Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
14,351 ratings

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

JP

Apr 5, 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

NK

Oct 5, 2022

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

Filter by:

2851 - 2875 of 3,770 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Rahul M

Dec 15, 2020

Nowadays SQL is majorly using for Data Preparation, not for analysis as we have many advanced softwares to do that. Just one suggestion: Can you add a section how data can be transfered from SQL after Data preparation ?

By ANUBHAV C

May 8, 2020

I believe this course focused entirely on retrieving data and no emphasis was given on creating or modifying tables. If these topics would have been included then it can come out as a complete package for learning SQL

By Naman K

Mar 26, 2019

This is a great course for beginners. One of the things which can be improved is to have more practice questions to use all the concepts introduced in the lectures. For example: I did not get a lot of chance to create

By Reetika N

Sep 8, 2022

The Course was a great, well structured and gave good hands on experience with the queries and quizzes. The only thing lacking was no proper instructions were given to use the sandbox, I really struggled with that.

By Angie A Y

May 24, 2021

Course videos could include the respective output after showing codes. it is hard to imagine the output when we first get to know a new sql function.

Some peer review assignment questions are hardly understandable.

By FUAD A J

Nov 19, 2019

I have prior knowledge on SQL as a programmer. However after studying this course I got a another flavor of SQL from the Data Science point of view. I loved this course and the trainer as well. Thank you coursera.

By Sim Y X S

Jun 16, 2019

Some examples in the later part of the course is a bit difficult to understand for those with limited programming background. Few broken down, step by step examples of complex queries will be highly appreciated.

By Vikram S

Jan 14, 2021

The videos and explanations are nice but it would be excellent if the running of SQL code and its outcome

Will also be shown in the video so as to explain the minute difference between two functions in the code

By W I

Dec 9, 2020

The course was very well organized and the instructor was fabulous. I just wish we had received more practice exercises as I feel that I know the material theoretically well but practically I'm less confident.

By Kanatip Y

Jan 11, 2021

The course is mostly based on theoretical content, which makes it a pretty good foundation for those who have never touched SQL. I would rate this course 5 star if it provided more examples and applications.

By Jiawei L

Sep 23, 2019

The first two modules are okay and easy to understand, but the last two modules are little bit confusing, and from my perspective, the instructor is simply reading the script rather than teaching a lesson.

By Andrew R

Jul 10, 2022

Easy to understand and learn basic SQL concepts over 4 weeks. Only wish it was longer with more opportunities to practice coding. Will definitely look at taking a more advanced SQL course through Coursera.

By 孫司祿

Jul 6, 2021

The final project was way harder than the materials taught in classes, It would be better if they teach more before letting us handle such challenging task. Still the course was great, and I learned a lot.

By Naomi N

Jun 14, 2019

The course content itself was awesome! Be ready for some technical glitches though. As long as you pay close attention to the forum, you should be fine. Overall, I would definitely recommend this course.

By Alena

Sep 9, 2020

I think the peer review exercise is a great way to test your learned skills. The lectures are easy to understand but I think it would be better if you added more info about the structure of ER diagrams.

By Andrés F D C

Sep 1, 2020

As an introductory course is well designed and well explained. The supplement lectures were of great help. Maybe a little introduction to Analytical Functions should help to make it completely awesome!

By Bhupinder

Jun 21, 2020

Overall the content is good and the tutor is also good in the explanation the codes and concepts.

One suggestion there should be a more practical example and as well as how to run a query on a dataset.

By Aaron H

Mar 12, 2019

Although several concepts are not explained very clearly and a number of assessment questions are unclearly worded, this course is otherwise an excellent introduction to understanding and applying SQL.

By Eduard S

Apr 15, 2021

I liked most of the course, but in week 4 it felt rushed. The code shown in the slides wasn't formatted consistently all the time.

But all in all thanks for the education. I would recommend the course.

By Neha G

Aug 28, 2020

The course is nice but I suppose the PowerPoint presentation that accompanies it could use some effects to show us the clauses one by one, as they are spoke. That would make understanding them easier.

By Samuel M

Mar 16, 2020

Good course for beginners.

- classes are fine

- quizzes evaluate quite well your understanding I think

- the final assessment contains plenty of VERY ambiguous questions and I think it should be reworked

By Manan V

Jul 20, 2020

Please Included examples while the instructor is teaching in the video lectures. The instructor is very talented in teaching but due to lack of examples in the video it downgrades the overall course.

By Yashchenko P

Oct 10, 2022

Really good course with intresting final task. In any situation will be shown "common structure of querry" and at most cases real-life examples. Will be great if this examples appear in every case

By Lenard O

Sep 12, 2018

Did not need to be a peer review assessment, most of the tests lacked creativity and could be automated. The peer review component should just apply to the creative components that can be expanded.

By Felipe A

Sep 14, 2020

The contents and explanations on the course are good, even for people with no previews coding experience (like me)... Would be great to have a better structured way of work for the final excercise