Chevron Left
Back to Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation by University of Cape Town

4.8
stars
1,162 ratings
469 reviews

About the Course

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Top reviews

SI
Feb 10, 2018

Highly recommended for the change agents who have no background in social entrepreneurship. This course will walk you through step by step into changing the system for the better of humanity habitats.

SA
Jul 2, 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 463 Reviews for Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

By Nuala S

Jan 16, 2019

Thought provoking course. The weekly videos give a broad outline of the topic and the suggested reading / videos give learners a chance to dive deeper into the subject.

By Tamsin N

Sep 10, 2017

A great introduction to Social Innovation to get you started on your big ideas. I hope that a second course may be created that teaches you to go from idea to business.

By Bushra A

Jul 18, 2017

I have learned a lot from this course and it has helped to open my mind to solutions which are already existent within environment rather than inventing something new.

By Nkosikhona M

May 15, 2020

A well-structured course and the information provided is very helpful. Good examples provided well done to all the stakeholders who are involved in the course.

By Barwa J

Jul 6, 2020

This is a wonderful course to take. I learnt to identify hidden resources and think of how to channel them to solve the social problems in my community

By Desire P

Apr 14, 2020

This course was exceptional as it broaden my knowledge on becoming a change maker and learning new skills. It also helped me get out of my comfort zone

By João G R

Jul 9, 2020

Its a great course to have a glimpse of Social Innovation, lectures are good and the workload is up to you to make something good or not

By Prasann S

May 13, 2020

It showed me a way to look towards the society with empathy and start a change as small as possible

By Clàudia

May 10, 2020

Extremely motivational and revealing. Very suitable in the current global situation.

By Olutoye D F

Apr 24, 2020

One of the most engaging, rich and highly interactive course! It's top notch.

By Sakir A

Jul 27, 2019

Would be better if it was self paced...peer assignments take a lot of time...

By Phutanate P

May 23, 2020

I got many ideas for my career and my vision. Thanks a lot for this course.

By Bala K

May 11, 2020

A good initiate of social innovation and the course enrich our knowledge

By Sydelle S J

Aug 5, 2020

Thought this was a great intro to social innovation and in depth.

By Waleed L

Aug 29, 2020

Recommended for anyone interested in doing some social good.

By Lungisa S

Jul 9, 2020

Awesome course learnt a lot about social innovation from it.

By RIGZIN N

May 22, 2020

good for beginners who aspire to become a social innovators.

By Ongeziwe N

Mar 8, 2019

Amazing. I thoroughly enjoyed the course!

By SIRISILLA R

Jun 4, 2020

It was a nice learning experience..

By Nina A

Mar 7, 2017

Great and inspirational course!

By Sadia M

May 10, 2020

it was amazing.thanks everyone

By Franco G A

Jun 11, 2019

very good reflection excercise

By Santhosh R

Jul 9, 2020

Really interesting and good

By ARNAV S

Jun 28, 2020

it was a good course

By Samiul I

Jun 1, 2020

it was so creative