Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
21,189 ratings
4,574 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

WH
Feb 2, 2016

"R Programming" forces you to dive in deep.\n\nThese skills serve as a strong basis for the rest of the data science specialization.\n\nMaterial is in depth, but presented clearly. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

4176 - 4200 of 4,480 Reviews for R Programming

By Prasanjeit B

Sep 24, 2018

The quiz were far advance than the material and somewhat disjoint from the topics.The overall lecture is good but not sufficient for learning R, Week 3 and some parts of week 1 could have been explained far more better than it was done

By Josh D

Jun 29, 2017

Far too quickly moves from basics of R to advanced statistical programming. Needs better build up of skills. Swirl was useful, as the videos were essentially unhelpful. Many other better resources on introducing the content elsewhere.

By Alexander S

Jan 27, 2021

The videos are not very engaging and the exercises demand skills way beyond the ones you can develop by simply following the course videos and swirl exercises. 2 stars because the challenges were engaging and based on real world data

By Jonathan T

Aug 20, 2018

Assignment is way too hard without any guidance - course as mentioned in their earlier lectures are meant to go online and ask. Even so, there is no way for beginners like us to understand what our questions should pinpoint to.

By Sirimedho S D L

Feb 21, 2016

Too short, too simple, too theoretic.

I found of little interest the slides, partially interesting the swirl exercise, interesting the programming assignment.

I would like to have a longer course with more practical examples.

By Shao Y

Jun 8, 2017

the course is absolutely not for beginner who has little knowledge of R even they are interested in data science specialization... this should be made clear to avoid waste of time, efforts and budget.. not worth subscription

By Scott T

Feb 14, 2016

Very disjointed and no clear progression. While it teaches the basic syntactic rules well enough, the functionality of R is explored in an ad hoc manner where the assignments have little to no relation to the week's lecture.

By Siddharth G

Jun 13, 2020

The assignments are way too difficult in comparison to what has been taught, the instructor already assumes we are from a CS background.

1 extra star just for swirl exercises, they were highly interactive and informative

By Mohamed A

Jan 9, 2021

it was a really difficult and un-informative experience, I didn't get any useful info through the lectures or reading notes. and the assignment were super hard to get through. my worst choice for a data science course.

By Rui P

Jan 18, 2017

It is just not a good course for a beginner, especially the assignment 2 is hard to understand. And hope this course can add a little bit material on statistical programming or machine learning session in the future.

By Ester C P

Jun 14, 2016

There is not much of a relation between what the course gives (explains with the videos and with the SWIRL exercises) and the real exercices they ask to. Too difficult to follow by people new in the programming area.

By Kalyanraman V

Sep 8, 2017

The assignments were extremely difficult and there was not much of help directly from the videos or lecture material to learn and do smaller programming assignments that could be used when doing bigger assignments.

By Sangras S

Aug 7, 2020

A huge lag between what is being taught, the swirl lessons, and the programming assignments. I'd definitely not recommend this course, unless and until you're already well versed with most of the functions in R.

By Prajna M U

Sep 7, 2020

The lessons were easy to understand. However, there is a huge gap between assignments and lesson videos. I personally believe it is not possible to do the assignments with the help of lectures and notes alone.

By iqra k

Aug 28, 2021

The course was not conceptual and is not helpful for students with no prior programming knowledge. The instructor just reads the slides and there is a huge gap between lectures and assignment. Not worth it.

By Alqua

May 29, 2020

Swirl is good. lecture are awful. Does not teach the necessary knowledge to be able to pass the assignments. The assignments feels real and the knowledge you need to learn somewhere else to pass is useful.

By Mark D

Oct 4, 2016

I don't think the course is setup for a beginner or a person who has never used R...very frustrated with needing to search the internet for help on everything that the course is supposed to be teaching me.

By Pavan K

Apr 19, 2021

I don't feel good about this course. Please restructure it and teach it more incrementally, especially about loops, and extraction. The Assignment Instructions for the final week were not easily apparent.

By Justin C

May 8, 2020

Impossible leap of difficulty between assignments (especially Week 2) and lecture material. Poorly designed and in serious lack of guidance. However, the quizzes help consolidate knowledge from lectures.

By Daisya H

Mar 15, 2021

The textbook is great for notes, but I would have loved to see more applicable examples of how to use the code. The instructor pretty much reads the textbook to you. Don't feel like I truly learned R.

By Manish K M

Jun 26, 2018

Not a great course as said by the community. Most of the assignments are not even related to what is taught by the teacher and the way the teacher teaches makes learning R quite boring and cumbersome.

By Sylvia W

Mar 23, 2020

every time i watched the videos i ended up falling asleep. not at all engaging and professor makes it difficult to learn and build upon basic concepts. my only saving grace was prior exposure to r.

By Iwona Z

Aug 6, 2017

This is not R for beginners.. I am sure many people trying to get into R have been discouraged. There is so much great things you can do in R without making it that complicated as it was done here.

By Markus R

Dec 11, 2016

The swirl exercises were helpful, but the video lectures and assignments were not. Therefore, I cannot recommed this course. There are better resources for learning R in general and R programming.

By abhishek s

Feb 9, 2016

The assignments are highly dissociated from the course material. Also once the due date has passed sharing the best solution would help so as to give insights on what could have been done better.