Chevron Left
Back to Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.6
549 ratings
137 reviews

About the Course

Learn about Smart Cities within the context of management of urban infrastructures. The introduction of Smart urban technologies into legacy infrastructures has resulted in numerous challenges and opportunities for contemporary cities and will continue to do so. This course will help you to understand how to make the best of these smart technologies in your cities’ legacy infrastructures. Over the past few years, advances in the Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have significantly challenged the traditionally stable land scape of urban infrastructure service provision. This has resulted in increasing interest from both technology vendors and public authorities in the transition of cities towards so-called “Smart Cities”. Although such “Smart technologies” can provide immense opportunities for citizens and service providers alike, the ICTs often act as disruptive innovators of urban infrastructure service provision. In this MOOC, you will gain a thorough understanding of the challenges and opportunities associated with the Smart urban infrastructures, namely Smart urban transportation and Smart urban energy systems. Over the journey of this 5-week online course you will learn about the most important principles for the management of Smart urban infrastructures as well as the applications of these principles in the transportation and energy sectors. This course does not have any prerequisites. However, to take the most away from of this MOOC, we strongly encourage you to enroll in our other MOOC on the Management of Urban Infrastructures, which has been widely praised by learners. Through this course, you will: - Gain a deep understanding of the nature of disruptive innovations (smart technologies) in urban infrastructure systems; - Learn about state-of-the-art strategies for effectively managing the transition from legacy infrastructures to smart urban systems; - Study the management of the transition phase from legacy infrastructure systems to smart cities by supporting innovations while avoiding early lock-in; and - Understand potential applications of the materials learned in this course within the context of the management of smart urban transportation systems as well as smart urban energy systems....

Top reviews

PR

Nov 24, 2019

Very detailed and to the point course related to the smart city projects. Transition from ordinary urbanization to smart urbanization is accurately explained. Thank you sir for this course.

RS

Feb 12, 2019

A great overview of the smart cities topic - covered a great deal of information in a short amount of time, and provided useful perspectives through which to think about critical issues.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 134 Reviews for Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures

By Shafique A

Jan 23, 2019

My one of the best learning experience so far. Thanks a lot

By Ramkumar S

Jan 23, 2019

Excellent course.

Very concise and thorough. Great materials.

By Robert S

Feb 12, 2019

A great overview of the smart cities topic - covered a great deal of information in a short amount of time, and provided useful perspectives through which to think about critical issues.

By Ouail E I

Dec 24, 2018

Very important course !

By Joanne H

Sep 21, 2018

Well done and relevant! Good overview and also appropriate depth.

By RAN V R

Aug 27, 2018

very informative and knowledge enhancing

By Ellen G

Nov 01, 2018

The course was well done, the topics were organised in a way to keep us interested.

By Jorge A

Oct 31, 2018

I really loved the course, very informative and motivational to keep doing research in the subject

By Mohamed A C

Nov 17, 2018

un bon Mooc

By Jon P

Mar 24, 2017

Prof. Finger does a fantastic job. This is my second course from him though his institution and about my 6th or 7th on Coursera. The class is structured nicely and IGLUS gets great speakers from relevant fields of work with great insight. Thanks for the learning experience!

By ALEJANDRO L M

Feb 01, 2018

Great course about Smart Cities. I wanted to deepen my knowledge in this interesting topic and this course was a good choice.

By Saji G

May 05, 2017

it really gave an insight to Smart City Concepts. It was also clearly explained with examples.

By Samuel d J M d B

Jun 24, 2018

Curso excelente. Claro, prático e simples. Os exemplos dos executivos ajudam muito a compreender os desafios e os conceitos mais complexos de Smart Cities.

By Cyrus M

Apr 11, 2018

Great course! Facilitators were great in brininging out the concepts in an easy to understand manner, and i very much enjoyed and appreciate the interviews from industry leaders on the topics being taught.

By Eric P L

Sep 12, 2017

Un excellent mix de concepts théoriques et pratiques.

By Arunava S

Mar 02, 2017

Excellent course for beginners to understand the concepts of smart cities. Recommended for professionals from allied disciplines.

By Madhukar V

Nov 27, 2017

Very information and useful course to understand the challenges and solutions for Smart City for Energy and Transport domains. I would be interested to know more about Waste Management, Water Management etc..

By ohad d

Aug 12, 2017

Very enlightening, raises a lot of questions and answer a whole lot of them (and other). Thank you!

By ALESSANDRA E M

Aug 09, 2017

Excellent course! Special congratulations to Prof. Mathias Finger.

By Livia M M

Sep 08, 2017

Clear, concise and instructive! Thank you

By Muhammad A M

Dec 25, 2017

A very interactive course to learn the overall strategic structure of smart cities and how a traditional urban infrastructure can be made smart through ICTs or data layer with two approaches shift pathway and improve pathway. Thanks EPFL, Love from Lahore, Pakistan.

By Minna K

Jul 15, 2017

I truly enjoyed the course and learned loads. I already had some kind of idea what IOT and digitalization mean but this course gave me a very comprehensive and hands on explanation. Additionally, I enjoyed the mobility part of the course as I bike, use public transport and would like to enhance the performance of that area in my home city.

By Alex N K

Jun 21, 2017

The course has provided me with broad understanding of yesterday and future cities management infrastructure problems and possible solutions to create an environmental friendly city. Though it has concentrate more on energy, it could be great to look at water as it is a very important part of our lives and going scares.

By SunXiaotao

Oct 26, 2017

Thanks for your courses. It help me understand the Urban Infrastructures and its important role in cities, and how it transition to smart cities, the challenges we meets. It really help me so much in my study!

By Andres S

May 26, 2017

The findings and the information are fantastic. You are drawn into the lectures and theory that develops smart infrastructure and cities.