Chevron Left
Back to Writing in the Sciences

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Writing in the Sciences by Stanford University

4.9
stars
7,548 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Top reviews

AG

Jan 11, 2023

The best course I attain in Coursera. I struggled a lot to write my first manuscript and it took a lot of time. This course is beneficial for all scientific students. I highly recommended this course.

KK

Sep 14, 2020

Hello Kristin

Thank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 2,519 Reviews for Writing in the Sciences

By PAULA F D S

Dec 2, 2021

Um curso bastante abrangente no ramo das ciências exatas e biológicas, mas muita coisa não se aplica para artigos escritos em português na área de humanas.

By Sunatoli

Oct 12, 2021

There is room for improvement in terms of peer reviews and peer plagiarism. The course itself as presented by Dr. Sainani was excellent. I learned a lot.

By Jinit M

Jul 2, 2020

The course was very helpful and would be of great benefit for me in my future. Thank you so much Stanford University for giving this wonderful opportunity.

By Esteban D M N

Oct 21, 2018

Very useful course to develope skills for writing papers. In this moment I'm finally planning to start my paper abour infertility, I expect to do it great!

By Vida V S

Feb 25, 2023

I had fun learning this course. This course is worth completing for someone who wants to improve their writing for scientific papers or technical reports!

By Annus Z

Jul 31, 2022

It's a great short-course to get some basic do's and don'ts of writing in the sciences. It's extremely well-designed for newcomers in scientific writing.

By Rahul B

Apr 12, 2021

A very good course to learn effective scientific writing. It is structured precisely. I have learnt a lot of writing about writing scientific information.

By Akin A C

Mar 27, 2021

It was a fantastic course! I've learned and improved my scientific writing a lot! Thank you so much Coursera and Stanford University for this opportunity!

By Gunimala C

Sep 28, 2020

v

e

r

y

g

o

o

d

a

n

d

well planed module, I enjoyed listening to all the materials and activities. Thanks coursera writing in science for helping me improve myself!

By SAMIR B

Jun 7, 2020

One of the best Courses by coursera. It is truly helpful to me for writing Research articles and guiding a roadmap for my career. Truly a very good course

By merl s

May 31, 2020

A comprehensive, well-organized course which took me to the next level as a writer. The demo exercises were particularly great to practice what we learnt.

By Stephanie C

Apr 9, 2020

Fantastic course of medical literature and writing, as well as a brief into to other related topics (ie - grant writing, writing for the lay person, etc.)

By SAMER A

Nov 6, 2017

it was a very valuable course, i have learned a lot of new skills in writing scientific papers. Thank for such

informative course and great presentation.

By Kristine C

May 16, 2022

I liked the self pace and the instructor gave clear, concise instructions. I will be using the information I learned in this course in my future writing.

By Dmitri B

Mar 16, 2021

A very good structured curse. The teacher explained the topics very well and I actually learned a lot and I can actually apply in my work what I learned.

By Kyvia T

Mar 5, 2021

Excellent course! I learned a lot about how to write clearly and concisely. In addition, on the importance of scientific dissemination to the lay public.

By vamsi k

Dec 6, 2020

This is a course I enjoyed and learned thoroughly. Realized many mistakes that I used to do. I will suggest this course to every youngster into research.

By Asma'a Y

Apr 13, 2021

It was very informative and addressed many types of writing along with the ample amount of practice

I'd definitely recommend it especially for beginners

By Aleksandra K

Jan 23, 2021

I think that course was great! It really helped me in critical thinking. Dr. Kristin Sainani is the best Instructor I could have (wish we meet one day).

By Jennifer

Sep 9, 2020

Excellent course, delivered in a clear and concise format. I would highly recommend this course to anyone seeking to improve their basic writing skills.

By Vinitha R P

Mar 21, 2020

Very good course. Informative and hands on. The activities given were thought triggering. Good luck. I hope many more scholars benefit from this course.

By Maya J

Oct 18, 2017

Great explanations and lots of good editing practice. A lot of online english classes don’t work for me, but I finally found this one that really does!

By Diane G

Sep 6, 2022

I found this class a wonderful reminder of how essential it is to be clear and concise. It also helped me gain more confidence in my writing ability.

By Parimita V

Aug 4, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It helped me improve my editing skills and also made me write more creatively to make the content look more appealing.

By Sankara N D

Aug 15, 2020

I recommend this course to all graduate students who are pursuing PhDs. You get wonderful writing skills that help you while writing research articles.