Chevron Left
Back to Leading Healthcare Quality and Safety

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leading Healthcare Quality and Safety by The George Washington University

4.7
stars
772 ratings
230 reviews

About the Course

Ensuring patient safety and healthcare quality is critical and should be a key focus of everyone in healthcare practice. This course provides healthcare practitioners and others with an introduction to the knowledge and skills needed to lead patient safety and quality improvement initiatives at the micro and macro levels. Participants will explore the foundations of health care quality and the science underlying patient safety and quality improvement, design and select effective health care measures, analyze patient safety problems and processes using tools such as human factors analysis, apply systematic approaches including the Plan-Do-Study-Act (PDSA) model to address quality improvement challenges, and learn strategies to lead a culture of change. The course takes a world view of patient safety and quality, linking participants to research and resources from the World Health Organization (WHO), the US Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), the Joint Commission and other international organizations. Course highlights include personal stories, lessons learned from other industries and interviews with the President of the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) and other leaders in quality movement. About The George Washington University School of Nursing Ranked among the top nursing schools by U.S. News & World Report, the George Washington University School of Nursing educates and inspires nurses to provide high-quality, compassionate person-centered health care. The school develops leaders actively engaged in health promotion, patient advocacy and healthcare innovation, and prepares exceptional nurse educators who pursue quality and advance the profession. The School of Nursing is committed to improving the health and wellbeing of people and communities locally, nationally and globally. The school values lifelong learning and its students advance nursing practice, leadership and education as they make a difference in the world....

Top reviews

ZA
Jul 14, 2020

thank you so much for the course . It was very informative and interesting. My only comment is that I was hoping to see more application examples to be able to comprehend the theories introduced.

AT
Mar 21, 2021

Excellent online course and thank you for the excellent speakers. I really learned a lot throughout this course. Which I will take with me and apply on our unit to improve our quality and safety.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 228 Reviews for Leading Healthcare Quality and Safety

By Ujjwal P S

Jun 15, 2020

Really feel proud be a part of such an enlightening course, didn't expect to gain so much initially but it's commendable to see how instructors framed the much less discussed topic in simplest way possible. It holds importance especially for someone like me coming from a region where we lack this culture of quality and safety, and a setting where accountability is questioned. Thanks a lot !!

By Kathy V

Jul 26, 2020

This course attended to my needs to have a comprehensive overview of the process of developing a quality health care environment where I work. It accomplished that task and spurred further studies, purchasing books and pursuing other courses that will provide more detail an knowledge necessary to apply the concepts and ideas successfully.

Thank you! GWU and Coursera!

By Dr D A S

Jun 16, 2020

It was wonderful learning experience. It started from science of safety to leadership in the healthcare. Concepts of Just Culture, Culture of Safety and Quality, Leadership in Healthcare, Change Models, PDSA Model and other tool and processes for Quality Improvements are excellently explained by the instructors. Glad that i chose this course.

By kyawnay z

Jul 27, 2020

The course is very informative and useful. Nowadays, changes are inevitable. How to manage a change successfully is thoroughly learned. The role of leadership lies in all level of staff. It is worth learning course absolutely.

By Lucas d R S R

Jul 28, 2020

O conteúdo do curso é interessante, mas introdutório. Os professores falam bem, mas as aulas não são tão didáticas em explicar os conceitos. Contudo, é uma boa pedida para se iniciar nesse mundo da qualidade!

By Bobichen K

Jun 14, 2020

This course gave me confidence and knowledge to apply the same in the healthcare system to improve the quality and safety of the patient as well as to the growth of an organization to achieve its goals.

By Joanne Y S Y

Jul 15, 2020

So much to digest, thanks for the hardwork in summarising a good content that would requires much of additional readings and understanding too. But the main essence are all addressed.

By Angela S

Nov 17, 2020

Thank you for this program. Both instructors were very engaging and offered a wealth of information. I gave it 4 stars only because some links in the required reading had expired.

By Aruzhan O

May 21, 2020

Firstly, I would like to thank you for the course. My suggestion is to ask lecturers not to read from the slide because it distracts students and makes them less involved.

By Daphne M

Dec 9, 2020

very insightful but the quizzes were hard to be reflected on since there is no feedback was given except week 1 quiz.

By sedef s ü

Sep 12, 2020

Although I am at the beginning of the road, I learned more or less about the health system quality. Thank you.

By Rukmani N S

Jan 25, 2021

I would recommend this course also as a suggestion they should include current publications and videos.

By Phyo P Z

Nov 11, 2020

Very effective course for those who have high interest in Healthcare Quality and Safety improvement.

By Shaymaa S A

Jun 19, 2020

It is very good for any one to pave the way for quality, and know the structure of quality.

By tushant s

May 9, 2020

A good course to have in depth knowledge of quality and safety required in healthcare.

By Kyaw Z m

Jul 22, 2020

very useful and informative course for the learnaer in Healthcare quality and safety

By Dr. A k

Oct 27, 2020

Excellent course very informative and well organized

By VIJAYAKUMAR

Nov 21, 2020

creates eager to learn more and more in health care

By Nicole D

Feb 7, 2021

Very helpful thank you

By �ADITI P

Jul 5, 2020

i love this course

By DANNY G H D

Apr 1, 2020

very useful course

By Suresh D

Apr 29, 2020

Excellent

By Francois O

May 14, 2020

Plus: Complete overlooking, Good introduction to useful concepts, Emphasis on culture, not just QI techniques

Minus: Supportive resources not suited (e.g. lean manufacturing), time to dedicate to supportive resources largely underestimated, many typos (poor quality control!), even in the quizzes (e.g. question 7 in module 5)

By Sabina D

May 3, 2020

Effective for a larger overview. It would have been helpful to learn more by health care setting types (ex. ambulatory/outpatient).