Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,959 ratings

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

WH

Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.

These skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.

Material is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

EJ

Jul 11, 2016

Excellent course! I already knew a lot about R - but this class helped me solidify what I already knew, taught me lots of new tricks, and now I have a certificate that says I know `something' about R!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 4,656 Reviews for R Programming

By Miguel C

Mar 16, 2020

I really enjoyed this course!

I was already somewhat familiar with R but I now feel much more confident in my R programming skills. I am glad this course was not exclusively helpful for people just starting with R. I learned many new things and I sometimes struggled with some of the assignments (especially week 3 programming assignment) and they pushed me to understand more complicated concepts, which I was really happy about.

I thought the swirl library was also really helpful. It solidified what we'd learned in the video lectures, and sometimes delved into things I had not seen before or things we had seen before but with more detail, such as ellipses (as arguments in functions), definition of binary operations and simulations of coin flips.

The only part I was not interested in is the history of R at the beginning of the course. I didn't really care for it, but I think I understand why it's there.

Overall, I really enjoyed it and I would definitely recommend it to other people.

By Bruno H

Jan 15, 2020

Foi um curso bem útil e de grande aplicabilidade, passando muito bem por todo conteúdo de funções, loops, extrações e manipulação de conjunto de dados, reforçando muito bem através de exercícios. Em conjunto com os principais métodos usuais de depuração, otimização e utilização de gráficos. Entretanto, achei este curso com uma dificuldade considerável nos projetos semanais para quem é iniciante, dediquei por um mês uma média de 4 horas/diária (inclusive aos finais de semana) e a maior parte do tempo gasto foi buscando conteúdos de apoio, metodologias adicionais em fóruns como o GitHub, Stackoverflow e lendo a biblioteca do R. O que não é algo ruim, pois no dia a dia, iremos nos deparar procurando novas informações e metodologias mais atuais para fazermos algo de uma forma mais eficiente.

By Shreya S

Feb 27, 2019

Brilliant content!! Practice exercises really help you evaluate yourself. A little knowledge of R programming before this course is helpful as that might help understand the slides better. Though it is not mandatory but one can still utilize free resources available online to build the basic knowledge. Also, if you have prior experience with any programming language, that'll be very helpful. Would highly recommend this course.

By Eva K

May 23, 2021

With no prior experience of programming, I found this course to be very challenging especially while solving the programming assignments in which the problems were very difficult to solve at times. But the lecture material and discussions in which mentors and students actively participated really provided some background support to me. Overall, an excellent course for all who are interested to learn R.

By Elisa R

Apr 15, 2021

The assignments are very difficult. ALL the assignments required me to spend HOURS on them, looking for help outside what was given in the course..

BUT I learned a LOT and after finishing this course and others from the specialization I learned in 5 months what I haven't been able to learn in like a whole year.

By Astolfo

Jul 30, 2020

Great course.

Just as a spoiler, in the cache excercise, no one really understood what they answered and admins should change that assignment URGENLTY, because is frustraing. So when you solve that part, don't feel dumb, we all did, we feel you bro.

By Ryan V

Feb 11, 2022

Difficult to follow at times. it will take a lot of time to get through the assigments. but if you are serious about learning R or any programming, it is necessary to get thrown into the fire.

By WHAT

Apr 16, 2019

Nice!!

By Hans F B

Nov 14, 2020

The course is taught like how most technical university courses are taught: simple examples delivered in a complex way with DIFFICULT assessments (difficult for a beginner). I had to read from tons of other external sources just to complete the programming assignments on my own. Even the very cool self-paced, hands-on R-tutorial (Swirl) didn't help much in equipping me with the skills to easily complete the assignments. The instructor is very qualified to deliver the course, but the manner of delivery is overwhelming for a beginner in R (or programming.

Overall, I began with zero/very minimal programming skills and ended up with quite a decent background in R programming by the course's end. If you have zero programming background, do not take this course.

By Md. Z M

May 23, 2020

For the background, I am a graduate in Computer Science with 3+ years of professional experience in software development.

I found the course to be challenging enough, and equally rewarding. The swirl exercises are good and help you practice the commands in a guided setting. The programming assignments were very challenging. I ended up working on them for 7-8 hours on average. Assignments were designed to make you investigate and study on your own (this really helped in my understanding of R).

