Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
14,391 ratings

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

NK

Oct 5, 2022

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

GC

Dec 29, 2022

Great course! A solid way to introduce a learner to programming in SQL!! Sadie is an amazing online instructor! Thank you to Sadie and UC Davis for offering this course through the Coursera platform!!

Filter by:

2826 - 2850 of 3,786 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Cansu

Dec 27, 2022

It would’ve been better if we can use the functions as we learn on the videos right after the video plays not the end of the all videos. Also, when we see the code is written, I wish the code is run because when I see the end result, I understand better.  

By Saisha M

May 18, 2019

I personally found the course really helpful. I recently started working on SAS and this SQL course came in handy. I'm planning on taking a course on SAS now. I'd recommend this course to anyone who wants to get started with SQL, it's a pretty basic course.

By Víctor M A

Aug 23, 2022

Nice for begginers. Would have been nice to have the databases used in the course available to download and use with SQLite Studio. Specially the Yelp data, it was very difficult to work on the final assigment in the tiny screen provided in the website.

By Felix G

Apr 27, 2022

Best course to learn and go a bit further than entry level in SQL (some intermediate stuff there definitely)).

Only missing star is for data quality in the final assignment that is ok but could be better.

Very nice course over all with very good approach :)

By Julia G

May 5, 2020

The material in the course was good and very useful, clearly structured. The only comment I would give that I didnt like the way material was presented, you could feel that it was read not told and presenter was inexperienced with reading from the screen.

By Harsh K V

Jul 11, 2020

The course was very interesting and the assignments were also engaging. However, it would have been even better if Sadie would code in SQL while giving the lectures. This would have provided a better understanding of how to approach a particular problem.

By Stephen F

Apr 14, 2020

It's a great beginner level class. It only covers SQLite, which means you don't get some basic statements like WITH, which I use regularly. But I did get introduced to a few new ideas, and Sadie does a fine job emphasizing working in a thoughtful manner.

By Prabesh D

Jan 19, 2020

As someone who's completely new to SQL, I learned a lot.

However, Week 3's content on Subqueries could have been better explained.

Overall, I recommend you the course if you are new to SQL like me. If you know a bit already, this might be too easy for you.

By Lauren B

Mar 9, 2022

I found this course really good. It was well paced for a beginner and the assignments were really useful in understanding the materials. I did listen to it at 2x speed because I found the lecturer spoke quite slow. But overall it was really beneficial

By Hassan s

Aug 17, 2020

The exercises in the course helped give me practice for which I am giving this a 4 star.

Teaching SQL on video without real time practice was weird. Found myself going to websites like w3 schools so keep that in mind if you're considering this course.

By Mehrshad E

Feb 1, 2018

Generally a helpful course. The biggest problem I think is providing enough examples. There are many examples in the slides but the results are not provided. I think showing both codes and the results will help people to grasp the concept more easily.

By Luan K F M B

Jan 17, 2021

I liked all the content, but It could have some more examples in the classes, and, in the examples given, the teacher could show us the tables we're working with, so we can see clearly what we're doing...

it's very important when learning the sintax!!

By Yunlin H

Oct 3, 2020

I learnt coursera of Managing Big Data with SQL at Duke before. This course needs more practices in real cases compared with Duke. It only has basic statements on using SQLlite and simple real cases. I recommend Duke's course first then this course.

By Quang Đ

Mar 18, 2022

It is super fun while practicing SQL with the data. One thing to improve is to about the instruction in the assignment. It should give clearer vision of the purpose of the task. Sometimes the explanation is not related to the query and desired data

By Ken H

Oct 9, 2020

The course was good. It enhanced my knowledge of sequel.

My only disappointment was there was no immediate feedback or instruction when attempting to write scripts. Perhaps a pop up which noted common mistakes when attempting to write the script.

By Raghavendra H

Sep 17, 2018

Nicely instructed by Sadie St. Lawrence.

Way the things are explained with examples helped me to understand the topics better.

I felt a little more explanation on Normalization and understanding the ER diagrams would have been could have been better

By Mary S

Jan 16, 2020

Sadie is a great teacher. This course is strong on theory. I would have liked to have had direct access to the data sets that I could use with other SQL tools but did not find this limiting in learning what was taught. A good foundation.

By Michael M

Nov 25, 2021

This course has been good for getting some of the sql basics but I found that many of the examples required me to look outside the course to find answers which isn't in itself bad but this course will need a self starter to make this work.

By Cameron W

May 24, 2021

Great course to get you introduced to SQL. The lessons focused on actual SQL code and statements was very good. The parts of the course that addressed practical data management and database theory were less helpful, but still informative.

By ivan o

Oct 20, 2019

Very useful for me at my career moment. This is a good SQL course if you're a beginner to intermediate SQL user wanting to update or learn some SQL. But if your are already a advanced SQL user I feel the course might be too basic for you.

By Jens P

Mar 6, 2018

The videos are aweomse. I would have loved a little bit more material, e.g. a short summary of all the SQL entries discussed in the course. In addition, I think there was quite big jump of difficulty between week 4 and the peer assigment.

By Alex B

Dec 17, 2019

some quizes or coding tasks were worded pretty badly and were confusing to many students. It needs to be reviewed and edited. Also, more practice tasks between the videos would be a lot more helpful rather than giving 10 videos in a row.

By Maureen G

Aug 10, 2022

The instructor is kind of like a robot, but the content is reasonably informative. Sometimes the reasons why you are doing something the way you are doing it aren't explained well - I prefer learning the "why" rather than the "how".

By Aditya P

Sep 4, 2021

If the instructor would've run the SQL queries it would have been more understandable overall good course .Just if the instructor actually write query on a system and run it it will be more beneficial for students. Nice course Overall

By Anubhav N

Aug 21, 2018

The course structure is so very well laid out that on reaching the final week, I am hungry to learn more and more concepts and practical uses of SQL. I also feel that there should be more examples and coding assignments to practice.