Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
stars
2,383 ratings
494 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

CC
Jun 7, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

BP
Nov 28, 2019

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 477 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Tyler F

Oct 6, 2018

Somewhat specific, hard to reuse knowledge but do recommend if you're someone who works with Spark or even just work with someone who does.

By Pravina S M

Sep 8, 2018

It would be great if there are 2 assignments covering dataframes and datasets spanning week3 & week4 instead of week 3 with no assignment

By P.K

Jul 15, 2017

Way Much Better Presentation than the previous 2 courses in this Specialization!!!

Dr Heather and M. Odersky are really good professors!!!

By Frédéric D

Jun 18, 2017

With this course, I surely improved my knowledge about Spark... But I am still thinking that Spark is an overly intricate framework.

By Valter F

May 29, 2019

I love the indepth aproach at the RDDs. I'd say DataFrames and DataSets required a bit more examples and testing material though.

By Björn W

Apr 10, 2017

Quizzes in the lecture videos would be nice. Also more, but shorter videos would be enjoyable. Programming assignments very nice!

By Evgheni E

Mar 24, 2017

The video speed is way to fast, this woman is speaking really fast, first as i slowed the video down at 75% was its ok.

By Rudolf Z

Oct 29, 2017

Good course. Lectures intoduce main concepts of spark very well. Also good explained how spark works under the hood.

By Jose R

Feb 8, 2018

Creo que es un curso muy educativo y muy práctico con retos que permiten conocer las herramientas en profundidad

By Andrejs A

Jan 8, 2020

Specially the last lectures where useful. but there is quite some gap between the lectures and practical task.

By Léo Z

May 7, 2017

Good course. Could be more comprehensive about analysis. Content is all video and Lecture notes would be nice.

By ANKIT S

Oct 25, 2018

Very good and knowledgeable course. It basically explains about spark core, dataframe, dataset and spark sql.

By Łukasz G

Apr 25, 2017

Good introduction to Spark. One thing that I didn't like was use of simple Ints and Strings instead of types.

By CarloNicolini

Apr 7, 2020

Learned a lot of new things, but I would have focused on more but shorter and more variegate assignments.

By Ting T W

May 9, 2020

Nice course, get a fundamental knowledge of spark, scala. Homework is good with a decent level.

By Patrik

Jan 13, 2020

The videos had focus issues every now and again. It was still possible to see everything shown

By Jose P A A

Jun 29, 2017

Good stuff, well presented, but the instructor takes no risks to explain more complex details.

By aknin k

Dec 25, 2019

Bien mais j'aurais aimé avoir plus d'exercices pour s'entrainer sur les dataframes / datasets

By Chuishi

Jan 8, 2018

Very good course! Contents are very useful. The lectures are intuitive, thorough and clear.

By Sjoerd T

Apr 8, 2017

Took a bit long before the course actually started, but when it did, it was a great course!

By Sridhar K

Sep 7, 2018

Really i get a wonderful experience and it gives the platform to increase my knowledge.

By Federico A G C

Jun 30, 2018

The instructor is great as well as the material. The exercises are a little off topic

By Khalid S

Mar 25, 2018

The course didn't flow as smoothly as I would have liked but I still recommend it.

By Piotr G

Jul 5, 2017

Great content, however some materials are not clear and videos had a few problems.

By Aaron

Dec 10, 2019

A good course to know about how spark works but not how to use it, I like this!