Chevron Left
Back to Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
stars
884 ratings
260 reviews

About the Course

Do you want to learn how to plan affordable and context-specific sanitation solutions? Be up-to-date on the newest developments in urban sanitation planning and programming? Get to know best practice examples of urban sanitation systems in low- and middle-income countries? If yes, this course is for you! This course provides you with an introduction to integrated sanitation planning, both on a citywide scale and for specific contexts such as informal settlements. You will become familiar with different sanitation planning frameworks as well as different systems and technologies relevant along the sanitation value chain. You will learn why systems’ thinking is crucial for urban environmental sanitation, and how to apply key terminology and important concepts. INSTRUCTION Eawag-Sandec and EPFL jointly offer this course with support from sanitation experts of the World Bank and WHO. LANGUAGES We simultaneously offer this course in English and French. The name of the French course is « Planification & Design des Systèmes et Technologies d’Assainissement ». MOOC SERIES This course is one of four in the series “Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development"....

Top reviews

FA
Sep 5, 2020

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

TN
Nov 19, 2016

An eye opener to inclusive sanitation planning. The course content was very well delivered not to mention the choice of case studies of failed and successful urban sanitation projects. Keep it up!!!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 243 Reviews for Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies

By Julio P

May 8, 2017

I took subjects related to wastewater treatment during my career and I think this course summarize topics related in an effective and comprehensive way . I really enjoy your material and the way you are pleased to share your knowledge and case of studies with us.

By Karl Z

Jun 30, 2018

Brilliant course. Synthetic but well done, description and design are accurate. I like it. I think that more tests would be useful for the teacher to value us and for us to get firm view point and feedback from our preparation . karl ziegler

By Tapan K M

Nov 8, 2016

This is an awesome course which provides different techniques of sanitation and to access it. It focuses about the technology and treatment facility . These techniques must be adopted for better and healthy environment.

By Kene C D

Oct 8, 2020

I have found the course to be very informative, i learnt a lot on sanitation planning that i did not understand. It has given me an idea and equipped me with the knowledge to plan for sanitation in my city.

By Mulbah W

Jan 16, 2017

Awesome and excellent course for students, professional and everyone interested in Planning & Design of Sanitation Systems and Technologies for low income countries like my country Liberia.

By Francisco U M

Apr 7, 2020

Excellent course with practical, empirical and applicable tools. It integrates technical, social, economic and cultural perspectives to successfully implement sanitation systems.

By Francis A

Oct 13, 2020

I think a module should be delivered on how to use the SFD with work examples. This will help the students appreciate it more and help them develop one on their own.

Thanks

By Vinod N

May 8, 2020

Good learning course for environmental engineer but in my point of view it mostly theoretical and requires more animation picture and videos to make it more effective

By Michael B

Jun 11, 2017

A great overview on the topic. Gives a great perspective that will help me manage WASH project's more effectively and provide more significant inputs.

By Jorge Z G

Apr 9, 2018

Quite interesting course, mainly because of the introduction to very useful material, such as the Compendium or the CLUES methodologies.

By VINÍCIUS O P M

Jul 16, 2017

The course is excellent! But there should be more quizzes to assess our development throughout the course.

By Parth G

Feb 18, 2018

THIS COURSE IS USEFUL,ESPECIALLY "THE COMPENDIUM" IS MOST USEFUL FOR SANITATION PLANNING AND APPROACH.

By Ajay V B

Mar 1, 2018

The policy part of the course(last week) seems a bit dry.Apart from that, the course is informative.

By Vishal Y

Aug 4, 2020

This course has it all in terms of information, practical case studies and real world modelling

By Martin C

May 18, 2017

Very good course! Lots of resources and interesting case studies to illustrate course content.

By Luis V

Apr 24, 2017

It has been a really interesting course facing all the statements involved in the sanitation.

By Susanne M

Nov 20, 2016

Highly usefull overview of different technologies and minor improvements to existing systems

By Kowshik V E

Jan 5, 2017

Informative and motivating, especially to the young and passionate environmental engineers.

By Michel F D R

Nov 14, 2016

Excelente curso, con conceptos basicos muy buenos, sumamente entendible e interesante

By Visa T

Nov 22, 2016

Very good and helpful for understanding any sanitation system and technologies.

By Rakesh K P

Jan 12, 2017

really learnt a lot,i wish they conduct more couses on architecture as well

By Phiri A

Aug 9, 2020

its indeed a very good course and it has improved my sanitation skills

By Glen L

Dec 16, 2018

Extremely interesting and helpful in professional and personal life

By Saad M

Jan 11, 2017

I havent received my certificate for completing this course why ?

By KARINE L

May 17, 2019

Very interesting, well explained and illustrated