Chevron Left
Back to R Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for R Programming by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
20,760 ratings
4,460 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to program in R and how to use R for effective data analysis. You will learn how to install and configure software necessary for a statistical programming environment and describe generic programming language concepts as they are implemented in a high-level statistical language. The course covers practical issues in statistical computing which includes programming in R, reading data into R, accessing R packages, writing R functions, debugging, profiling R code, and organizing and commenting R code. Topics in statistical data analysis will provide working examples....

Top reviews

JM
Aug 11, 2019

Very challenging, but good course. I've been programming in R for over a year, but there were still some things for me to pick up in this class. Assignments were a challenge, but satisfying to tackle.

MR
May 11, 2020

Really interesting course. The interactive coding sessions with swirl are especially useful. Would be great, if you provided sample solutions for the programming assignments, in particular for week 4.

Filter by:

4276 - 4300 of 4,348 Reviews for R Programming

By Xavier A R T

Nov 6, 2020

Es el curso más aburrido que he tomado, no puede ser que algo netamente práctico lo hagan netamente teórico. pésimo. no voy a terminar este curso.

By Ahsan K

May 27, 2020

Assignments were too difficult and totally not relevant to learning materials. I believe alot of work needs to be input on course structure.

By Janvi S

Apr 18, 2021

The bridge between the class lectures and assignment was too much for a beginner. Please give questions based on what is taught in class.

By Prutha L

Jul 14, 2019

insufficient study materials that dont cover quizzes and assignments content. had to give up after week 2.

do NOT recommend for beginners.

By Alhassan K H A

May 8, 2020

course need to be better organised. more information should be taught in videos.

more explanation should be given prior to assignments

By Mary R

May 5, 2020

This course was confusing, and the quizzes required knowledge outside of the readings and lectures. This is why I cannot learn online.

By Mahmoud M

May 13, 2018

im struggling for 10 days to resolve an assignment showing it should be started in some where where i have no idea where is that where

By Praveen D

Mar 12, 2020

Very poor ,frustrating and so so tough assignments in respective of the knowlegde they give you in video lectures or swirl exercises.

By kaisar A

May 27, 2016

Lectures are very boring and designed in a weird way. He is simply reading the book that he wrote and no real practice was ever done.

By Myrsini I

Mar 21, 2017

Not the best course for beginners. Too much theory and no implementation. Also the assignments were impossible for a beginner.

By Jennifer R

Mar 12, 2016

Not for new programmers. The lecture material is also not logically organized and does not correspond to the assignments.

By Yann V

Apr 3, 2018

R tutorials and assignments are great - however, had to spend more time figuring out Git than I spent on R assignments...

By Alexandra G

Jan 14, 2016

They don't give enough inputs and instructions to complete the assignments, unless they could offer addicional material.

By Veerendra A

Jun 17, 2020

it was too fast for me and i was expecting to study R programming from scratch..and many things were very fast.

By Duncan P

Jan 30, 2016

I found the jump in difficulty for the first assignment too great. This seems to be a view reflected elsewhere.

By George J

Jul 16, 2020

The instructions were not satisfactory, and there is a large gap between the assignment and the skills taught.

By Ben W

May 15, 2016

This course was so convoluted and not practical that it made me lose complete interest in the specialization.

By Tristan I

Jun 12, 2020

Fix the assignments so they match the course content. This is unfair to the people who pay for this service.

By Casey B

Feb 3, 2018

This course presumes you are a programmer to begin with. I tried to take the class to learn how to program.

By Jonathan N

Nov 18, 2016

Assignments do not match up well with the lessons and the lessons are BAD. They are not educational.

By Rishi R

Jun 27, 2017

Too much of a jump from the previous course. Exercises much too complex relative to the lessons.

By Joan S

Feb 11, 2016

You can't do assignments using the lecture materials. Need A LOT of time to finish this course.

By Jostein B

Mar 30, 2017

There is a huge disconnect between the lectures and what is asked in the homework assignments.

By Juan M O

Sep 15, 2020

Gap between the theory and the practical assignment is huge. For a beginner is not an option!

By p a t

Jul 7, 2020

This course is not for beginner. If you look for beginner course for R, look else where.