Chevron Left
Back to Solar Energy Systems Overview

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Solar Energy Systems Overview by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
777 ratings

About the Course

By the end of this course, learners will have acquired a broad understanding of the history and mechanics behind converting light into electricity, commonly known as photovoltaics (PV). They are empowered to recognize and describe elements of a PV system, enabling them to: compare the most common types of solar cells, sketch a solar PV system, and analyze differences between rooftop and ground mounting configurations. The course explores economic considerations, touching on solar PV costs for residential and commercial use, incentives, and contrasts solar power with fossil fuel and nuclear plants. This course is ideal for anyone interested in entering the solar power sector, whether fresh to the workforce or switching industries. The curriculum is especially useful for engineers, HVAC installers, architects, and building code inspectors. Material includes online lectures, videos, demos, project work, readings and discussions. This is the first course in the Solar PV for Engineers, Architects and Code Inspectors specialization. To learn more about the specialization, check out a video overview at https://youtu.be/XjkKzbXqA6s....

Top reviews

SM

Apr 22, 2021

The last quiz was too difficult. it took my time more than 1 hour . I have totally got swept .It's awesome course not only by learning materials but also difficulties. Salute the course writer.

PR

Mar 18, 2021

I would like to give lots of thanks to the instructor as she explains everything clearly in details. Really, I get such superb knowledge which I cannot get from online books or posts. Thanks!!!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 196 Reviews for Solar Energy Systems Overview

By steven b

Aug 23, 2020

Extremely beneficial for someone new to solar energy and looking to get a better understanding of the industry. This certainly helps you with basic concepts, terminology and much more.

By Sreeram K M

Aug 7, 2020

The course was extremely informative for beginners and gives a thorough walk through. Well presented. Could understand everything. What was outstanding is the hands on demos.

By Babatunde T O

Jul 22, 2020

It is a very interesting and knowledgeable course. You learn Conversion of light to Electricity, how solar cells came to limelight, ROI on investment etc

By Lavanya A D

Jul 18, 2020

It was great learning about this amazing cost efficient energy source. Definitely going to consider shifting to solar energy consumption.

By Neha C

Jun 14, 2022

Could have added more details related to electrical part & it was more US oriented. None the less enjoyed it as I concluded in a 24 hours.

By Matthew M

May 24, 2021

This course is quite practical in focus. If you're asking yourself "what do I need to know if I want to install solar panels on my roof?" this is a really solid place to start. It is not ideal for an engineer looking for an understanding of the technical principles underlying Solar Energy Systems.

By Troy T

Jan 11, 2021

As an electrical engineer with only 5 years experience i took this course to try and broaden my knowledge as my work dabbles in Solar/ethanol powered sites. I did not learn anything. Would be a good intro course for beginners though.

By Ebrahim H

Aug 16, 2021

contains so much specific info about specific states in america, so students from the rest of the world could. Ot benefit from all these additional

By MUHAMMAD D B

Sep 8, 2023

The Solar Energy Systems course is a great way to learn about the fundamentals of solar energy and how it can be used to generate electricity. The course covers a wide range of topics, including the history of solar energy, the different types of solar cells, the design and installation of solar PV systems, and the economics of solar energy.

The course is taught by GAY CANOUGH, who is a leading expert in solar energy. GAY CANOUGH is a clear and engaging lecturer, and he does a great job of explaining complex concepts in a way that is easy to understand.

The course materials are also excellent. The lectures are well-organized and informative, and the quizzes and assignments help you to solidify your understanding of the material.

Overall, I highly recommend the Solar Energy Systems course. It is a valuable resource for anyone who wants to learn about solar energy and how it can be used to generate electricity.

Here are some of the pros and cons of the course:

*Pros:*

* Well-organized and informative lectures

* Engaging and knowledgeable instructor

* Comprehensive course materials

* Covers a wide range of topics

* Practical and hands-on learning opportunities

*Cons:*

* Can be challenging for beginners

* Some of the concepts can be complex

* Requires some prior knowledge of physics and engineering

Overall, the Solar Energy Systems course is a great way to learn about solar energy. It is well-taught and comprehensive, and it provides a solid foundation for anyone who wants to learn more about this important technology.

If you are interested in learning more about solar energy, I would recommend taking this course. It is a valuable resource that will help you to understand the basics of solar energy and how it can be used to generate electricity.

