Chevron Left
Back to Python Programming Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Programming Essentials by Rice University

4.8
stars
3,074 ratings
763 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the wonderful world of Python programming! We'll learn about the essential elements of programming and how to construct basic Python programs. We will cover expressions, variables, functions, logic, and conditionals, which are foundational concepts in computer programming. We will also teach you how to use Python modules, which enable you to benefit from the vast array of functionality that is already a part of the Python language. These concepts and skills will help you to begin to think like a computer programmer and to understand how to go about writing Python programs. By the end of the course, you will be able to write short Python programs that are able to accomplish real, practical tasks. This course is the foundation for building expertise in Python programming. As the first course in a specialization, it provides the necessary building blocks for you to succeed at learning to write more complex Python programs. This course uses Python 3. While many Python programs continue to use Python 2, Python 3 is the future of the Python programming language. This first course will use a Python 3 version of the CodeSkulptor development environment, which is specifically designed to help beginning programmers learn quickly. CodeSkulptor runs within any modern web browser and does not require you to install any software, allowing you to start writing and running small programs immediately. In the later courses in this specialization, we will help you to move to more sophisticated desktop development environments....

Top reviews

RS
Apr 27, 2021

A really good course good material and lectures. However, I find that sometimes that too much guidance given, and it has sort of made the course less challanging. nevertheless a good foundation course

HR
Jul 3, 2020

This course is such a wonder!! In spite of being an unenthusiastic Computer Science undergraduate, it was this course that cultivated the interest in me. Both the instructors were too good. Thanks :0

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 763 Reviews for Python Programming Essentials

By Nimesh S

Jun 24, 2020

Too much stress at times on coding style and presentation of code which can be repellant for many beginners.

By SUBHAM P

Apr 8, 2020

It was a great experience. I Learnt many new things and more importantly learnt how to apply my learnings.

By Mary A H

Jun 25, 2018

A bit too easy, but a good very basic introduction to Python. Took as part of the 4-part specialization.

By Laurence A G L

Jun 20, 2020

I did was expecting for-loops and while-loops but since this is only a 4-week course, I guess it is OK.

By Durgesh t

Jun 3, 2020

good guidance provided my the professor during the lecture due to this I can most do most of problem

By Kamal K N

Apr 12, 2020

coursera is a very good platform for students like me to learn in free time. thanks to corsera

By Easton G

Mar 15, 2018

Enjoyed the lectures and practice exercises. Looking forward to tackle more advanced concepts.

By Abhishek

Jan 17, 2018

Great introductory course. All noobs who want to learn python should definitely try this.

By SIMRAN S

Oct 21, 2020

this is very helpful course .I have learnt a lot about python by this course .

thank you

By RAJESH K

Jul 15, 2020

Excellent explanation and project work. I recommend this course for python beginners.

By Anis Z

May 27, 2020

I want to express my satisifaction and gratitude to the instructors of this course

By Sourav B

Sep 26, 2020

I found out that python is surprisingly easy and I should've learnt it before.

By Shahrin Z M Y

Mar 26, 2020

Good intro course for python. Test is much harder than the lecture and notes.

By Nguyen M D

Feb 12, 2020

Very good !!! I like joe warren from Rice University. Perfect for beginning

By Pratyush A

Aug 29, 2020

Good course. Final quiz is a little tough as compared to what they taught.

By Ashish K

May 26, 2021

Good course, makes the content easily understandable. Good for begineers.

By ANKITA D

May 15, 2020

It's been nice experience with Coursera in python programming essentials.

By Mohamed A Y

Aug 8, 2018

Great course to take for beginners who would like to learn python, thanks

By Gustauo G

Sep 25, 2019

Very useful specially the last week in order to use imported libraries

By Anshika A

Apr 16, 2020

Some links are old, but this is a course with a nice explanation!

By Thirumalai K

Dec 5, 2020

Good learned a lot about how to explore the things by myself

By chandan s

Sep 2, 2020

great experience learning python. Recommended for beginners.

By Ishaan T

Jun 10, 2020

please provide reading material with more and more examples.

By MINGYANG Z

Jul 16, 2020

Good course, but CodeSkulptor is sometimes not satisfying

By Mark A

Mar 26, 2020

Very clear to follow and great amount of tips + guidance!