course "Data Visualization with Python" cannot be accessed for more than two weeks. Several students have posted their concerns, and they have not been answered."

On accessing the Skill Network through the site and clicking I am not a robot the screen appears that says "Please wait while we prepare to start your lab environment. This shouldn't take more than a minute." The connection either times out, or posts a gateway error more than 90% of time." I have tried on several networks, browsers and computers.

Attempts to bring this to Coursera Learning Services, led to the following email exchange:

From Coursera:

Thank you for contacting us and bringing this information to my attention.

I understand how important are your Learning goals and I'm truly sorry to know about the whole situation. The good news here is that you can Rate a course or course materials.

When you rate a course or course materials, the instructor will see your feedback. You won't usually get a reply to your comments, but if the instructor wants to follow up, you'll get an email notification to the email address you use for your Coursera account.

To rate a course:

Log into coursera.org to see a list of courses you’re taking.

Find the course you want to rate.

Above the course title, select the three-dot menu and click Rate Course to open the rating window.

In the rating window, rate the class by clicking one of the five stars.

You can also write an optional review of the course, but you won't get a direct reply.

Click Submit.

To change your rating or to send more feedback, repeat the steps above.

This is the easiest way to alert IBM about this inconvenience in the platform. I hope you find this information helpful. Please feel free to let me know if you have further questions.

Kind regards,

Coursera Learner Services

My Response:

Dear Coursera Learning Services,

This is an entirely unhelpful answer. My contractual relationship is with Coursera; you should manage your vendors.

Moreover, I have directly contacted the instructor, and despite their quick response, the problem remains unresolved.

I will file the report, because I sense that Coursera has no interest in advocating for their customers. I implore to advocate for your customers with your vendor to get this resolved.

Jayne

CAN SOMEONE TAKE OWNERSHIP OF RESOLVING THIS? PLEASE!

By Penélope L L

Mar 9, 2021

This course lacks of explanations. Theory is very badly built. It was clearly the worst that I have done so far. I only learn about the "existence" of some tools or posibilities but it is imposible to understand how those works.

As I said theory clarifies nothing and as for the practice exercices would only for advanced students who already know the tools and need to practice to remember again.

The final assigment reflects the lack of foundation wich is consistent in the whole course. But the worst is that you have to do a master just to post the answers. You have to really do a collage of images, cut paste... really artistic. It takes more time posting the answers than really doing the assignement. At the end you would be graded not only for the accomplish of the final assignement but for your skill in fitting different screen shots in one image. Very sad.

Lastly, it is very disappointing to see that students have been complaining for those things since 2019 and they haven't done anything about it. That is ignominious!

By L

Jun 7, 2021

W​here to start? The staff does not answer or help with issues. In rare occasions that they do, it is to the two threats that are "recommendations" and "common syntax errors" no matter what the issue the person has. I had to prolong this course for two months due to this and still, no answers. Labs are full of errors, unclear instructions. The final peer assignment has parts that have not been clearly explained in the lectures or the labs (if you are lucky to have the labs work, My advice is to test if you can connect to localhost, if not, and you are on Windows 10 prepare for a long list of possible issues). If anyone asks me about this specialization, just based off of my experience with this course, I will recommend the Google Data Analytics spec.

By Sophie V

Dec 28, 2020

Half of what is in the final assignment is not taught in the lessons or the labs. In the forum this is what everyone is complaining about. You spend your time googling and youtubing to teach yourself when you still are paying the coursera subscription fee, I completed every video and every lab and then was surprised when the assignment asks for things that were never mentioned. When this is brought up in the forum the staff just reply saying you should do your own learning. VERY DISAPPOINTING . Some content was good but not very in depth so it was then unfair to have a final assignment that was in depth.

By Matthew W

Dec 29, 2020

This module stands out from the others in the learning track as repetitive, poorly structured from a testing and assessment perspective and light on applicable content. For example, rather than giving a link to why pie charts should never be used, perhaps take some time to cover the main points. You could use some of the time that was spent cleaning the same data set in every video.

The final assessment was poorly-described and a number of discussions seem to centre around question 3 and its format in the question vs the answer.

I've enjoyed the course, but not this module.

By Eleanor S

Apr 11, 2021

This is single-handedly the WORST of the courses I have completed on Coursera. The final assignment is FULL of bugs and the staff are completely unhelpful in responding to MULTIPLE complaints about the bugs. You will not be able to complete this course if you sign up to it because of this. A total waste of time and money.

By Luca R

Apr 27, 2021

Nice contenent and lectures, however to do the final assignment and weekly lab the biggest problem was to make the environment work. I solved by using google colab installing packages. I think that the lab have to perfectly work on Watson, otherwise you do not understand if you are wrong or the environment is