By Nikhil M

Nov 7, 2023

The course on Solar Energy Systems is a comprehensive and well-structured resource. It provides clear explanations of complex concepts, making it accessible for beginners and informative for those with some prior knowledge. The course covers both grid-tied and off-grid systems, offering practical insights into the components and workings of each. The instructor’s expertise shines through in the well-prepared and informative course materials. This course comes highly recommended for anyone interested in learning more about solar energy systems.

By ABHIJIT S

Jul 30, 2020

Good Day ,Thank you for informing and offering us of this Specialization Course on Offer which I was unaware of .

Thank You to Coursera team as always as this is relevant . Thanks and Warm Regards.ABHIJIT SENGUPTAKolkata , IndiaWebsite : www.pactolianconsulting.comE - Mail : abhijit@pactolianconsulting.comPortfolio URL : https://about.me/abhijitsenguptaSkype : abhijit.sengupta357Ph. : + 91 6290750012Cell : + 91 9163863607

By Nadine R

Nov 13, 2020

I really want to appreciate and thank you for this interesting course. It is currently helping me a lot during my training in France since I am working on an innovative BIPV system. I also want to thank you Dr. Canough for your way of teaching. You make learning so interesting. Your explanation was outstanding. I appreciate your enthusiasm for PV systems. It certainly is positively contagious! Thank you :)

By Basher M I M

Apr 28, 2021

Interesting course, especially with Dr. Gay Canough. if there is one thing i could be critique about is that the one equation introduced to us in this course (ROI) was not very clear, even with that example, i feel like it left me with more question marks, but other than that, this course was really interesting and well explained.

By Fazla Z A

Aug 23, 2020

It is a very interesting and knowledgeable course. You learn Conversion of light to Electricity, how solar cells came to limelight, ROI on investment etc. The course was extremely informative for beginners and gives a thorough walk through. Well presented. Could understand everything. What was outstanding is the hands on demos.

By Chrissie A S C

Oct 1, 2020

The course was very easy to understand and it was fun at the same time, there were not many dull moments. Also, the quizzes and the assessment's answers come from the lesson, it is not something that just pops out from nowhere, I have enjoyed it overall and it was not stressful, I did not have to force myself.

By SIDDHESH D W

Oct 9, 2020

Very Useful course for beginners and even the students who are currently studying in this field. This course spread awareness about the gifts which we are receiving from nature at zero cost. Also, encourage the student to work in this field and peruse higher-level education in this field.

By Abdelrhman A A

Mar 26, 2021

Thanks a lot, I have learned a lot from you and it was an interesting thing to know about Solar energy and a more benefits than any other sources, it's our duty to encourage our people to use this kind of clean energy to save our world and to ensure better life for the next generations

By Olawale A

Jul 16, 2023

I love the course; especially the approach of the course instructor. Her playful method of introducing new concept was fascinating; "what is silicon? Ma'am said silicon is dirt 🤣". I learnt new things, particularly the grid tie solar installation.

By gham e

Dec 18, 2020

This is my first course in Coursera and I am very happy with the instructor. She really has the wide knowledge in the field of engineering and financing. She is really an experienced instructor. Thank you very much.

By Emmanuel R A

Nov 2, 2020

Great course. Thank you Mrs. Gay your passion for solar energy has inspired me to start working on my own company and push the renewable energy sector to give up on conventional energy sources for a better future.

By Jorge A A G

Jul 28, 2020

This course is amazing, do not hesitate to take it. I'm looking forward to complete all the courses from this specialization Dr. Canough is a wonderful teacher, the classes are very funny and interesting with her.

By Sohan L B

Jul 16, 2020

100% Efforts by Instructor Gay E Canough

Its amazing to learn how each aspects is being covered in the course.

PRACTICAL Videos of the each parts of the solar was very impressive.

Just Excellent!!!!

By Sayed M

Apr 23, 2021

The last quiz was too difficult. it took my time more than 1 hour . I have totally got swept .It's awesome course not only by learning materials but also difficulties. Salute the course writer.

By Mody J

Aug 11, 2022

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it. The content is well organised and focused on practical situations. I particularly enjoyed the bits of technical research shared in the content.

By Parth R

Mar 19, 2021

I would like to give lots of thanks to the instructor as she explains everything clearly in details. Really, I get such superb knowledge which I cannot get from online books or posts. Thanks!!!