Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based by University of Minnesota

4.5
441 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

This course, which is designed to serve as the first course in the Recommender Systems specialization, introduces the concept of recommender systems, reviews several examples in detail, and leads you through non-personalized recommendation using summary statistics and product associations, basic stereotype-based or demographic recommendations, and content-based filtering recommendations. After completing this course, you will be able to compute a variety of recommendations from datasets using basic spreadsheet tools, and if you complete the honors track you will also have programmed these recommendations using the open source LensKit recommender toolkit. In addition to detailed lectures and interactive exercises, this course features interviews with several leaders in research and practice on advanced topics and current directions in recommender systems....

Top reviews

BS

Feb 13, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Choosing Java for the lab exercises makes them inaccessible for many data scientists. Consider providing a Python version.

IP

Sep 19, 2016

it's a fantastic course that gives you a good idea of what the objectives of recommender systems are and some intuition on the way how it can be accomplished.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 84 Reviews for Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based

By Benjamin S S

Feb 13, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Choosing Java for the lab exercises makes them inaccessible for many data scientists. Consider providing a Python version.

By Rashid K

Jan 02, 2018

well one thing I am struggling with programming in JAVA. Would not it be handy to have option to do assignment using languages like python/R? which are basically language of choice for data scientists and also easy to have grasp on for newbies. one more thing some time I just get stuck and felt like now way out. I did not get any answer/help form posts on the forum .

By Nicolás A

Jun 28, 2018

Too basic and too repetitive (the videos could be half as long)

By Mustafa S

Feb 08, 2019

Great course

By shayue

Apr 11, 2019

Really Good! I think it will be helpful to me and take a job for me!

By Mai H S

Jan 20, 2019

good exercises & lectures

By sidra n

Aug 15, 2018

I would like to have more detail and help for honors track especially for people like me who do not have much programming experience and want to learn how to implement recommender system. I am unable to solve the assignment and i still need some help. Would be great if the solutions of the honors track should be available to those who want to learn and not just for the sake of getting certificate

By sagar s

Oct 04, 2018

Awesome. Worth it!

By tao L

Jul 22, 2018

I think I am on the right track to changing my career from java engineer from data scientist, this course is one of the best start point

By HN M

Aug 28, 2017

great!

By Francisco C

Mar 21, 2017

Excelente curso, presenta una vista amplia de técnicas para la implementación de sistemas de recomendación, lo recomiendo totalmente.

By Sonia F

Feb 06, 2017

Un profesor excelente y un temario muy bueno. También me han gustado mucho las entrevistas y los recorridos por las páginas web que tienen recomendadores.

By Biswa s

Mar 28, 2018

Good overview on the recommend-er system.

By Pawel S

Dec 11, 2016

As a software engineer with computer science background I found that course enhancing my knowledge. I'm going to continue the specialization.

By Tash B

Jun 27, 2018

Fantastic course. Lecturers have extensive experience in this field. Lectures include interviews with people who have successfully implemented recommender systems in their products or who are researching the permutations, challenges and extensions to recommender system development. Not only does the course provide the chance to build your own recommender systems (optional) but also highlights the complexities and opportunities for refining and improving recommendations. I highly recommend this course to anyone building recommendation systems.

By Apurva D

Aug 03, 2017

Awesome content...loved the industry expert interviews....

By S A

Jun 30, 2017

Excellent course taught in simple language.

By Light0617

Jul 19, 2017

great!! Let me better understand the research and practical fields!

By Julia E

Nov 08, 2017

Thank you very much!

By 姚青桦

Oct 16, 2017

Pretty good

By Dame N

Nov 24, 2017

Thank you for your course, very Helpfull for those who are keep in touch with recommender System engine. This is a very cool Introduction course.

By Garvit G

Mar 22, 2018

awesome course.

By Igor P

Sep 19, 2016

it's a fantastic course that gives you a good idea of what the objectives of recommender systems are and some intuition on the way how it can be accomplished.

By Fernando C

Nov 08, 2016

pues esta bien chido el curso

By ignacio g

Oct 27, 2016

The course es really helpfull to understand how the recommender system works and what points yo have to take care when you have to implement