Chevron Left
Back to Quantitative Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Quantitative Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.7
1,121 ratings
372 reviews

About the Course

Discover the principles of solid scientific methods in the behavioral and social sciences. Join us and learn to separate sloppy science from solid research! This course will cover the fundamental principles of science, some history and philosophy of science, research designs, measurement, sampling and ethics. The course is comparable to a university level introductory course on quantitative research methods in the social sciences, but has a strong focus on research integrity. We will use examples from sociology, political sciences, educational sciences, communication sciences and psychology....

Top reviews

LG

Jan 05, 2018

This course was excellent in all aspects, including the interesting and extensive material, as well as Dr. Annemarie Zand Scholten's brilliant lectures that help students digest and enjoy the content.

AL

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 365 Reviews for Quantitative Methods

By Marjorie G

Jul 07, 2018

I love the video presentations and the excellent examples.

By Apoorva V S

Dec 19, 2015

This is a course that is well thought out, informative, descriptive, and enjoyable! I was excited to start each new week of Quantitative Methods, and to learn more about research methods! I definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in research, and this will help strengthen your basics in quantitative methods. I commend Prof. Annemarie Zand Scholten, and the rest of the team from UAmsterdam for bringing a wonderful course to the Coursera platform! I can't wait to start & finish the rest!

By Ernest M M

Jan 10, 2018

Great course for anyone interested in thinking like a professional scientist.

By Nguyen T H

Nov 23, 2017

I liked the course very much. The professor presented in a way that was easy to understand; the course was very well structured. I also liked the bonus videos, very useful!! Sincere thanks to the professor and the team!

By Erik E M R

Feb 26, 2016

Simply Amazing! Tough, but really good!

By hector m z u

Feb 14, 2017

very useful and deep

By Enver L T N

Feb 27, 2016

excellent course, much bettet that in my university

By Athena L L

May 08, 2018

It is well-structured and informative. The pop up questions are interactive and the animation is fun. I have learned a lot from the video instruction, recommended readings, and assignments. Thanks.

By Paolina S

Oct 15, 2015

Gradually going deeper in the subject. Easily understandable, clear explanations, simple examples, well done illustrative videos. Up to date problems discussed.

By Rlk P

Oct 09, 2015

Excellent

By Peter N G

Dec 28, 2016

Easy to grasp the concepts to apply when using this approach.

I enjoyed every bit of the course

By George H B J

Jan 06, 2016

Very well organized and executed! The assignments are both challenging and present excellent learning opportunities.

By Diego A M R

May 28, 2016

It was a really good course, very easy to understand and was good in keeping the interest up. I would only recommend they offered some, at least optional, exercises to help grasp the content.

By Juan P A C

Mar 03, 2016

Absolutely necessary for anyone interested in Science!

By Andrae A

Oct 27, 2017

This was a great introduction to Quantitative research methods. It is not an easy course by any means, but if you take notes as you watch the videos and do the practice tests, you will do fine. After taking this course, I decided to take the rest of the courses to complete the Research Specialization. If you want to learn about research and statistics, this course is a great starting point.

By Hyun J K

Nov 15, 2017

It was a quite fun and interesting course, thank you! :D

By Tomas B

Sep 28, 2017

Clear, useful and comprehensive. Highly recommended.

By Julieta R G

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent course! Loved it! Very clear and organised. I learned a lot.

By Martin O C J

Mar 11, 2016

I

By angelica

Dec 20, 2016

I REALLY LEARN THE MATERIAL, EXCELLENT!

By Timija F

Apr 08, 2017

Quantitative Methods is a great course to get started with the topic. Since there is a lot of information especially if you don't have previous knowledge about the topics, the course handles it with simple examples that occur. If you are interested in more information there is bonus material provided on the end of each week which is very interesting.

By Viraiyan

Jan 05, 2016

Excellent explanation and assessment methods. Dr Scholten is simply great.

By Anna K

Jan 26, 2016

Great introduction to the topic.

By Daniela L y S

Feb 28, 2016

Excellent course!

By Ahmed R

Aug 04, 2017

My deepest Gratitudes to Assistant Professor

Annemarie Zand Scholten.

for her amazing work ( well-prepared lectures with lot's of assignments to solve in addition extra reading links and bonus videos are very helpful and very beneficial.

To sum up, the course is a great experience if anyone is interested in obtaining and gaining useful information and knowledge about Social Sciences further, Quantitative Methods.

Finally, I am so excited to finish the entire track one course done 4 to go.