Chevron Left
Back to Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation by New York University

4.7
stars
517 ratings
89 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces real-time cyber security techniques and methods in the context of the TCP/IP protocol suites. Explanation of some basic TCP/IP security hacks is used to introduce the need for network security solutions such as stateless and stateful firewalls. Learners will be introduced to the techniques used to design and configure firewall solutions such as packet filters and proxies to protect enterprise assets. Perimeter solutions such as firewalls and intrusion prevention systems are shown to have significant drawbacks in common enterprise environments. The result of such weakness is shown to often exist as advanced persistent threats (APTs) from nation-state actors. Such attacks, as well as DDOS and third-party attacks, are shown to have potential solutions for modern enterprise....

Top reviews

DE

Aug 29, 2019

Solid introductory course. Prof teaches basic concepts in an engaging manner without requiring much technical background. As with the other courses in the program, the quiz wording is a bit odd.

AS

Nov 4, 2018

Very good course providing basic knowledge for understanding the ways of cyber threat detections & mitigation so it is easier and more intuitive continuing exploration of the field by your own

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 87 Reviews for Real-Time Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation

By Uladzimir B

Nov 11, 2018

Good course, very solid foundation of basics in the topic. Having said that, even discussion forums are pretty much abandoned, with a few lonely posters and almost no activity there.

By Stan T

Jun 21, 2020

This course, like the prior ones in this series, are a nice high-level introduction to this topic. I do wish it were a little more technically demanding. My principle complaint is the number of assigned reading/video links that are outdated. In reviewing the forum, you can see that some of them have been outdated for two years.

By Jacob M

Jul 2, 2020

Some of the quiz answers could be rather subjective, and the removal of the feedback system made it difficult to figure out why the selected answer was wrong and why the correct answer was right.

By Steve N

Jan 6, 2022

It is a great overall course and start to getting into information regarding the field of Cyber Security. Where I would recommend improvements are to the quiz sections. Knowing why you got something wrong can be just as helpful as why you got something right. Just having an incorrect mark on a choice made it harder to learn why that answer was wrong, or for some of the questions why it was the least correct.

By Gulshan k

Jun 30, 2020

This Course give such a deep understanding of Real-Time Cyber Threats. Instructor of this course is an intellectual and teaches by taking real world scenarios. Thank you so much Coursera for giving me this opportunity to complete this course.

By Sabin S

Jun 8, 2020

The course was great. I enjoyed all the topics and how Professor Dr. Edward explains topics with practical scenarios and real-life analogies. I would definitely recommend this course to those who are really into cybersecurity.

By Lieke V

Dec 30, 2020

Professor Amoroso presented the material in a very lively and interesting manner. Even though many topics were familiar to me I learned a lot because the topics were brought from a different and original perspective.

By David K

Aug 12, 2018

I used this course a refresh for established cyber skills, its been a welcome change to have such an enthusiastic lecturer and revisit some of the cornerstones of cyber.

By Alvin J

May 17, 2022

I am not an engineer but this course is interesting. I have learned so much about cyber security. I am about to start the last course in this progaram.

By paul b

Aug 6, 2018

I enjoyed this course! Instructor one of the best I have seen. The course material is easy to follow as well.

By MOHAMED M

Jun 13, 2019

انا سعد جدا بهذا الدوره وتعلمت منها المثير

في مجال الأمنالسبراني واوصي كل شخص

عليك ان تبادر الي موقع كورسيرا

By Shoug K A

Oct 11, 2018

i think it was an excellent and very helpful cousre and a big thankyou for the instructor for his hardwork

By Sean P

Dec 30, 2020

The instructor is personable with good presentation skills. He transmits a passion for his subject.

By Manisha K

Nov 24, 2020

well explained in detais.. good for knowing concept and thinking in a differnt way. very useful

By angshuman r

Jan 20, 2022

Great teaching with real life examples .... also APT was explained in a very good fashion

By Dimple

Jul 18, 2018

All basic concepts are well explained. I recommend to pursue this course.

By Didier H

Jun 21, 2020

Excellent course, courseware, videos, and a very good teacher and method

By Vishwajit P

Nov 26, 2020

A good foundational course in Cyber Threat Detection and Mitigation!

By Ronnie L P S

Aug 4, 2019

Great instructor and interviews with various business owners.

By Avinash J

Aug 18, 2020

One of the best Introductory courses to Cybersecurity !!!

By Gonzalo

Jul 22, 2019

Excellent Course! Very well explained and great content.

By Rashmi

Aug 28, 2019

Great insight into real time cyber threat detection.

By mail2srinath G

Mar 1, 2020

A great and contemporary course for beginners.

By Tony S

Mar 8, 2020

Highly recommended. Relevant and useful.

By JAAN

Mar 29, 2021

Great Course, and advice to all of you!