Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
172,515 ratings
41,260 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)

Top reviews

TM
Jun 20, 2017

first time i had done any course online and this was a wonderful experience\n\nI learned all the stuff and the explanation provided was good.\n\ni would like to do more courses from here\n\nthank you!

KK
Jun 26, 2020

Great introduction to Python and programming as a whole. Everything is broken down making it easy to understand. Had zero programming experience before and this class made it easy and fun to get into.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 10,000 Reviews for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

By Григорьев С Н

Aug 27, 2020

Хороший курс, чтобы начать знакомство с "питоном". Харизматичный преподаватель подают информацию в достаточно доступной форме, не обременяя лишней информацией. В д/з имеются, как онлайн тесты, так и решение задач по программированию. Задач могло бы быть и побольше, но для САМОГО начал этого вполне достаточно. К относительному недостатку можно отнести язык курса: требуется знание английского на среднем уровне, т.к. русские субтитры имеются не во всех видеороликах.

By Karthik C

Jun 18, 2020

This course has helped in learing the subject that i was interested with ease and

Dr. Chuk's way of approaching and interacting with students is really great. And the way he explians every topic, spoon feeds us with best examples and also, interacting with students from around the world, And interviewing the greatest personalities and letting us know the importance of programming and also python. And still more courses to learn from this platform in less time..!

By Christopher T

Nov 11, 2017

This was an excellent course. It's easy to understand and all the tools are provided by Dr. Chuck and his excellent staff of TAs and mentors. I like Dr. Chuck's style of teaching, and his belief that everyone should learn to code in a computer language in our modern world is a worthy goal. I highly recommend this course both to experienced programmers who want to learn Python and to novices who want to learn programming (though it's better suited for the latter).

By Libin P

Jul 23, 2020

Thank you sir i am first time i had done any course online and this was a wonderful experience .Very good introduction to basic programming. Very easy for beginners in python who have already some programming background - but still extremely useful to quickly and efficiently learn python basics. Dr. Chuck has a special ability to teach programming to people who doesn't necessarily have programming background and very very thanks for Dr. Chuck for your efforts..

By Olivier H

Feb 28, 2020

I wrote zillions of lines of Fortran 30 years ago, did a bit of C++ 20 years ago just to understand what object programming was, and... that's it. So at the same time it was very basic for an experienced programmer but excellent pedagogy and ideal to get your environment installed and have a hand on the basic syntax. Some of the ways notions are introduced are excellent and I would have loved to have a similar course on Fortran when I started. Congratulations...

By Md J A

Feb 26, 2017

One of the best programming courses to get started. Python should be the #1 choice for anyone who's willing to kick start their journey to programming. Plus, Dr. Chuck is an amazing instructor. He takes his time to explain the material well. The lectures are easy to follow but the assignments might seem a bit challenging some times. However, the assignments are not impossible and if you try you'll definitely will be able to do it. I highly recommend this course.

By Chinton C

Jul 13, 2020

This is probably one of the best(if not the best) course I have come across in Coursera on Python. The instructor, Mr. Charles is definitely an expert, not only in Python as a computing language, but also in the art of teaching. I have always looked forward to the next tutorial every time, and now i can't begin to start the next course under this specialization. In case if anybody is looking to learn Python, this is definitely the course/specialization to take.

By Kit F

Jun 27, 2020

This was a great course! I don't know where else you can learn to program; seemingly other programming courses assume that you already know another programming language. This course takes you from knowing nothing to knowing the basics and prepares you for learning more about Python.

It was an enjoyable experience, Prof Severance is very relaxed and uses ordinary language.

I bought his book, which I believe can also be downloaded for free, which was helpful.

By Kazi F T

May 29, 2020

I just love Mr.Chuck <3 I've tried many online videos about programming. Among them, only this instructor could get all my attention. He is friendly, modest and he tries to teach in fun ways. You won't get bored with the lessons as he explains everything in much easier ways. I would recommend everyone, specially those who do not have any programming experience but want to learn, too afraid to take a leap in this amazing world of coding, should take this course.

By Adam E

Jun 30, 2020

I took a Introduction to Python course with Learning Tree that cost $2,500 and took Python for Everybody with Coursera an absorbed and learned much more with Coursera. I have absolutely no programming experience and I was able to pick up the language well by reading all assignment and completing all practice exercises. I also toyed around with the code on my own with my own programs and learned to enjoy it. I am taking the entire specialization now. Good luck.

By Brett S

Sep 2, 2018

I was encouraged to take this course as an introduction to the world of programming. I am a novice programmer who has no formal training. This course was both fun and engaging. While challenging at times, generally any feedback I needed had already been discussed on the discussion boards. A simple search for the error you encounter should help you to independently debug your script and develop the flow of execution described in the prompt for each assignment.

By Mayank J

Aug 4, 2020

The very first thing that i must say is that the professor Charles is exceptionally well..i could not understand the programming concepts with so much ease before this..the teaching style is great and the slides give every key information about what is being taught so you can capture screenshots and make notes with help of it..and the assignments help you to practice what you've learned...so overall a great course!

