Chevron Left
Back to Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation by New York University

4.7
stars
354 ratings
51 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces real-time cyber security techniques and methods in the context of the TCP/IP protocol suites. Explanation of some basic TCP/IP security hacks is used to introduce the need for network security solutions such as stateless and stateful firewalls. Learners will be introduced to the techniques used to design and configure firewall solutions such as packet filters and proxies to protect enterprise assets. Perimeter solutions such as firewalls and intrusion prevention systems are shown to have significant drawbacks in common enterprise environments. The result of such weakness is shown to often exist as advanced persistent threats (APTs) from nation-state actors. Such attacks, as well as DDOS and third-party attacks, are shown to have potential solutions for modern enterprise....

Top reviews

DE

Aug 30, 2019

Solid introductory course. Prof teaches basic concepts in an engaging manner without requiring much technical background. As with the other courses in the program, the quiz wording is a bit odd.

AS

Nov 05, 2018

Very good course providing basic knowledge for understanding the ways of cyber threat detections & mitigation so it is easier and more intuitive continuing exploration of the field by your own

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 49 Reviews for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation

By Wolfgang G

Jun 17, 2018

The whole four weeks worth of the course could be done in a day. The level of detail of this course corresponds to that of a newspaper article. The tests are sloppily made (e.g. asks for "which answer is false" but actually looks for the only correct answer, writes "migration" instead of "mitigation"). There are no tutors/mentors here to assist people in the forum, the whole course seems abandoned (but, hey, you still have to pay for it!).

By Carlos D

Jul 07, 2019

Explains the basics but still very well and made it simple to understand, I would recommend the staff to check some things that where also commented in the forum

By Maiquel A G R

Jan 12, 2020

This incredible course makes me learn a lot about all the threat we deal in the recent times. The teacher and videos are really enjoyable and very detailed.

By Aneesh S

Dec 25, 2018

Loved it! Another awesome course by coursera

By Abhijit

Apr 14, 2018

Dr. Amoroso did a wonderful job as always explaining the practical limitations of existing parameters and exposing the porous border of pretty much all enterprise networks. His talk at the IEEE 5G conference at Princeton along with his paper added a lot of value to the concepts around virtualized software driven perimeters. The case studies he discussed in the videos highlight vulnerabilities that large enterprises have to defend. Details around APT such as the organization, planning and patience displayed by perpetrators is mind-boggling. The paper by Dr. Dorothy Denning gave a very thorough and theoretical treatment to aspects around intrusion detection and prevention. Overall a very enjoyable journey so far.

By Akash G

Oct 14, 2019

I was into Cyber Security for 2 years. Doing mostly Web Application Attacks, OSINT. But this course made me understand the fundamental problems in protocols that are causing big issues like man-in-middle attacks, IP Spoofing, Email Spoofing. Overall this course motivated me to dig more deeply into IDS and IPS and fundamentally how it works.

By George S

May 06, 2019

I have trialed a few of the better known online courses. I can wholeheartedly say Dr. Amoroso is an amazingly gifted teacher. His depth of knowledge is obvious but his ability to make and keep the discussions interesting is his magic. Not simply reading off a script. Thank you!!!

By Derek E

Aug 30, 2019

Solid introductory course. Prof teaches basic concepts in an engaging manner without requiring much technical background. As with the other courses in the program, the quiz wording is a bit odd.

By Aviel S

Nov 05, 2018

Very good course providing basic knowledge for understanding the ways of cyber threat detections & mitigation so it is easier and more intuitive continuing exploration of the field by your own

By David K

Aug 12, 2018

I used this course a refresh for established cyber skills, its been a welcome change to have such an enthusiastic lecturer and revisit some of the cornerstones of cyber.

By Amos T C

Feb 23, 2020

Dr Amoroso does a good job presenting the concepts of cybersecurity in this course. The interviews are also very informative. I learned a lot.

By Susmita M

May 24, 2020

Explained in simple language, which make the concepts easy to understand

Good additional resources & case studies to make foundation strong

By Paul B F

Aug 07, 2018

I enjoyed this course! Instructor one of the best I have seen. The course material is easy to follow as well.

By MOHAMED M E

Jun 13, 2019

انا سعد جدا بهذا الدوره وتعلمت منها المثير

في مجال الأمنالسبراني واوصي كل شخص

عليك ان تبادر الي موقع كورسيرا

By Shoug k a

Oct 11, 2018

i think it was an excellent and very helpful cousre and a big thankyou for the instructor for his hardwork

By Roberto V

Nov 02, 2019

I really understood better the architecture of a cyber attack defense system, greaaaaat teacherrr!

By Brooks T

Dec 30, 2018

Very good course to start with for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation.

By Dimple

Jul 18, 2018

All basic concepts are well explained. I recommend to pursue this course.

By Ronnie L P S

Aug 04, 2019

Great instructor and interviews with various business owners.

By Gonzalo

Jul 22, 2019

Excellent Course! Very well explained and great content.

By Alwarsamy P

Apr 22, 2020

Really good, understand more details about this topic

By Rashmi

Aug 28, 2019

Great insight into real time cyber threat detection.

By G.R.Srinath

Mar 01, 2020

A great and contemporary course for beginners.

By Maria C L

Dec 28, 2019

Great course! Very informative. Thank you.

By Tony S

Mar 08, 2020

Highly recommended. Relevant and useful.