Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based by University of Minnesota

4.5
stars
550 ratings
116 reviews

About the Course

This course, which is designed to serve as the first course in the Recommender Systems specialization, introduces the concept of recommender systems, reviews several examples in detail, and leads you through non-personalized recommendation using summary statistics and product associations, basic stereotype-based or demographic recommendations, and content-based filtering recommendations. After completing this course, you will be able to compute a variety of recommendations from datasets using basic spreadsheet tools, and if you complete the honors track you will also have programmed these recommendations using the open source LensKit recommender toolkit. In addition to detailed lectures and interactive exercises, this course features interviews with several leaders in research and practice on advanced topics and current directions in recommender systems....

Top reviews

BS

Feb 13, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Choosing Java for the lab exercises makes them inaccessible for many data scientists. Consider providing a Python version.

DP

Dec 08, 2017

Nice introduction to recommender systems for those who have never heard about it before. No complex mathematical formula (which can also be seen by some as a downside).

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 112 Reviews for Introduction to Recommender Systems: Non-Personalized and Content-Based

By Sushmita B

Jun 07, 2020

The course is very good and the course instructor is excellent .

By Luis D F

Apr 17, 2017

Really good course to get started with recommendation systems!

By Apurva D

Aug 03, 2017

Awesome content...loved the industry expert interviews....

By Dan T

Oct 31, 2017

great overview of the breadth of material to get started

By S A

Jun 30, 2017

Excellent course taught in simple language.

By Biswa s

Mar 28, 2018

Good overview on the recommend-er system.

By Shuang L

Nov 21, 2017

great professors and inspiring lectures!

By 王嘉奕

Nov 06, 2019

Excellent course which helps me a lot.

By Su L

Aug 23, 2019

great course, learnt a lot, thanks!

By Fernando C

Nov 08, 2016

pues esta bien chido el curso

By Mai H S

Jan 20, 2019

good exercises & lectures

By BEBIN K R

Sep 17, 2020

Wonderful experience

By Julia E

Nov 08, 2017

Thank you very much!

By sagar s

Oct 04, 2018

Awesome. Worth it!

By Garvit G

Mar 22, 2018

awesome course.

By Manikant R

Jun 21, 2020

Great course

By jonghee

Oct 29, 2019

good lecture

By Mustafa S

Feb 08, 2019

Great course

By P S

Sep 26, 2019

Nice course

By Muhammad Z H

Sep 17, 2019

Learnt alot

By 姚青桦

Oct 16, 2017

Pretty good

By HN M

Aug 28, 2017

great!

By Aussie P

Jul 02, 2017

Well prepared course. In-depth lecture. Easy to follow even when listening only. The course lectures is very detailed, and that is one thing I really liked. The videos does feel a bit long, and maybe we can chop it to smaller sub-topics.

The interviews are very interesting and show a glimpse of broader universe of recommendation system. However, the concepts explained in the interview is a bit hard to follow, as there is no accompanying presentation materials and it jumps to detailed content with little context

The regular exercise feels very easy but helpful to make the concepts concrete. The Honors programming exercise looks interesting & challenging, but it seems too hard for someone with no programming background. I am also learning Python in parallel, so I decided to drop it to avoid learning 2 languages in parallel.

By TOM C

Apr 19, 2020

The two teachers were very good, the interviews were quite interesting, the assignments were well built in order to better understand the course. I'm a bit disappointed, I was thinking to do more maths or code with classical languages such as Python or R. I never used Java and I didn't want to download a new software to start coding in Java. Maybe I should take a look to the Honor program even if I don't know anything about Java...

Thanks for all !

By Ankur S

Sep 25, 2018

Very informative, very well organized. Especially like the questions like "Which domain would this technique most likely to apply".

Some areas of improvement to consider

The overall pace of the content delivery in various lectures could be increased. Tends to get very slow at times

More hands on exercises would be useful

Programming exercise in Python or Python based frameworks would bee useful