Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
1,978 ratings
380 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

GK

May 04, 2019

Lectures are very good with a perfect explanation. More than lectures I liked the assignment questions. They are worth doing. You will get to know the basic foundation of text mining. :-)

BK

Jun 26, 2018

Would love to see these courses have more practice questions in each weeks lesson. Would be helpful for repetition sake, and learning vs only doing each question once in the assignments.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 372 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Christian L

Jul 25, 2019

Good course. Most part of the learning comes from personal work on the assignments (time vastly underestimated)

By TEJASWI S

Aug 01, 2019

Good course to take although I felt the course could have been better in terms of practice. But overall, would recommend to others if they wish to pursue data analysis.

By Aswath M

Aug 02, 2019

Excellent course for someone like me who is ambitious and aspires to gain knowledge on new things. The videos can be made bit more elaborate, seems to be rushing towards the end.

By Daniel J

Aug 07, 2019

It is quite a dense topic, however the instructor manages to make it much simpler.

By Manuela D

Aug 08, 2019

Well thought, very basic level, but a good starting point.

By Ahmad H S

Aug 14, 2019

the course is good, but more practices is required

By Eric G

Aug 20, 2019

The autograder sucks!

By Alireza F

Sep 16, 2019

I believe that assignments are away harder than the material of the course. The instructor should more get involved in the codes when he teaches.

By Yeifer R C

Nov 25, 2018

Is difficult, but good.

By Maha Y

Jan 14, 2019

Need to show the slides for longer in the videos. But good learning experience.

By Avi A

Jan 17, 2019

Great instructor, but the assignments are a big jump from the course notebooks in terms of difficulty. I also faced numerous issues with the autograder. In the last module, there were wrong pieces of code in the notebook and module (like ROC score being calculated from model.predict() instead of model.predict_proba()).

By Daissy D M R

Feb 19, 2019

Good topics and well explanations. A Notebook to support content of week 4 is definitely needed. More explanations in assignment for week 4 is needed. In general, week 4 lacks of organization and good content. that is why I give 3 stars instead of 5

By Mateusz M

Feb 06, 2019

Some of the topics where elaborated very briefly. There was not enough practical examples and instructor was no clear in what he was saying.

By CMC

Feb 11, 2019

I will not say that I did not learn anything. I just wish the autograder was a little better. Basically, quite frustrating to fight a black-box grader. An example of a better autograder is the one implemented by the Princeton people for their algorithm courses.

By Greg S

Apr 13, 2019

I found this course to be a good introduction to NLP. The lectures where fine as such, but lacked in technical focus making it difficult to tie them to the homework. I expect this is the style of the professor. The homework problems where good, but you do need to work to put it together with the lectures.

By Josh C

Mar 14, 2019

The contents are good, but the online autograding system really need to be improved.

By Kartikey S

Jan 05, 2019

Some topics are hastily explained and maybe more content was needed in this course.

By SeyedAlireza K

Dec 23, 2018

I learned some useful stuff in this course but I think it could be a little more deeper and teaching more behind theorems especially for week 4.

By Stephane C

Dec 09, 2018

Week3 and 4. Too much of strange bugs with the auto grader. Not enougth examples...

By Vishal S

Jul 16, 2018

Lectures are good but the assignment of week1 and week 4 is a little bit absurd and unclarified. Autograder is too slow.

By Imran A G

Sep 24, 2018

Good for basic understanding only

By Eric S

Sep 27, 2018

Most assigmets were not in the notes. Still everyhting seems really usefull.

By Raivis J

Aug 11, 2018

Graded assignments need more grounding in practically applicable situations.

By 陆恩哲

Aug 30, 2018

I don't think the lecture is very clear. Although I have finished the homework, I still feel a little confused about the concepts.

By Vasilis S

Sep 01, 2018

Poor ability from lecturer to explain key concepts.