Chevron Left
Back to Responsive Web Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Responsive Web Design by University of London

4.6
stars
1,921 ratings

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to apply concepts from interaction design and human computer interaction in order to design and build an interactive, professional looking website. You will learn how to make your web page designs adapt to different screen sizes using responsive grid layouts. You will learn how to add navigation and other design elements, and you will learn how to separate data and display using JavaScript objects and templates. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Explain why users need to know where they are, where they can go and what is on a web page 2. Create wireframe mockups of web pages 3. Identify the key functional elements of web pages 4. Use Bootstrap components to realise page designs 5. Use JavaScript data structures such as arrays and objects to define the data used in a web page 6. Use the Handlebars template library to convert data to HTML 7. Add interactivity to templates using JavaScript event listeners In this course, you will complete: 1 website design assignment taking ~1 hour to complete 1 programming assignment taking ~1 hour to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

FV

Jan 20, 2016

I gave four stars for the previews course of the specialization but I have to tell that week 2 and 3 of this course are outstanding. Teachers are really putting students in the right direction.

IK

Nov 20, 2015

I've learned a lot of things in this course and I strongly recommend you to enroll this wonderful course immediately. In this course, you can learn bootstrap, Handlebars, Javascript and jQuery.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 404 Reviews for Responsive Web Design

By Siddhi V

Jan 13, 2016

Information provided are good. All in this course is about theoretic knowledge. One who completes the course has to remember each points when designing a website and also implementing. Further improvements required in this course to make sure more knowledge when taking this course.

By Diego L

Jan 27, 2016

The course is useful. I've learned many things but in the last week the lectures seemed very rushed. There was many coding that was poorly explained or not explained at all. It started good but ended poorly.

By dcuzhang

May 20, 2016

If you do not know Bootstrap, JQuery, javascript .... you will get lost after two weeks and from the feedback, it can be clear seen.

The course needs to be re-structured.

By Suryasree R

Aug 7, 2017

Not enough for a beginner if you are just working with this course alone. I supplemented my learning with MVA to complete the assignments successfully.

By Ulises T C

Jun 24, 2017

Nice course but it goes quite slow, I believe it is great for beginners but if you already know html,css,js and a bit of bootstrap this is not for you.

By Rui P B

May 24, 2017

I had to search other sources of information to better understand the content of this course. Very confusing at times!

By Gladys d f

Nov 6, 2020

El curso es excelente pero no tiene casi subtitulos en espanol y asi se dificulta mucho.

By Damir K

Feb 23, 2016

Nice but lacking. Would like it to cover more content, specially around handlebars.

By Rodrigo B L

Sep 28, 2020

The lessons learnt are kind of diffuclt and they are not clearly explained.

By Valeria L

Dec 4, 2015

It was a bit hard to follow the instructions.

By Johan K

Feb 16, 2016

Quite easy but I learned a few things.

By Button

Sep 4, 2017

Good class but too easy!

By Min K K

Sep 11, 2020

Really good course!

By Hofa N

Feb 15, 2016

thanks guys.

By PASCHAL

Nov 2, 2020

Difficult

By Name

Feb 16, 2017

.

By Florian H

Sep 19, 2016

The name of this course is misleading to me (and if it's misunderstood by one, you can assume there are other people affected as well) - it would be more clear what's expecting you if the course would be called something similar to the last assignment name "Creating a data-driven website".

The responsive part that I was interested in, was basically done with "use bootstrap" - that's pretty poor. Of course the course isn't responsible for this, but an appropriate name would fix that.

Throughout the course, the quizzes were entertaining - but the quality of the questions is questionable. Sometimes the answer is obvious because the other answers are ridiculous, sometimes you don't know what to click, even though you just watched the video carefully. Reason for this is that there are questions being asked, which weren't even touched in the lesson.

It's basically the same with the last assignment - you can watch and do all the lessons before, you've got no idea how to start and what to do as there's simply no explanation of what affects what - which seems to be extremely important in javascript. Yes, it's often told in an overview-style explanation what a function is doing, but something in depth that tells you how to write working javascript functions is lacking.

The quality of the explanations also varied in their quality. Some things that were pretty easy to understand, were explained over 10 very boring minutes, other things that were far more complex and tricky, were handled in half a minute. This made watching the videos frustrating at times. I'm not sure which kind of audience this course is supposed for, but the style varies way too much.

Furthermore it's great that coursera is offering an iPad-app, but I'd like to be able to use and do everything that the app is offering me (and in the best case: everything that's necessary for the course). I can't even review classmates, as they're uploading .rar or .zip-files, which can't be accessed via iPad, and also javascript is a problem for ipads. Unpacking such files and running them on your servers would be an option, maybe.

By Joe W

Nov 12, 2015

Wasn't much of a class about responsive design, only one of the four weeks talked about responsive web design. Much of the class was about parts of building sites that aren't relevant to building a responsive site. The week that discussed responsive design just talked about using bootstrap

By Ricardo T

May 27, 2017

Not satisfied with this content's course. It's too basic, assignments are poor. There are far better Responsive Web Design and Boostrap courses out there even in Coursera.

By Nitin M

May 21, 2016

Very theoretical course they should add some hands on. Its like mugging things for quiz.

By Zhiyong T

Jan 1, 2016

Videos mostly show lecturers talking to camera.

By Markus R

Oct 6, 2016

The course starts with a short introduction on the topic of usability and user experience. A good idea, but not very well presented.

Next is an intro to bootstrap. OK, but not deep enough for a course called "Responsive Web Design".

The last two weeks cover JavaScript. Or more precisely: they cover a few JavaScript libraries.

To sum it up, the course could really use a revision. There are too many mistakes in the examples and sometimes, the instructors look a bit unprepared and confused.

By Christopher W

Sep 2, 2020

Let's be brutally honest here - this course is no where near up to date. It's 'interesting' to follow but you're not learning anything that's current or relevant. This course needs to either be updated, offered for free or taken down because it's not up to the standard you'd expect from University of London course.

By THOMAS R

Apr 22, 2020

Low on detail. Skips too many important fundamentals. Content has not been updated certainly since 2015 and perhaps as far as back as 2011-13. Uses now out of date JavaScript pre-ES6.

By Dominik L

Jan 27, 2022

i cant be that you have tests where 80% fail, then there is something wrong in the setup, btw content is outdated as well