Chevron Left
Back to Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation by New York University Tandon School of Engineering

4.7
201 ratings
20 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces real-time cyber security techniques and methods in the context of the TCP/IP protocol suites. Explanation of some basic TCP/IP security hacks is used to introduce the need for network security solutions such as stateless and stateful firewalls. Learners will be introduced to the techniques used to design and configure firewall solutions such as packet filters and proxies to protect enterprise assets. Perimeter solutions such as firewalls and intrusion prevention systems are shown to have significant drawbacks in common enterprise environments. The result of such weakness is shown to often exist as advanced persistent threats (APTs) from nation-state actors. Such attacks, as well as DDOS and third-party attacks, are shown to have potential solutions for modern enterprise....

Top reviews

DK

Aug 12, 2018

I used this course a refresh for established cyber skills, its been a welcome change to have such an enthusiastic lecturer and revisit some of the cornerstones of cyber.

PF

Aug 07, 2018

I enjoyed this course! Instructor one of the best I have seen. The course material is easy to follow as well.

Filter by:

1 - 20 of 20 Reviews for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation

By Wolfgang G

Jun 17, 2018

The whole four weeks worth of the course could be done in a day. The level of detail of this course corresponds to that of a newspaper article. The tests are sloppily made (e.g. asks for "which answer is false" but actually looks for the only correct answer, writes "migration" instead of "mitigation"). There are no tutors/mentors here to assist people in the forum, the whole course seems abandoned (but, hey, you still have to pay for it!).

By MOHAMED M E

Jun 13, 2019

انا سعد جدا بهذا الدوره وتعلمت منها المثير

في مجال الأمنالسبراني واوصي كل شخص

عليك ان تبادر الي موقع كورسيرا

By George S

May 06, 2019

I have trialed a few of the better known online courses. I can wholeheartedly say Dr. Amoroso is an amazingly gifted teacher. His depth of knowledge is obvious but his ability to make and keep the discussions interesting is his magic. Not simply reading off a script. Thank you!!!

By Maheswararaju P

Jan 06, 2019

Quizzes are somehow tricky and requires more inputs from videos..So It would be better to have more concepts related to that.Still expecting better explanation from the perspective of real time attack detection.

By Brooks T

Dec 30, 2018

Very good course to start with for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation.

By Aneesh S

Dec 25, 2018

Loved it! Another awesome course by coursera

By Gaurav G

Dec 14, 2018

learned alot

By Carlos A C S

Nov 25, 2018

Excellent teacher and good course.

By Uladzimir B

Nov 11, 2018

Good course, very solid foundation of basics in the topic. Having said that, even discussion forums are pretty much abandoned, with a few lonely posters and almost no activity there.

By Atichat P

Nov 08, 2018

Good

By Aviel S

Nov 05, 2018

Very good course providing basic knowledge for understanding the ways of cyber threat detections & mitigation so it is easier and more intuitive continuing exploration of the field by your own

By Shoug k a

Oct 11, 2018

i think it was an excellent and very helpful cousre and a big thankyou for the instructor for his hardwork

By POTHALA V K

Sep 28, 2018

excellent

By Ghulam M D

Aug 26, 2018

Thank you sir

By David K

Aug 12, 2018

I used this course a refresh for established cyber skills, its been a welcome change to have such an enthusiastic lecturer and revisit some of the cornerstones of cyber.

By Paul B F

Aug 07, 2018

I enjoyed this course! Instructor one of the best I have seen. The course material is easy to follow as well.

By Alfredo J L H

Jul 30, 2018

Muy buen curso, muy completo

By Dimple

Jul 18, 2018

All basic concepts are well explained. I recommend to pursue this course.

By Abhijit

Apr 14, 2018

Dr. Amoroso did a wonderful job as always explaining the practical limitations of existing parameters and exposing the porous border of pretty much all enterprise networks. His talk at the IEEE 5G conference at Princeton along with his paper added a lot of value to the concepts around virtualized software driven perimeters. The case studies he discussed in the videos highlight vulnerabilities that large enterprises have to defend. Details around APT such as the organization, planning and patience displayed by perpetrators is mind-boggling. The paper by Dr. Dorothy Denning gave a very thorough and theoretical treatment to aspects around intrusion detection and prevention. Overall a very enjoyable journey so far.

By Sjir B

Apr 04, 2018

Very fun course to do!