Chevron Left
Back to Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.6
447 ratings
115 reviews

About the Course

Learn about Smart Cities within the context of management of urban infrastructures. The introduction of Smart urban technologies into legacy infrastructures has resulted in numerous challenges and opportunities for contemporary cities and will continue to do so. This course will help you to understand how to make the best of these smart technologies in your cities’ legacy infrastructures. Over the past few years, advances in the Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have significantly challenged the traditionally stable land scape of urban infrastructure service provision. This has resulted in increasing interest from both technology vendors and public authorities in the transition of cities towards so-called “Smart Cities”. Although such “Smart technologies” can provide immense opportunities for citizens and service providers alike, the ICTs often act as disruptive innovators of urban infrastructure service provision. In this MOOC, you will gain a thorough understanding of the challenges and opportunities associated with the Smart urban infrastructures, namely Smart urban transportation and Smart urban energy systems. Over the journey of this 5-week online course you will learn about the most important principles for the management of Smart urban infrastructures as well as the applications of these principles in the transportation and energy sectors. This course does not have any prerequisites. However, to take the most away from of this MOOC, we strongly encourage you to enroll in our other MOOC on the Management of Urban Infrastructures, which has been widely praised by learners. Through this course, you will: - Gain a deep understanding of the nature of disruptive innovations (smart technologies) in urban infrastructure systems; - Learn about state-of-the-art strategies for effectively managing the transition from legacy infrastructures to smart urban systems; - Study the management of the transition phase from legacy infrastructure systems to smart cities by supporting innovations while avoiding early lock-in; and - Understand potential applications of the materials learned in this course within the context of the management of smart urban transportation systems as well as smart urban energy systems....

Top reviews

RS

Feb 12, 2019

A great overview of the smart cities topic - covered a great deal of information in a short amount of time, and provided useful perspectives through which to think about critical issues.

LY

Mar 13, 2018

Excellent overview on different aspects of smart urban infrastructure. Course creators made complex issues really easy to understand, even for absolute beginners.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 118 Reviews for Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures

By Jose U R

Jul 16, 2019

Excelente curso para identificar los componentes, retos y oportunidades de la transición a las Ciudades Inteligentes.

By Oumar K

Jul 14, 2019

I am very satisfied by this course. Indeed, it's very well structured and pedagogic. I do recommand it !

By Rakesh K L

Jun 29, 2019

Good course content..it will help me on the smart city project to define the priority of smart city initiatives.

Thank you so much

By ANKIT K G

Jun 26, 2019

Good level of understanding

By Magesh N

Jun 14, 2019

This is one of the best courses I have completed in Coursera. There are not many courses on the emerging topic of Smart Cities. Prof Mathias Finger and his team have delivered a well structured, technical content making it easily accessible. I personally learnt a lot. One of the key features of this MOOC is interviews from practitioners. They were intellectually stimulation and showing relevance of topics being discussed to Industry. Presentation by Prof Falting was very stimulation. Thank you for the entire team for making this course available in Coursera. Very much appreciate it.

By Hakan K

Jun 09, 2019

This MOOC really helped me to learn about the steps of transition towards a smart city and how to manage them in a brief perspective. I firmly believe that, all this infomation will be very useful through my career goals.

By Arielle M

Jun 04, 2019

Very good MOOC!!

By Preeti S

May 10, 2019

Great instructor. Loved the course

By Archana T R

May 07, 2019

Pretty helpful MOOC :) I learnt a lot of new things and it helped me think differently.

By Pablo R C

May 05, 2019

Muy buen curso, recomendable para todo público.

By Matthieu F

May 04, 2019

A complete systemic view of the matter, blending principles with practical examples, classroom explanations and insiders' interviews. Thanks!

By Mukesh K B

May 03, 2019

This course gives you a basics of Smart City ideas what are components are pertaining for implementation. There is good understanding elaboration and dependable interrelationship of layers level of communication.

By Minjung K

Apr 30, 2019

Good reinforcement

By Narong K

Apr 24, 2019

Highly recommended!

By Joao M

Apr 01, 2019

This course is about generic concepts on governance towards the implementation of Smart City systems. It does not cover practical or technological issues.

By Jovana V

Mar 11, 2019

The course show some really interesting points about smart cities.

By Robert S

Feb 12, 2019

A great overview of the smart cities topic - covered a great deal of information in a short amount of time, and provided useful perspectives through which to think about critical issues.

By Vaishalik J

Jan 31, 2019

Great course

By Ramkumar S

Jan 23, 2019

Excellent course.

Very concise and thorough. Great materials.

By Shafique A

Jan 23, 2019

My one of the best learning experience so far. Thanks a lot

By Ouail E I

Dec 24, 2018

Very important course !

By RIZWAN K

Dec 05, 2018

I have been enlightened by the course study and the material provided hence have given a 4 star rating for the course.The questionnaire which are provided at the end of the each block are refreshing while as the final test quiz need good preparation to qualify.Thank you for the support.

By Joël R

Nov 24, 2018

Good theorical introduction to smart cities concepts.

Relevant interviews.

A definition of smart cities or urban manager would be appreciate. Sometimes, not very clear distinction with policy makers

Giving more instantiated views of the concept would be appreciated too.

Easy quizz evaluation mode (regarding to some other course ;-)

By Mohamed A C

Nov 17, 2018

un bon Mooc

By Phannisa N

Nov 07, 2018

English of this course is somewhat hard to follow. And I would like to learn more about case studies.