Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Systems Overview

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Systems Overview by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
404 ratings
109 reviews

About the Course

By the end of this course, learners will have acquired a broad understanding of the history and mechanics behind converting light into electricity, commonly known as photovoltaics (PV). They are empowered to recognize and describe elements of a PV system, enabling them to: compare the most common types of solar cells, sketch a solar PV system, and analyze differences between rooftop and ground mounting configurations. The course explores economic considerations, touching on solar PV costs for residential and commercial use, incentives, and contrasts solar power with fossil fuel and nuclear plants. This course is ideal for anyone interested in entering the solar power sector, whether fresh to the workforce or switching industries. The curriculum is especially useful for engineers, HVAC installers, architects, and building code inspectors. Material includes online lectures, videos, demos, project work, readings and discussions. This is the first course in the Solar PV for Engineers, Architects and Code Inspectors specialization. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://youtu.be/XjkKzbXqA6s....

Top reviews

SB
Aug 22, 2020

Extremely beneficial for someone new to solar energy and looking to get a better understanding of the industry. This certainly helps you with basic concepts, terminology and much more.

SM
Aug 6, 2020

The course was extremely informative for beginners and gives a thorough walk through. Well presented. Could understand everything. What was outstanding is the hands on demos.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 108 Reviews for Solar Energy Systems Overview

By steven b

Aug 23, 2020

Extremely beneficial for someone new to solar energy and looking to get a better understanding of the industry. This certainly helps you with basic concepts, terminology and much more.

By Babatunde T O

Jul 22, 2020

It is a very interesting and knowledgeable course. You learn Conversion of light to Electricity, how solar cells came to limelight, ROI on investment etc

By Lavanya A D

Jul 18, 2020

It was great learning about this amazing cost efficient energy source. Definitely going to consider shifting to solar energy consumption.

By ABHIJIT S

Jul 30, 2020

Good Day ,Thank you for informing and offering us of this Specialization Course on Offer which I was unaware of .

Thank You to Coursera team as always as this is relevant . Thanks and Warm Regards.ABHIJIT SENGUPTAKolkata , IndiaWebsite : www.pactolianconsulting.comE - Mail : abhijit@pactolianconsulting.comPortfolio URL : https://about.me/abhijitsenguptaSkype : abhijit.sengupta357Ph. : + 91 6290750012Cell : + 91 9163863607

By Nadine R

Nov 13, 2020

I really want to appreciate and thank you for this interesting course. It is currently helping me a lot during my training in France since I am working on an innovative BIPV system. I also want to thank you Dr. Canough for your way of teaching. You make learning so interesting. Your explanation was outstanding. I appreciate your enthusiasm for PV systems. It certainly is positively contagious! Thank you :)

By Fazla Z A

Aug 23, 2020

It is a very interesting and knowledgeable course. You learn Conversion of light to Electricity, how solar cells came to limelight, ROI on investment etc. The course was extremely informative for beginners and gives a thorough walk through. Well presented. Could understand everything. What was outstanding is the hands on demos.

By Chrissie A S C

Oct 1, 2020

The course was very easy to understand and it was fun at the same time, there were not many dull moments. Also, the quizzes and the assessment's answers come from the lesson, it is not something that just pops out from nowhere, I have enjoyed it overall and it was not stressful, I did not have to force myself.

By SIDDHESH W

Oct 9, 2020

Very Useful course for beginners and even the students who are currently studying in this field. This course spread awareness about the gifts which we are receiving from nature at zero cost. Also, encourage the student to work in this field and peruse higher-level education in this field.

By Emmanuel R A

Nov 2, 2020

Great course. Thank you Mrs. Gay your passion for solar energy has inspired me to start working on my own company and push the renewable energy sector to give up on conventional energy sources for a better future.

By Jorge A A G

Jul 28, 2020

This course is amazing, do not hesitate to take it. I'm looking forward to complete all the courses from this specialization Dr. Canough is a wonderful teacher, the classes are very funny and interesting with her.

By Sohan L B

Jul 16, 2020

100% Efforts by Instructor Gay E Canough

Its amazing to learn how each aspects is being covered in the course.

PRACTICAL Videos of the each parts of the solar was very impressive.

Just Excellent!!!!

By Sreeram K M

Aug 7, 2020

The course was extremely informative for beginners and gives a thorough walk through. Well presented. Could understand everything. What was outstanding is the hands on demos.

By AGENT V

Nov 1, 2020

It's a wonderful experience to learn from Prof. Gay E Canough. Mam has 30 years of experience in this field and help me understood with apple to apple comparison.

By OTHOI K R

Jul 18, 2020

It is a great and easy to follow course taught by an industry professional. If you have already done similar courses you will find it very easy to follow.

By Divye K

Aug 2, 2020

This course is just the basic course for Solar Energy but overall it's a must-do the course if you are interested in Solar Energy.

By Kolawole E O

Oct 6, 2020

This course allows one's exposure into solar energy systems and operation in practice and theoretical knowledge.

Thanks so much!

By Cristian D B R

Aug 19, 2020

It gives a general notion about what solar system is. Really useful to begin in the knowledge of this technology.

By Juan E C N

Jul 24, 2020

Was a good way to understand what new kind of PV Solar Systems are now aviable for houseowners and enterprises.

By Ali A

Sep 18, 2020

I loved this course with not only theoretical but also practical content offered by an experienced instructor.

By Hammad A

Sep 23, 2020

It was very good content but the pace and tone of speaking was quite fast. The score of learning is 100/100.

By Iaron D B T O

Aug 20, 2020

Very descriptive course, builds a strong foundation if you are going to get deeper into solar systems.

By Kristina L

Aug 6, 2020

Great professor and the information was really easy to follow as a engineer with a civil background!

By Bruno J E H S

Oct 29, 2020

Really good introduction to the solar energy world, already thinking in applying it on my house.

By Regaib F K

Nov 5, 2020

An introduction to

Solar cells,Grid systems,Economics of solar panels and many information.

By Avima H

Aug 2, 2020

I interest about the material. It's so interesting and can be applied in real life.