Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
20,966 ratings
4,503 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

EJ
Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

4151 - 4175 of 4,392 Reviews for R Programming

By Kevin W

Mar 1, 2016

The videos were helpful, but too fast. Not a lot of time is spent on any of the functions of F. Swirl helps but not a lot.

By Shreyas A

May 17, 2020

It's very difficult to crack weekly assignments. As examples taken while teaching the functions are not comprehensible.

By Michael P

Dec 11, 2016

Had potential, but exercises and quizzes do not align with content taught by professor. This is not a beginners course!

By Karanvir S

Mar 17, 2020

The pedology used here does not interest a learner. It seems as if the instructor is just reading through the slides.

By zezhi

May 1, 2016

The lecture is too general. Not a courser for beginners. But if your are not a beginner, you won't need this, so…

By Kevin M T

May 16, 2021

There's no connection between the assignments given and the lecture being taught. So many contexts are missing.

By Chris D

Dec 23, 2017

Not for the faint of heart. Extremely difficult and not for beginners. If U pass U will have learned alot...IF

By David B

Aug 13, 2018

Disjointed and not cohesive. Start with the basics and build from there. The assignments are a waste of time.

By Ashwin S

Jun 23, 2020

Theory and online lectures are fine, assignments are not (at all) consistent with the level in the lectures.

By Yarden B

May 11, 2020

There is a huge gap between what they teach us and what the assignments ask. Had to get a lot of extra help.

By Sneha Y

Jan 12, 2020

Had some good information but did not expect the course to be intermediate level for the entirety of course.

By Hui R

Feb 20, 2020

It would be really helpful if the teacher gives more examples or graphs when he explains some concepts.

By Jake R

Sep 11, 2016

The lectures for this course do not adequately prepare students for the graded quizzes and assignments.

By Maggie L

Mar 5, 2020

It's totally difficult for me. Some of the assignments are really hard to work out for me as a novice.

By Rayane V R

Aug 23, 2020

Very good material and lectures, but the assignments did not match with the content of the course.

By Majorana 2

Apr 13, 2021

Not easy to follow all the examples and videos simplify functions. Course need more examples

By Kathleen H

Aug 8, 2020

Presumes having a certain baseline level of programming skills, too technical for a beginner

By Minnie Y

Nov 21, 2017

It is very hard for me to absorb and the professor has very fast and not fluent speech...

By Ziqian X

Feb 25, 2020

The Course is great but the Tasks are too difficult and are not appropriately designed.

By AYUSH K

May 14, 2017

This course needs on coding part as videos are not sufficient for solving assignments.

By Jishu D

Jun 9, 2019

thanks for offering such course , I am looking for more advanced level on this course

By Mugesh

Jul 13, 2020

Good quality assignments but lectures provided are not enough for these assignments

By Esther L

Dec 2, 2018

I bit disappointed with the video lectures. I opted for external resources instead.

By Claudio B

Jun 6, 2021

There's a big gap between the content in the videos and the required assignments.

By PARIDHI C

Jul 10, 2020

The assignment is way harder than what is actually taught in the video lectures.