Chevron Left
Back to Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
stars
1,188 ratings
257 reviews

About the Course

Learn about Smart Cities within the context of management of urban infrastructures. The introduction of Smart urban technologies into legacy infrastructures has resulted in numerous challenges and opportunities for contemporary cities and will continue to do so. This course will help you to understand how to make the best of these smart technologies in your cities’ legacy infrastructures. Over the past few years, advances in the Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have significantly challenged the traditionally stable land scape of urban infrastructure service provision. This has resulted in increasing interest from both technology vendors and public authorities in the transition of cities towards so-called “Smart Cities”. Although such “Smart technologies” can provide immense opportunities for citizens and service providers alike, the ICTs often act as disruptive innovators of urban infrastructure service provision. In this MOOC, you will gain a thorough understanding of the challenges and opportunities associated with the Smart urban infrastructures, namely Smart urban transportation and Smart urban energy systems. Over the journey of this 5-week online course you will learn about the most important principles for the management of Smart urban infrastructures as well as the applications of these principles in the transportation and energy sectors. This course does not have any prerequisites. However, to take the most away from of this MOOC, we strongly encourage you to enroll in our other MOOC on the Management of Urban Infrastructures, which has been widely praised by learners. Through this course, you will: - Gain a deep understanding of the nature of disruptive innovations (smart technologies) in urban infrastructure systems; - Learn about state-of-the-art strategies for effectively managing the transition from legacy infrastructures to smart urban systems; - Study the management of the transition phase from legacy infrastructure systems to smart cities by supporting innovations while avoiding early lock-in; and - Understand potential applications of the materials learned in this course within the context of the management of smart urban transportation systems as well as smart urban energy systems....

Top reviews

DP
Sep 14, 2020

Quite informative. Loved the way of instructions. It's a very simple English accent and I was able to grasp it even without subtitle. The handouts/reading material is more helpful to work on quizzes.

PR
Nov 23, 2019

Very detailed and to the point course related to the smart city projects. Transition from ordinary urbanization to smart urbanization is accurately explained. Thank you sir for this course.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 251 Reviews for Smart Cities – Management of Smart Urban Infrastructures

By Adolfo G

Oct 29, 2020

El CURSO , es realmente excelente , las explicaciones y ejemplos muy claros e instructivos . MUCHAS GRACIAS POR HABERME PERMITIDO REALIZARLO .

By Tatenda D C

Mar 12, 2018

This course is great. I like the way the course is structured and how the lecturers are able to articulate complex matters in a simple format.

By Matthieu F

May 4, 2019

A complete systemic view of the matter, blending principles with practical examples, classroom explanations and insiders' interviews. Thanks!

By Mario H

Aug 17, 2017

Really interesting to have a good point of view about the smart city concept, its origin and the best approach to deal with this process.

By Andres S

May 26, 2017

The findings and the information are fantastic. You are drawn into the lectures and theory that develops smart infrastructure and cities.

By Marian M M

Sep 29, 2020

Very concise course. Every block is laid out in systematic manner to provide a more conducive learning environment to the participant.

By Dr. J H G

May 8, 2020

Excellent course to learn the skills needed for management of smart urban infrastructure

Thanks to all the Instructors of this course

By Arunava S

Mar 2, 2017

Excellent course for beginners to understand the concepts of smart cities. Recommended for professionals from allied disciplines.

By Lucas d M

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent introductory class on smart cities. The ppts, videos, readings, interviews and examinations are very well put together.

By MohamedTharwet

Jan 23, 2021

I would recommend to add more real examples like what we had seen in the interview which is related to sensors of pollution

By ALEJANDRO L M

Feb 1, 2018

Great course about Smart Cities. I wanted to deepen my knowledge in this interesting topic and this course was a good choice.

By Helena F L

Jan 21, 2020

Great course. Concepts are well-explained. Classes are complemented by written materials. Interviews with relevant actors.

By Jose U R

Jul 15, 2019

Excelente curso para identificar los componentes, retos y oportunidades de la transición a las Ciudades Inteligentes.

By Fırat Y

Sep 14, 2020

I am planning to study in Smart City Management and this course started to pave the way for me in an excellent way !

By Ghazi K

Nov 28, 2019

Great overview on key challenges and success factors for managing the transition towards smarter cities. Thanks

By Esin G

Feb 3, 2018

A great course for those interested and searching for in-depth information and knowledge about smart cities !

By cristian p c

Aug 2, 2020

a very interesting course, with very different perspectives on how digitalization can lead to an smart city.

By Ayah A R A S

Oct 21, 2020

this course was very useful to me , well oriented and direct to the point .

many thanks for the instructors

By Oumar K

Jul 14, 2019

I am very satisfied by this course. Indeed, it's very well structured and pedagogic. I do recommand it !

By Edwin R P

Jun 28, 2020

Excelente!!! Es una primera inmersión conceptual al mundo de las ciudades inteligentes, Lo recomiendo.

By Rosalind R

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent Course to understand transition to smart city development and understand all implications

By Giancarlo S

Jan 14, 2018

This is an extremely well prepared course, focusing on the actual trends and theory on Smart Cities

By ohad d

Aug 12, 2017

Very enlightening, raises a lot of questions and answer a whole lot of them (and other). Thank you!

By Kaustav R

Jul 4, 2020

Excellent explanation of the key concepts. Students have been shown a clear roadmap of the future.

By Jorge A

Oct 31, 2018

I really loved the course, very informative and motivational to keep doing research in the subject