Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science Capstone Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science Capstone Project by University of California, Davis

4.2
stars
181 ratings

About the Course

Data science is a dynamic and growing career field that demands knowledge and skills-based in SQL to be successful. This course is designed to provide you with a solid foundation in applying SQL skills to analyze data and solve real business problems. Whether you have successfully completed the other courses in the Learn SQL Basics for Data Science Specialization or are taking just this course, this project is your chance to apply the knowledge and skills you have acquired to practice important SQL querying and solve problems with data. You will participate in your own personal or professional journey to create a portfolio-worthy piece from start to finish. You will choose a dataset and develop a project proposal. You will explore your data and perform some initial statistics you have learned through this specialization. You will uncover analytics for qualitative data and consider new metrics that make sense from the patterns that surface in your analysis. You will put all of your work together in the form of a presentation where you will tell the story of your findings. Along the way, you will receive feedback through the peer-review process. This community of fellow learners will provide additional input to help you refine your approach to data analysis with SQL and present your findings to clients and management....

Top reviews

TS

Oct 11, 2021

This was a great course. It taught me more about SQL in one month than a semester at a top 20 university.

MM

Nov 24, 2021

This guided project was a nice end to the SQL Basics specialization.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 50 Reviews for SQL for Data Science Capstone Project

By Jean F M Y

Nov 8, 2022

buen curso

By Victoria V

Jun 27, 2022

very good

By Leonardo P L G

Nov 30, 2022

excelent

By jose m

Sep 6, 2021

awesome

By ifunanya J M

Dec 17, 2022

nice

By Elias A C L

Jun 13, 2022

GOOD

By Bryan G G C

Nov 8, 2021

Good

By Paula E A V

Jun 13, 2022

ok

By ROLANDO C C C

Nov 22, 2021

ok

By Erick R M A

Nov 28, 2021

.

By Oscar A

Jan 27, 2021

Me gustó la experiencia práctica y el proceso de desarrollar un ejercicio sencillo de minería de datos desde la importación de los datos hasta la presentación de gráficos de manera autónoma. Lo que no me gustó fué que en la 4ta semana la mayoría del contenido eran links a otro curso de Tableau, lo cual le resta valor agregado a este curso. Por otro lado, no es necesario saber python para hacer las tareas pero el 80% del contenido de las clases son en python. Aún así aprendí varias cosas en el proceso y pude aplicar la librería Scikit-learn para hacer unas regresiones con los datos proveídos.

By Alireza M

Jan 17, 2023

The course is supposed to evaluate SQL skills but unwillingly the learners have to use a lot of their Python skills. That would be my only complain.

By David M G

May 6, 2020

Some support is missing, and they should also enable sending pdfs on all deliveries (every week)

By Mohit g

Nov 13, 2020

It was good well structured course.

By Yolanda S C A

Jun 25, 2022

I improve my skils

By Anthony J V H

Sep 13, 2021

An Awesome Subject

By Jose M S

Oct 30, 2022

By Joaquin J C

Nov 18, 2021

I enjoyed the experience although I had the impression that the instructor explained things like he would explain it to one of his peers, and not a complete beginner in SQL or statistics. Also, I didn't like how he started using Python out of the blue and expected us to know what he was talking about. All in all, it opened my eyes to many new opportunities in the big data industry.

By Andrés A G Q

Nov 3, 2022

El curso se siente algo desconectado de los anteriores, ya que introduce python, y en lugar de explicarlo, muestra ejemplos directos.

By Luis A E E M

Nov 24, 2021

El curso debe salir en español urgente, buen curso

By Ryan C D

Oct 4, 2022

Examples went over mostly Python (pandas library). Wouldn't recommend taking this seperately unless have previous experience in Python

By Daniel C

Feb 23, 2023

Good luck getting the peer reviews needed to complete the course.

By Justas M

Feb 20, 2023

This capstone project is run either on Python / Scala or R. It has almost nothing to do with SQL by itself. You can run it in provided Jupyter notebook sandbox OR on your local machine (technically, you can avoid using SQL in total :D, but can also create SQLite DB localy from the datasets... Provided videos are absolutely not useful, as they show text processing in Python. 3 datasets are provided for capstone, to in .csv file (easy to import anywhere) and once in .json (difficult). Do not enroll if you don't have sufficient skills in statistical programming languages On the other side, the provided datasets allow for some interesting inferential analysis.

By Alexander A

Feb 17, 2023

I selected the Lobbyists4America dataset. Not to mention, Don demonstrated how to prepare data for analysis using Python, which was not covered in this course and was not a prerequisite. Okay, I skipped these videos.

I imported a tar.gz file into Databricks, but it is unable to build a proper table because the only file formats supported are csv and json. Nobody described how to unpack the tar.gz file into the database environment. Don't tell me to unpack locally and upload it (the unpacked file is 1.6Tb!).

By Shengle H

Sep 4, 2021

This course if okay itself, but there are a lot of people tyring to plagiarize by submitting empty assignment so that they can go into the review process to have a peak into other people's work. And also the submission for assignment is just very bad, because it does not allow you to submit attachments in the last three assignments, which are actually more crucial. The course leader need to do hard work to rethink the setting of this course.