Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
1,978 ratings
380 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

BK

Jun 26, 2018

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 372 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Lucas S R

Feb 08, 2019

The course presented a good content for beginners in NLP and I feel confident to start using what I learned in my work. But, the grader for the assignments is too slow and buggy, this should be fixed so new learners don't feel frustrated. In addition, for assignment 4, the lda trainning parameters are not viable for trainning in coursera's environment, it should be reviewed.

By CaitlinYao

Feb 17, 2019

The assignments are much harder than the slides, which means much more self-learning is required.

By Roberto L L

Mar 01, 2019

This an excellent course to open a door for NLP, an exciting topic.

By Muhammad S J

Mar 08, 2019

Overall course is very usefull for me. But there is lot of detail is missing in week 4. Wordnet and Gensim usage, Detail about the LDA and semantic similarity. I hope next time there is separate video lecture for detailed about Semantic simalarity.

By Alexander G

Jan 13, 2019

It would help to connect the teaching better to the assignments. Especially in Week 4 there is to little connection. There is not even a course notebook to practice some of the material.

By Rahila T

Nov 15, 2018

Good

By Utkarsh T

Dec 18, 2018

NA

By Michael M

Mar 22, 2019

Great course. Auto graders have some issues.

By Frank L

Oct 14, 2017

Was very detailed and well taught

By Patrick L

May 26, 2018

Great course, didn't expect to get so much value out of it. Sometimes the instructions in the assignments are unlear though.

By Aleksey B

Mar 08, 2018

Some assignments were very ambigues - namely part One of final assignment.

By Nicolas B

Aug 26, 2017

Great course, could improve the last week with more practical examples.

By Christos G

Aug 22, 2017

This was a very well thought and assembled set of Text Mining applications in Python. The complexity and profoundness of the topic somehow prohibited the instructors from sufficiently explaining the details in some occasions, which might eventually cause frustration with the students. However, perhaps this wide-first approach versus the deep dive is preferable for the purpose of the course. In all cases, Google and Stackoverflow will always remain as last resorts and supporting information sources.

By Sebastian H

Mar 18, 2018

The course is quite interesting and you learn the basic concepts and tools.

The programming assignments were sometimes unclear in the formulation of the tasks. Additionally the autograder seems to be a bi buggy, which was very frustrating and cost me a lot of time.

But, thanks to the vivid and helpful discussion forum in the end it is feasible.

And since you learn the most out of all this little hurdles ;) , the course is still very valuable!

By Fedor K

Nov 16, 2017

G

By cheting c

Jun 22, 2018

Overall good class but the assignment design is somehow bad. Should give some hint otherwise we do not know if we get a wrong answer or the autogarder is not working.

By Saber D

Jan 17, 2018

Very useful course to text mining.

By Aditya R

Oct 05, 2017

Good Course

By Kunal c

Aug 10, 2017

There were certain issues with the autograder. But the course content was good

By Jeremy L

Oct 26, 2017

The course itself is good, but the assigment system is not robust and some sentences are also ambiguous to users. Seeing from the forums, many users get confused in the assigments.

By Dongliang Z

Jan 13, 2018

wk1-wk3 are good. w4 is a little weak to build the connection between texting mining and coding. Moreover, it will be more straightforward if the lecturer teaches more about the procedure to deal with text mining. I just passed this course but don't master text mining technique through it.

It is still a good introduction to texting mining, a very beginning of it.

My suggestion is that wk4 should be reconstructed to make people really believe they can use what they learn in this course after they pass the assignments.

Finally, thanks the lecturers for introduction. Especially thanks all students who contribute a lot in forum. Without them, I cannot pass the assignments.

By Vinicius G

Dec 26, 2017

I did not give 5 starts because Assignment 4 was really hard. It required too much knowledge from outside. The week 4 modules poorly prepared me for assignment 4.

By Anad K

Jun 17, 2018

Content-wise course is okey. But all the students faced issues during the assignment submissions because of the auto grader.

By Чижов В Б

Dec 18, 2017

It is interesting, cognitive and very useful. But, there were very few answers from the teaching staff in the discussions at the forum. In previous courses of this and other specializations, the teaching staff took an active part in the forum and this greatly helped in understanding and fulfilling the tasks of the course.

By Mykhailo L

Jan 03, 2018

Good intro course on NLP