Surely, I would recommend R Programming. However, novices in programming will have to invest a lot of time and effort on their own to navigate through the content for significant gain.

By Twinkle J

Sep 15, 2020

The course is interesting and very engaging. However, I felt difficulty in writing the codes for the assignments since I don't have a coding or programming background.

By Sebastian D

Feb 26, 2019

level of difficulty for quiz and assignments are sky high;

it seems in the course you learn how to multiply and in test you are asked to know how differentiation wordks

By Yuri C L

Aug 4, 2017

It is a good course with very challenging assignments. Given the class levels, maybe too challenging. Though I must say I did complete the course before its deadline.

By Sagar T

Jun 20, 2016

Course is really great. However for the absolute beginners it might be challenging as the assignments and videos assume basic knowledge of stats and programing

By Ong W J

Oct 6, 2018

This course is tough if you have zero background in programming. I struggled alots especially in the last assignment.

By Xavi A

Jan 1, 2021

Good course but in my opinion very difficult to achieve if you don't have previous programming knowledge.

By Joanne Y

Feb 7, 2022

I learned a lot, but with a high frustration. More guidance/structure would be good. If Thanks!

By Zhu, T

May 25, 2020

Homework and programming assignments are not related with videos.

By SEEUN H

Feb 4, 2019

Nice, but limited explanation for beginners.

By Yaw O

Feb 2, 2019

Some concepts weren't clearly discussed

By Ryan N

Oct 6, 2021

I am a total beginner in R. As mentioned by many other learners, the projects from the course is beyond what we had learned from the videos (the videos are quite fundamental and are useful to beginners, except the lexical scoping part which I still do not understand even with the project assignment two), which is why I am giving three stars. However, it exposes us to the real working environment when you are given a project without any guides. We are required to think independently how should we tackle such kind of situation when we are facing programming problem. You may have the idea but you do not know how to code it. Then you go through forums, be it Coursera forum or StackOverflow. You will enjoy the hard time when you are stuck and when you do not understand the forum contents. But you will also enjoy the sweet time when you have finally figured out the codes that work! The course is recommended for those who like to accept the challenge.

By Konstantinos L

Sep 2, 2021

I learned a lot of things in this course, but I can't say that I'm pleased with the course overall. First of all, I found really frustrating that there was no connection between assignments and each week theory with a huge difficulty leap between them. Secondly, videos was kind of useless as the tutor was just reading the slides, and thirdly there was no consistency between each week curriculum, it lacked coherence. Even so, I learned a lot of things, and after all this frustration I find myself more confident in using R language. In addition, the tutors are present in the discussion forum and they are really really helpful, answering questions and provide extra material for the assignments, which in my opinion should be integrated in the main course. If this course was a couple of weeks longer, and there was consistency between theory - assignments, I think that it would be much better.

By Jesus A P G

May 1, 2020

In short, I learned a lot in this cocurse but I would not consider it for beginners with little programming experience. I spent at least 3-5 times more doing the assingtments. The information presented was very valuable but the pedagogical part was not well done. The chunks of information were poorly connected between themselves, making the learning process tidous and hard to achieve. The visuals were very sloppy with only white slides and a font too small. For these reason the lectures were boring and unappealing. My suggestion is to take more care of the didactic aspect of the course. Many times I had to watch YouTube videos on the same topic that I had just seen, and I can say that a colored diagram made all the difference between understanding everything and not understanding nothing at all.

By Manish A

Jun 2, 2020

There is an incredibly wide gap between the lectures and the exercises presented on Swirl and the coding needed to pass the assignments. So much so that I didn't have to tools to approach the assignments with what I feel comfortable using. This is a huge detriment to the learning objectives of the course.

At several points, I contemplated quitting because of this consideration. I imagine it is a huge hurdle. I have no coding experience, but I am traditionally a good student so this is frustrating. This is my first Coursera sequence, though I have taken online classes before through more traditional universities.

By Danielle D C

Feb 18, 2021

For this second course installment of the Data Science Specialisation, there is an immense gap between the lectures and the assignments. I completely understand not being "spoon fed", which is a critical aspect of learning anything on your own. However, the jump in expectations between Programming Assignment 2 and Assignment 3 was incomprehensible. You could work your way through #2 but with #3, it felt as though you had a plethora of information thrown at your way, adding to the confusion, which you then had to stare at for what felt like "light years" to fully decode, in order to get through the quiz.