Chevron Left
Back to Applied Text Mining in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Text Mining in Python by University of Michigan

4.2
stars
3,503 ratings
676 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to text mining and text manipulation basics. The course begins with an understanding of how text is handled by python, the structure of text both to the machine and to humans, and an overview of the nltk framework for manipulating text. The second week focuses on common manipulation needs, including regular expressions (searching for text), cleaning text, and preparing text for use by machine learning processes. The third week will apply basic natural language processing methods to text, and demonstrate how text classification is accomplished. The final week will explore more advanced methods for detecting the topics in documents and grouping them by similarity (topic modelling). This course should be taken after: Introduction to Data Science in Python, Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, and Applied Machine Learning in Python....

Top reviews

CC
Aug 26, 2017

Quite challenging but also quite a sense of accomplishment when you finish the course. I learned a lot and think this was the course I preferred of the entire specialization. I highly recommend it!

JR
Dec 4, 2020

Excellent course to get started with text mining and NLP with Python. The course goes over the most essential elements involved with dealing with free text. Definitely worth the time I spent on it.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 667 Reviews for Applied Text Mining in Python

By Jeremy R

Dec 5, 2020

Excellent course to get started with text mining and NLP with Python. The course goes over the most essential elements involved with dealing with free text. Definitely worth the time I spent on it.

By Tony K

Jun 23, 2020

Everything was awesome, assignment 2 was my favorite in a long while in this specialization series. Week 4 was a little weak, and felt rushed. Overall, I enjoyed this course 4 of the 5.

By Maxwell S d C

May 26, 2020

The course is great, but I would suggest some contact with the issues and problems faced. Some parts of the exercises are advanced for those who have never had contact with the subject.

By Diego F G L

Mar 15, 2021

La variedad de temas del curso lo hace un curso muy recomendable. El nivel de las tareas está de acuerdo a lo que se enseña. Muy recomendado como un primer acercamiento al tema.

By Punam P

Apr 20, 2020

Nice experience..Thanks to Resp.Professor for clear the concepts so deeply and enhancing the knowledge in right path..Niceever and helpful course..Thanks to team & university..

By Manuel A

Sep 8, 2018

Just enough theory and an comprehensive guide through regex, nltk and some features from gensim (LDA). Assignmets are very challenging and some nice utilities are developed.

By Fernando M

Aug 15, 2020

It was a great course, I am really enjoying this specializtion. Even it is a great course, I think the previous in the specialization were better, maybe i like them more.

By Sonu C

Jul 5, 2018

Great course, very well balanced pace of learning. Adds good amount of working knowledge with NLP tools; definitely not covers everything but more than what I expected.

By Chung-Han L

May 23, 2020

I like this course, even though it adopts auto-grader instead of peer-grading. It requires more accurate of your code and more skill of programming, but it is worthy.

By Yufan L

Aug 1, 2019

A lot of self-learning. The assignment is challenging, but well designed! The forum is the key to understand the Computer science writing style in the assignment :)

By Sarah H H

May 20, 2019

Loved this course. the pacing, the instruction. it flowed and I felt i could execute what I learned without too much head scratching due 'missing leaps of info'.

By Andrii T

Aug 7, 2020

Just the right proportion of theory and practice. This course isn't enough to even study basics of text mining, but it has relevant materials to start from.

By Ayanabha G

Jun 12, 2020

Feeling very proud of you Vinod sir ! I am from India and your this beautiful Indian accent and relatable examples helped me to understand things easily :)

By Ari W R

Sep 1, 2020

This is so clearly information about text mining. I get more information from this course. I hope can implemented this knowledge for the real world cases.

By David K

Jan 17, 2020

An interesting topic that takes text mining to a new level, it was really insightful to understand how these tools can be applied to the real world.

By Sayed S S

Apr 21, 2020

An amazing course.I love how even the basics are covered and its transition to the difficult topics. An amazing explanation with a very right pace.

By Ritesh S

Jun 9, 2020

It was an excellent course to get insights of python concepts with text mining and to learn much more new advance things in python. Thanks A lot.

By RAMAN K S

Jun 16, 2020

Course was really good and the the way mentor was teaching us the concept was really good. For me the best course so far in this specialization.

By Aya

Dec 17, 2018

This instructor was great! His slides and explanations were much easier to follow than the other course instructors in the specialization.

By Vladimir

Dec 5, 2017

Highly recommended course about text mining and modelling for Computer Scientists! Great and challenging assignments to grasp the skills!

By Gerardo M C

Nov 11, 2017

Nice and interesting course. This course opens a lot of possibilities to processing information data and bibliometric studies.

By kaushal

May 25, 2019

it's great course to learn text mining in python , you will find many good examples which are related to real worlds problems

By Evgeny C

May 29, 2020

Good course overall, reasonable assignments, interesting material, but wish topics of week 4 were explored in greater depth.

By Hassan S

Apr 24, 2020

less practical, few notebooks in learning phase, it would be better if they were more python notebooks during learning phase

By Sudheer a

Sep 20, 2020

Course videos are great. nice explanation of such complicated topics. Assignments in the beginning 2 weeks can be improved.