Chevron Left
Back to Using Python to Access Web Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Python to Access Web Data by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
42,401 ratings

About the Course

This course will show how one can treat the Internet as a source of data. We will scrape, parse, and read web data as well as access data using web APIs. We will work with HTML, XML, and JSON data formats in Python. This course will cover Chapters 11-13 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-10 of the textbook and the first two courses in this specialization. These topics include variables and expressions, conditional execution (loops, branching, and try/except), functions, Python data structures (strings, lists, dictionaries, and tuples), and manipulating files. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality content

(256 Reviews)

Practical assignments

(217 Reviews)

Top reviews

SM

Jun 18, 2020

This course was really interesting and did a good job introducing complicated topics in usefully simplified form. It was a pleasure to listen to the instructor and I got everything I wanted out of it.

AB

Jun 6, 2019

Getting a bit more challenging than the earlier courses in the specialization. The exercises require more struggle, but all the information is there. Another step along the way. Thank you, Dr. Chuck!

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 7,629 Reviews for Using Python to Access Web Data

By Micah B

Nov 23, 2015

Course is thoughtfully put together. The assigned work is sufficiently hard for a class at this level, and the teacher provides great resources to review the class material.

By JUAN D H N

Aug 24, 2020

Very complete. I am taking advantage of my time during quarantine and before I hadn't had any contact with code. It has been a great experience I hope to continue learning.

By MAYURESH M M

May 11, 2020

this was a level up. I learned a lot of new things in this course. and the most fascinating thing was that we were able to retrieve data from the web . I loved this course.

By Victor H M R

May 7, 2020

Amazing course. This is really incredible. It really opens up a whole new world to access data along the Internet and how to process and extract information from this data.

By Weijian X

Apr 12, 2019

Of course worth to attend this fantastic course!

you can learn many basic but essential orders and codes in a quite comprehensive way from Dr. churk and it is really funny!!

By Carlos R

Mar 8, 2016

This is a course where you will understand all about web, servers, web services, json, xml and other internet protocols and how to use Python to interact with these topics.

By Abir M

Oct 16, 2021

This course is really good. One will not get access to the advanced materials in this course but it will sure create a foundation in you and guide you to learn the basics.

By Jeff B

Nov 27, 2020

Great course. nice challenges to move me forward in my exploration of python. I learned html in mid-90s for a course and it was nice to see where things have progressed.

By Alireza M

Aug 3, 2020

I'm totally satisfied with enrolling in this course. Thank you, Coursera for giving me the chance to use the materials and everything. You are changing my future for sure.

By Xinjue Z

Jun 15, 2020

It is my first time to learn web protocols and how to access web data using python. It is a little bit challenging at the beginning while it is fun to learn something new.

By Luis M S F

Dec 26, 2019

Itook this course as part of the Python for Everybody Specialization in Coursera, this is what I considered is the first encounter with the use of Python in the Real World

By Douglas K

May 19, 2018

Great lessons on how to access web data using python. I really like the way Dr Chuck enjoys and makes learning fun in particularly the singing with a band in Switzerland.

By Angel D V L

Jul 20, 2017

El curso es pedagógico, flexible y eficaz . Lo recomiendo , me parecio muy bueno.

The course is pedagogical, flexible and effective. I recommend it, I found it very good.

By Nestor R

Jan 13, 2016

Another course taught by Dr. Chuck, maintaining same levels of quality and excellence as other courses. Recommended to get a better understanding of Python's capabilities.

By Dung B

Feb 24, 2021

This course further expand on the previous P4e course. It touched on the basic web data structure.

By completing this course you are able to build some basic web scrapper.

By Orestis G

Dec 1, 2020

Excellent course from a talented teacher. Very useful material given, exercises and quizzes are on point aiming at getting you to understand the topic and practice on it.

By SUMIT S

Sep 4, 2020

great course for beginners, highly explanatory and easy to follow. Feel the course can be bit more detailed helping professionals get greater deal of technical knowledge.

By AYUSH S

Jun 14, 2020

Love this course...It was a grat time spending in learning this course...I really enjoyed completing the assignments and quizzes........overall best experience I ever had

By Mykhailo K

Feb 21, 2020

Great course

Great instructor, and funny professional, who explains all basic thing according to the course theme. Excellent course for beginners to learn Python language.

By Adam R

Jun 2, 2018

Great class/specialization. A month ago I didn't know anything about programming and now I'm web scraping with python and can see a path towards actually coding for once.

By Roald M J R

Apr 9, 2018

I am a newbie in programming but through Professor Charles Severanz. I learned things that i didnt know such as XML parsing, JSON. how to extract data from the web itself

By Abhishek N

Jan 24, 2017

A really good course introducing us to how data is shared all across the globe and how to extract the same from the web. Very interactive and good assignment and quizzes.

By Krishna K

Aug 11, 2016

Really awesome course to know how to access web data using python. I love this materials because those materials are excellent, excellent teaching style perfect examples.

By Dagoret S

Jan 30, 2016

I am a daily user of the web. I ignored how its works. Now I understand its principle. Python is a good support to understand.

Again this course was very very interesting.

By MARIO C R

Apr 22, 2021

Excelente curso. Aconsejable para aquellos que desean entender como se transmite la información a través de internet, como viene ordenarla y cómo leerla mediante Python