Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
14,351 ratings

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

NK

Oct 5, 2022

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

JG

Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 3,770 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Jason L

Apr 30, 2019

So far this course is great for introductory classes. I took IBM's SQL for Data Science and I had a bad experience. Here the course is very well structured with clear concepts at a well-taught speed. I highly recommend it. So far 5 stars. I'll update this review once I'm fully done

By Jeff M

Oct 21, 2020

SQL for Data Science is an excellent course for beginners or data professionals looking for an extensive refresher. The instructor Sadie St. Lawrence did an outstanding job teaching the material, keeping a steady pace, and motivating the students to learn and finish the materials.

By mark w

Dec 17, 2017

I enjoyed the course and learned a basic understanding of SQL. The final project is very difficult and seems geared more towards advanced SQL users. If this is your first exposure to SQL you will find the final project frustrating and you will need to refer to other texts to t

By Brenton M

May 13, 2022

I felt this was a great inteoductory course for me. The content was well organized and presented. I would've liked to see the different tables coming together rather than just the SQL query (especially when learning about the different joins). Overall really good. Thank you!

By jon h

Jun 17, 2022

Course was great. Video's short, easy to follow. Quizzes were challenging but doable. Final project very challenging. Only suggestion, would be nice to work in an actual database. Was frustrating working in the tiny box provided to run sql queries & output was very limited.

By Juan H

Sep 21, 2022

I thought that this course would be really basic but covered topics from beginner to intermediate, and I feel that I learned a lot during this course. It is not the typical course in which you learn really basic stuff and cannot use it in your work. I really reccommend it!

By Aman K S H

Mar 28, 2022

The course is well organised and the quiz along with the coding questions tests one's knowledge very nicely. This course provides a indepth revision to the people already knowing SQL . To me this course provided a good revision and also helped me to learn some new concepts.

By Rainier G T

Aug 26, 2020

This course was really intensive and the course material is high-quality. The discussion and lectures were really helpful and straightforward. By far, the best course I had for learning SQL. I recommend this to everyone wanting to get familiar or diving into SQL as a start.

By Sergio G C

Dec 12, 2018

Loved this course. Easy to follow videos, they go straight to the point and you can practice queries right away from the first lesson. Gradually increases in difficulty and you end up doing a very interesting and helpfull assingment. I fell I earned all the basics in SQL.

By Rashi S

Jul 31, 2019

I liked the course and the way it was taught. Just a suggestion if possible for coding from the starting of the module till the end that is for the complete lectures practice questions can be given so that entire coding can be practiced. Thankyou for the great opportunity.

By Li F

Aug 5, 2020

The MCQ in between lectures is extremely helpful in keeping up to the content. I also especially enjoy the coding questions that are really practical in helping learners understand and execute the knowledge covered in the lecture. Overall great presentation and structure!

By Angelos S

Jan 4, 2020

It is a well structured and detailed course in terms of data analysis, SQL principles and differences between relational models (ER) and NoSQL. The difficulty level is between novice and intermediate and the instructor is very helpful and analytical. Overall recommended.

By Aurora S P

Nov 4, 2019

I believe this course is perfect to have a first approach towards SQL. Moreover I like how it relates to Data Scientists' context, and how it helps to understand Data Scientist's role and mindset. In general it was very useful and easy to follow lessons given by Sadie!

By Tina M

Jan 11, 2020

This was a great course, it provided me with great examples not just in the Instructor notes but in the side reading material that I have taken and created a review reference folder for future review. This is a great class and and I am glad it is apart of the program.

By Nathen M

May 29, 2022

Best course I've taken on Coursera. Everything is so well done. Best learning experience when it comes to SQL when compared to all the googleing, youtubeing, other cources I've taken. Made me feel like I can actually take these skills to the bank. Thank you so much!

By Юдаков Е О

Jun 21, 2021

Если ты можешь перевести какой-нибудь технический текст = БЕРИ и не думай.

Параллельно смотрел лекции, тем самым дополнял знания полученным на курсе.

Иногда было сложно понять, что конкретно от тебя хочет программа, но можно несколько раз перечитать и все будет окей.

By Ana-Natalia M

Aug 20, 2020

A good amount of info for a basics course. I would have liked a bit more detail and examples when the more complicated concepts came in (joins, more specifically).

The final assignment is pretty challenging but interesting and satisfying once you reach your results.

By Azka A

Apr 29, 2020

It is a very good course for beginners who want to learn SQL. It starts from the very basics and no previous knowledge is required. The instructor is really great and the lectures are informative. It will benefit anyone who wants to start learning SQL from scratch.

By Kenneth L

Sep 8, 2020

I am very pleased with this course mentor as she has a very clear speech. The data is split into many small videos that are overall quite easy to digest. The tests and exam has forced me to learn the material in depth and leaves me with a sense of accomplishment.

By Ignacio G

Jul 25, 2019

I had already some experience with other databases and higher education on science and I founded it interesting enough, not very difficult, easy to follow, do not expect very challenging things. All in all, I have learned a lot and I am satisfied. I recommend it.

By Stefano C

Oct 4, 2022

The course is a thorough introduction to SQL, with particular emphasis on its capabilites and limitations from the perspective of a Data Scientist.

Very rigorous yet practical, clear and with significative examples and exercises that help consolidate the theory

By Asiri S W

Jan 10, 2021

The lecturer is great and her pace of teaching and examples are worthwhile!!!! It's very easy to grasp the language if you have previous knowledge of a programming language but still the way and the pace she teaches can make anyone learn and fall in love in SQL.

By dorcus k

Sep 19, 2022

I like that the course offers exemprarly technical training practicals and covers a vast area in sql. The skills offered in the course are very, practical and easy to relate to. I am grateful that I undertook this course. A Good job was done by the tutor.

By pulla p

Jun 4, 2022

I feel really very good course. One can learn many things like creating dababase, tables and inserting data, joins, views, unions , timestamps....many..

candidate definately familar once this course is completed.

candidate comes to know real work environment...

By Amitayu B

Dec 8, 2020

This is one of the excellent courses that I have done with Coursera with lots of coding quizzes and a proper final week assignment. I had no idea about SQL last week, and now I have learned the basics of SQLite, data profiling, and data analysis in this course.