Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,334 ratings
4,613 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

MR
May 11, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 4,517 Reviews for R Programming

By manuel s

Mar 23, 2020

Really useful course. I strongly recommend to spend time on the programming exercises, specially is is long time since your last programming task (e.g. > 10 years)

By Thomas G

May 19, 2020

I had experience with R in a class at my university, and I learned a lot in this course that my class didn't cover. The assignments were more challenging as well.

By Sachin K J

Apr 15, 2020

It was a great course for understanding and using R for basic package. I would like to thank builders of swirl package for such and awesome module for teaching R.

By Erica R

Jul 12, 2019

The lectures, swirl modules, and assignments had very high synergy for a multi-faceted learning experience. The pinned posts in the forums were extremely helpful.

By Max M

Aug 9, 2018

The level increases very very fast. For people starting from scratch (as me) will take the to complete the assignments. Challenging, but overall of great quality!

By Syed J P

Jul 23, 2019

Very good course. It helped to understand the basics and good practice, and helped me in doing research experiments in R using UCI dataset for my research paper.

By Jung O L

Jan 17, 2017

Exellent for beginner.

I literally didn't know anything about R, and was not familiar with programming.

This course gave me a step for advanced data programming.

By Vasileios K

Nov 20, 2016

Professor is very well rounded and is quite enjoyable to hear his voice! Keep up the great work, looking forward to the next sections of the data science series.

By Lauren B

Mar 7, 2016

This was a very challenging class for someone who had no prior programming experience. However, with enough time and effort, I was able to succeed in the course.

By Taisekwa C

Nov 12, 2020

Very hard course but very useful, I think, lecture videos totally disconnected from the assignments. One will have to dig deep to understand the basic concepts.

By Rizki J I

Aug 28, 2019

Great course to get to know inside and out R programming and not just for quantitative analysis (for me) but also getting to know how R used across other users.

By Akash V

Mar 2, 2019

The course was very well taught, and I got to learn a lot of things from this course about R Programming. As this course developed keen interest in me about R.

By Manuel E

Feb 20, 2019

Excellent basic course, although I understand that people with no previous programming experience might struggle with it (and even some old programmers like me)

By Ankit S

Jan 20, 2019

It's great to learn it from here. However, for beginner like me, it was a pretty complicated while doing the assignments. But, thanks anyways for the teachings.

By Waleed A

Apr 8, 2017

An excellent course to get to know the basics of R programming. The practice material and the assignments really instill the material being taught in your mind.

By Nelson S S

Oct 25, 2020

Thank you very much for everything you learned.

It is these difficult times of the Pandemic. Thank you very much for your generosity in sharing your knowledge.

By Eric T

Apr 3, 2020

Assessments always seem a bit more challenging than initially expected and the learning continues. Assessments are not of the 'check the box' type. Well done.

By Dongjin L

Mar 2, 2019

Everything was perfect, a good start to get to know about programming and data science. By the way, the assignments are a bit too hard for beginners like me.

By Yusuf E

Nov 25, 2017

Solid introduction to R Programming. Assignments took many hours to complete but in the end it was all worth it. Looking forward to Getting and Cleaning Data.

By Sothiro P

Oct 22, 2017

Excellent class with the right level of difficulty and some challenging assignments. I like that it's only 4 weeks long and gives an overview of the language.

By Marty G

Jan 27, 2016

Great class, plenty of resources to find help. The resources are great especially since the class is only 4 weeks long. It really helped me to stay caught up.

By Russ B

Nov 24, 2020

This was a very challenging and rewarding introduction to the R programming language. I highly recommend this course for anyone in the data analytics field.

By Mohamed I

Oct 13, 2020

This course so was amazing, it opens new orders, but the most important thing is to apply and play around swirl programming which fun and friendly practices.

By Dan N

Sep 11, 2020

Very informative, and covers the basics of R quite well. The assignments cover the material well and provide for ample opportunity to experiment with R code.

By Sachin A

Jul 20, 2020

The course is too good. Beyond my expectations. It includes more like hand on training that I have never seen before. I suggest everyone to take this course.