Thank you Coursera.

Thanku Professor Charles.

By Navneet K

Mar 18, 2020

Full marks to the instructor Dr. Chuck. The course was very well designed and the way Dr. chuck communicated and gave examples, it all made great logic and instilled confidence in me. Not to forget, I have been a very bad programmer since school and did not have much knowledge and confidence before this course. But now I feel much comfortable in learning further and other programming languages as well. Thank you so much Coursera and Dr. Chuck for the course.

By Yusra W

Jul 7, 2020

A good introduction to programming with Python. The instructor Dr. Chuck has a special ability to teach programming to people who do not have a programming background. This course is a very great start-up for beginners. Everything is broken down into parts making it easy to understand. Whoever had no programming experience this course help him/her to understand this language.

Thank you, Sir Charles, for making this python course interesting and informative.

By Uma M

Jun 25, 2020

This course is pretty awesome! Chuck sir's explanation is super cool, anybody can master this course ,if anybody teach's like Chuck sir. And this is my first ever online course . I've loved the course each and every topic is explained so clearly and i have done programming without any hesitation like "my code is not going to work". I am super excited to look forward for the continuation of this specialization and many other courses too. Thank you coursera !

By Anastassios K

Dec 28, 2018

The way professor Severance teaches and transits the subject is exceptional and makes the course too easy for anyone who wants to learn.

The course itself, for a complete naive like me, had very good pace and at the end I found it very easy.

By reading the accompanied book you have more details and it’s essential to read it also and solve the exercises and not just see the videos in Coursera.

It was a very good first step for me in the Python language. Thanks!

By Dhruv G

Oct 6, 2019

This is a great course. The teacher not only knows his material, but has a lot of experience working with first time programmers and so knows what errors they are likely to make and what questions they are likely to ask and addresses them all. He is fun to listen to, unlike some moocs I have taken where the teachers were reading and got the intonation all wrong--very distracting. This one wasn't like that by far. He was interesting and even funny at times.

By Omatsola C D I

Sep 19, 2019

During the first assignment, I was taken aback by being given something to solve that was a bit more advanced than what had been learned up to that point, but this was great, because it gave me time to try a couple of things, to see what works, and what doesn't. Felt a bit sad when I struggled, but when I finally succeeded I felt great, and confident in solving related problems. It is really great to learn by making mistakes and trying to figure stuff out.

By David A M

Mar 31, 2018

This class was very well done. I really enjoyed Dr. Chuck's explanations and the way the class flowed. I do wish it covered a bit more at a slightly accelerated rate. However, this may be because I'm used to the usual college class intensity. With that said, I don't have any complaints. I feel like I learned a lot of useful information . I believe this class has laid a good foundation for what is to come. I would strongly recommend this class to others.

By Aditya K

Oct 8, 2017

This course offers a good exposure to the fundamentals of Python for the non-programmers.

The instructor is engaging and delivers the material in a crisp manner.

The only part of the course that can be improved is the length of lectures.

Many lectures are longer than 6 mins and most cross the 10 min barrier. They can be broken down into smaller lectures , but the engaging presentation by the instructor ensures that no boredom seeps in at any point in time.

By Brandon B

Jan 10, 2016

Great course for new and experienced programmers alike looking to add Python to their toolbelt. If you're a self-taught programmer, the course can provides you with some basic vocabulary about programming idioms that you may not have had the words for previously. The professor was also quite charming, frequently using humour to lighten the subject matter. I do recommend this course for people that are either new to programming or programming with Python.

By Suraj M

May 22, 2020

Hi this is Suraj,

It was a great experience learning python. I really loved the way the quiz were designed and also the course went on smoothly. Not everything was told in the video so I had to google things out to complete the assignments. Like how do I print all numbers in one single line while using a loop, and also how do I print something without giving a space. These basic things I feel were left on purpose to push the student to explore and learn.

By Jose I J

Jan 1, 2018

Great course! I had 11 years with no programming activities, I was a developer for Delphy & PowerBuilder 11 years back but Python seems to be quite interesting to learn out. This course is great for people that have little experience on programming languages, but it was great for me as 11 years is a lot time, now I want to learn web / digital programming languages and I'll continue studying other Python courses in coursera for sure!!!!. Thanks a million

By Joanne P D

Oct 20, 2020

Short but a very suitable Introduction for those who have no prior knowledge in Python. The instructor is excellent at explaining everything. The slides are creative. I like how the colors match the code and their corresponding definitions. The exercises are also fun to do. Honestly, there is no pressure of memorizing stuff, I could just simply look through my notes and play with the details something that is not typically done in a university setting.

By Aurimas N

Sep 26, 2020

I've had some prior experience with Python 2 before yet this course was far from boring and reminded of some functions which I have never internalised before such as try/except or continue or break the loop. Dr Chuck has been fun to watch yet they managed to achieve outstanding clarity above all. Lastly, the additional resources like the interviews with Guido van Rossum were extremely interesting and making me want to learn Python even more. Thank you!