Chevron Left
Back to SQL for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for SQL for Data Science by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
14,391 ratings

About the Course

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Top reviews

NK

Oct 5, 2022

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

GC

Dec 29, 2022

Great course! A solid way to introduce a learner to programming in SQL!! Sadie is an amazing online instructor! Thank you to Sadie and UC Davis for offering this course through the Coursera platform!!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 3,786 Reviews for SQL for Data Science

By Cedric T

Jul 25, 2019

Dear teachers I thank you for this course because I took this course to understand the analysis of data sql data science and also to get ahead in my job and especially what I appreciated is the course methodology and homework flexibility that allows the learner to succeed and master. Thank you and see you soon.

By ANUP S

Jan 6, 2019

Absolutely wonderful course. For someone who knew absolutely nothing about using SQL, this course has helped me to understand SQL coding and more importantly understand the logic behind trying to attain the desired result. Would absolutely recommend this course for anyone interested in a career in data science.

By Murari K

Aug 27, 2021

This is a very good course. The instructor is nice and easy to follow. the course starts with very basic and goes all the way to the top for SQL learner. The loved the final project that gave me lot more confidence for working in SQL database. I highly recommend this course if you plan to formally learn SQL.

By Serj D

Jul 7, 2022

Pros: great course with good content and examples.

Cons: the final project description is very confusing. I spent >2 hours trying to figure out what to do. This link helped greatly: https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-for-data-science/discussions/forums/AD_Q2CXlEeenYA4Y2K0mEA/threads/T43DL5mVEeymyA5pocInuQ

By Huỳnh H

Aug 9, 2021

Good! The information is helpful! But I think you could have done better to convey the material by giving examples and the way you want to solve the problems (all should be shown on screen) instead of just saying. I was quite a little bit difficult to understand and follow the table description you talked.

By Nidhi V S

Apr 16, 2020

This is a brilliantly designed course. I was a novice in the field of data science when I started this course but now at the end, I have learned a lot. The course was easy to follow and the in-course assignments helped me practice the application of SQL. I am confident in my skills as a data scientist.

By Srishti S

Jul 11, 2020

The instructor was very good in teaching various aspects of Data Science. She was very knowledgeable regarding the course. Also, easy queries were maintained to solve the real-world problem as well. This course has helped me in upgrade my skill in the field in which I am the most interested. Thank you.

By animashaun i

Sep 30, 2021

I enjoy the entire SQL for Data Science lectures format, the test in between the lectures is excellent. i appreciate every moment during and after the lecture hour. i added knewledge in all the classes i recevied. i am very grateful for the opportunity given to before and after this curse.

Thank you.

By Deshani D A

Nov 30, 2020

This course if very well organized. Our instructor explain very complex theories in a simple manner in which a person with a very less knowledge can apply. The quizzes are also designed such that the learner gets a full understanding on what's going on. I am very happy that I chose to do this course.

By MARIO E M

Nov 23, 2020

The Best key tool for learners to build and develop a successful career!Thank you University of California, Davis and Coursera for this amazing course opportunity, and a Special thanks as well for Sadie St. Lawrence and her unique combination of technical expertise and analytics management experience!

By Antonio M

Dec 29, 2018

This course provides me the basic techniques to jump into the electronic medical records and start to code queries and provides reports to Clinical and Research Management. The test are intense and the final project is a real challenge. The good news is I learned to code as a beginner SQL programmer.

By David L

Aug 23, 2020

Well structured and covers the basics of SQL queries. One thing that could be added is a guide explaining some of the different software the is available for running queries locally, rather than through the web page portal that the course offers. Otherwise the course was an excellent introduction.

By Yossakorn K

Jun 13, 2020

I ever thought the programming languages were difficult to understand even a basic one like SQL. But after I enrolled this cause it changes my mind a lot. It's not really hard whether you pay intention and apply good tips from the instructor. Hopefully, It's my first step for continuing this kind.

By Dita A

Feb 2, 2019

I took this course due to a new project at work which involves checking the input data by querying it using SQL scripts. This course has really eased my job. It covers the basic stuff pretty thoroughly. I recommend this course to anyone who's just starting out (or aspiring) to be a Data Scientist.

By Yekaterina G

Jun 18, 2020

The course is great at introducing the basics of SQL. It is engaging, encouraging, and fun. I highly recommend it!!! There are some confusion points in the slides and assignments, but overall, there are minor. Very worth it -- I learned so much and feel more confident in using SQL in the future.

By Rajan G

Aug 26, 2022

Wonderful Course. Covers almost all the Aspect in one way or the other. Found the final assignment difficult to do as it is a sudden difficulty increase. But it does help improve the skill, also let's us see the real-world analysis,problem solving required.

Thank you, Sadie Ma'am and Coursera.

By Aubyn C

Dec 7, 2020

Really great SQL course for a total beginner. As someone that has attention deficit disorder, the formatting of the course is very ideal. First module give you a lot of history and context of SQL which I think is important for coding - very necessary to understand it's role in the real world!

By Saurabh P

Jul 7, 2020

THe best course till now on coursera.No need to have knowledge of sql as it starts from the beginner level.The best course for beginners who want to learn sql.Best way of teaching as it provides quizzes and assignments at the end of module to test whether the learner has understand or not.

By Shariful I

Jul 22, 2022

I'm happy to share that I have taken the "SQL for Data Science" course on Coursera. I would thank Sadie St. Lawrence from the University of California, Davis, for her excellent instruction and Coursera providing the opportunity to obtain international certification for people worldwide.

By CAIO C C

Jan 5, 2022

This course is amazing. I have never get into SQL before and after the course I feel that I know way better now. It's a great start for people that never learned SQL before. Now, my next step is to do more SQL courses to be better prepared to become a data scientist in the near future.

By Diego R G

Feb 24, 2020

I took another Data Science course from Michigan and it was horrible! I was concerned about going into this course, but it completely regained my faith in MOOCs and Coursera in general. This is a great course without question. Take your time on each assignment and you will learn a lot!

By Rick E

Mar 31, 2022

I really enjoyed the content and pave of this course. I am brand new to SQL, and this course has given me the confidence to look at a query and not be freaked out :) I am confdent that I can now write and execute basic queries and understand the results after completing this course.

By SIDDHI R K

Sep 1, 2020

The instructor has explained the topics with so ease and lots of examples. The thing I loved about this course is the practice questions provided. They are well-tailored and helped me to understand the concepts well. A must course if you are looking to start learning SQL from scratch.

By Mithila H

Jul 22, 2020

It was a good start to the basics of SQL. I would request for inclusion of more sessions/videos in this course. These videos can enable students to gain deeper knowledge of SQL. Also, I request one to one sessions with the mentor. This will help in clarification of queries/doubts.

By Anthony P G

May 15, 2021

This covers the right fundamentals especially for those who are new in SQL. This has the right recipe of how to profile the data right from the beginning. I encourage those who are wanting to upskill their analytics skills or any one with no experience with SQL to grab this course.