Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Web Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Web Design by University of London

4.6
stars
1,747 ratings
379 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to apply concepts from interaction design and human computer interaction in order to design and build an interactive, professional looking website. You will learn how to make your web page designs adapt to different screen sizes using responsive grid layouts. You will learn how to add navigation and other design elements, and you will learn how to separate data and display using JavaScript objects and templates. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Explain why users need to know where they are, where they can go and what is on a web page 2. Create wireframe mockups of web pages 3. Identify the key functional elements of web pages 4. Use Bootstrap components to realise page designs 5. Use JavaScript data structures such as arrays and objects to define the data used in a web page 6. Use the Handlebars template library to convert data to HTML 7. Add interactivity to templates using JavaScript event listeners In this course, you will complete: 1 website design assignment taking ~1 hour to complete 1 programming assignment taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

LK

Nov 21, 2015

I've learned a lot of things in this course and I strongly recommend you to enroll this wonderful course immediately. In this course, you can learn bootstrap, Handlebars, Javascript and jQuery.

FV

Jan 21, 2016

I gave four stars for the previews course of the specialization but I have to tell that week 2 and 3 of this course are outstanding. Teachers are really putting students in the right direction.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 368 Reviews for Responsive Web Design

By Nassim L

Oct 04, 2019

Great !

By Alexander P A

May 10, 2018

DECENT!

By Polad M

Feb 09, 2016

Perfect

By Sumit Y

Nov 01, 2019

Superb

By Luigi H G

Apr 06, 2017

Excele

By Deovrat N

Jul 12, 2020

Great

By BASKARAN K

May 13, 2019

Super

By Dmitry G

May 11, 2016

Good!

By mafida p d

Nov 13, 2015

great

By Tiansheng W

Feb 26, 2016

g

By Arjun S

Jul 23, 2020

I had done the previous course in this specialization and this course definitely flowed smoothly along with the previous one. All the code and links are provided for easy learning. The first 3 weeks went really well and it was very easy to understand. The fourth week was very confusing. They start introducing javascript objects and different keyboard events without thoroughly explaining the javascript fundamentals. This made the assignments a bit difficult to complete. If you are a beginner to coding and this is your first course related to computer science, week 4 can be very difficult to complete, but overall a great course and still worth taking.

By Juan R G

Apr 14, 2020

As its precedent, I have found it a very fine course to follow up web design on the client-side. It allows you to go step-by-step on the fundamentals on responsive design. It has been really helpful to watch the full website building process and adding bootstrap elements (navbar, themes, modals) and JavaScript into it (objects, jQuery templating engines, data structures ) to manage data. All in all, it provides the basics for start up building webpages and look forward to go on to frameworks. The only setback I suffered along the course was a couple of lacks in the code of websites to properly work as explained. Nothing serious, though!

By Christine W

Oct 31, 2016

With much self-initiative and supplementary materials/tutorials found elsewhere on the web , I was able to grasp the concepts of this class. If you are self-driven and intellectually curious, this class is for you. OTOH, If you expect everything spoon-fed to you, then you will not pass. Must have a passion for

self-taught learning and finding/reading/grasping content, particularly as concerns javascript. Practice

and repetition are the only way to succeed with javascript.

By Sofia G

Oct 02, 2019

In the last week, in the weekly assignment theres a task for creating a navbar which clearly states "FOR EXTRA POINTS", after having my assignment graded turns out this section isn't at all for extra points, it was part of the grade for my assignment which I ended up scoring low on because I decided against the EXTRA POINTS. You should be clear with your grading so people like me don't end up being negatively impacted by your wording.

By José A L G

Jan 03, 2020

Week 4 peer graded assignment had a "bonus points" exercise, which I unfortunately got wrong. But that got me a 66.67% out of 100% on that assignment. I complain because it was supposed to be an exercise for bonus points and now I passed the course but not with the grade I wanted.

Please, if you're going to ask for certain things on your assignments, mark them as mandatory, not as a bonus challenge.

Besides that, the course was great!

By Anna S

Jul 23, 2016

I thought this course was great in the information it provided, though it moved a little fast for me as a beginning programmer. I think it would be useful to add a separate course just on Javascript to the specialization, as I still feel pretty lost with JS and the introduction of JQuery and Meteor on a shaky JS foundation is quite hard to grasp without a lot of supplemental information from other sites.

By Carlos G d F

Apr 08, 2016

It is better than the previous course, but there were problems with the last assignment in which a lot of students could not acces to the details of the last assignment and the problem was not solved by the staff of the course. It was a fellow student who did a copy of the details of the assignment and let the others courserians the possibility to submit the assignment. For this reason i gave 4 stars.

By Karl S

Mar 17, 2016

The grading criteria for the assignments were not quite strict enough in my opinion; it seemed like people had the option of creating relatively lame pure HTML websites that still more than met the minimum passing requirements for some of the more advanced assignments. I.e., Bootstrap or Handlebars should be a requirement to pass an assignment about Bootstrap or Handlebars.

By Ioannis G

Jan 18, 2016

Very nice course with solid foundation and great examples. One recommendation would be to split the material on Week 4 into 2 weeks: Week 4 and Week 5. The teachers would have more time for explaining every bit in the lectures so the difficulty would step up evenly between weeks. Other than the amount of material on last week, it is a good course and highly recommended!

By doug c

Feb 21, 2016

Great course, I've learned a lot. I went from knowing little to know a lot!!. However the time I spent in the assignments is not exactly what was expected, I took probably 10 times more tan the expected time since the level of the last two weeks gets really high and lots of info is missing in order to complete assignments. Hope you improve this next time.

By ktrn

Nov 16, 2016

I enjoyed the course and succeeded, even though I was a totally beginner in Bootstrap and almost a totally beginner in HTML CSS. I'd like to admit that it is well organised, quite understandable and not really hard. Although you need to know English at the level of intermediate, be patient and have a wish to succeed while learning.

By Alexander

Jan 13, 2016

It's really cool course for beginners!

My little advice: Why lector's don't use the possibilities of Sublime? Sometimes it is so tired to see what the lector go by long way. Check this out, please http://sublime-text-unofficial-documentation.readthedocs.org/en/latest/reference/keyboard_shortcuts_win.html

By Maksym S

Nov 28, 2015

I like how this specialisation evolves... as in the previous block, it does not give you all details, but merely sets the direction. The homework assignments are quite good and, if executed properly, will teach you a lot.

The only complaint - frequent ambiguity of multiple choice quiz questions.

By Daniel R C

Nov 18, 2015

Simply great, I've learned Handlebars, a great tool to make my life easier programming instead of the use of jQuery all the time to fill DOM elements. It remains a little less difficult and probably a little more extension to cover all the details for beginner programmers people.

By Sviatlana M

Nov 16, 2015

Information is provided in clear form, lecture are easy to follow. Would like to learn more information about events (had some problem with assignment) and have more freedom on last assignment (another database, purpose of the website)